Back Arts & Photography | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Arts & Photography  
Talking Pictures: Images and Messages Rescued from the Past

Ransom Riggs · It Books; Original edition
Format: Paperback

With the candid quirkiness of Awkward Family Photos and the confessional intimacy of PostSecret, Ransom Riggs's Talking Pictures is a haunting collection of antique found photographs—with evocative inscriptions that bring these lost personal moments to life—from the author...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ballerina Body: Dancing and Eating Your Way to a Leaner, Stronger, and More Graceful You

Misty Copeland · Grand Central Pub
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

The celebrated ballerina and role model, Misty Copeland, shares the secrets of how to reshape your body and achieve a lean, strong physique and glowing health.Misty Copeland believes "There has been a shift in recent years in which women no longer desire the bare bones of a runway...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Painting Nature in Watercolor with Cathy Johnson: 37 Step-by-Step Demonstrations Using Watercolor Pencil and Paint

Cathy Johnson · North Light Books
Format: Book

Breathe fresh air into your watercolors! Capture the wonders of nature!From crashing waves to sculptured deserts, from grand sunsets to humble wildflowers, from backyard discoveries to exotic getaways, the natural world offers inspiration enough for a lifetime! In this book, one of today's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks in Spring

Jeanne Birdsall · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 339
Format: Print book

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The History of Music in Fifty Instruments

Philip Wilkinson · Firefly Books
Format: Hardcover

The 400-year story of music told by the instruments that make an orchestra. The History of Music in 50 Instruments outlines musical history in well-written nuggets of information. Profiling one instrument at a time, it describes the history of music since the 1700s, when orchestras...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Impressionism

Amy Fine Collins · Smithmark Pub
Pages: 1
Format: Hardcover

Book by Collins, Amy Fine
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Library of Congress Illustrated Timeline of the Civil War

Margaret E. Wagner · Little, Brown and Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

With striking visuals from the Library of Congress unparalleled archive, THE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS ILLUSTRATED TIMELINE OF THE CIVIL WAR is an authoritative and engaging narrative of the domestic conflict that determined the course of American history. A detailed chronological timeline of the war captures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sound of Music Story: How A Beguiling Young Novice, A Handsome Austrian Captain, and Ten Singing von Trapp Children Inspired the Most Beloved Film of All Time

Tom Santopietro · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

On March 2, 1965, "The Sound of Music" was released in the United States and the love affair between moviegoers and the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical was on. Rarely has a film captured the love and imagination of the moviegoing public in the way that "The Sound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bricks & Mortals: Ten Great Buildings and the People They Made

Tom Wilkinson · Bloomsbury
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Long-listed for the Guardian First Book Award.
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?: Relating to and Communicating with Others

Alan Alda · Random House
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From iconic actor and bestselling author Alan Alda, an indispensable guide to communicating better - based on his experience with acting, improv, science, and storytellingThe acclaimed actor shares fascinating and powerful lessons from the art and science of communication, and teaches readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington's Monument: And the Fascinating History of the Obelisk

John Steele Gordon · Bloomsbury USA, 2016.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Conceived soon after the American Revolution ended, the great monument to George Washington was not finally completed until almost a century later; the great obelisk was finished in 1884, and remains the tallest stone structure in the world at 555 feet. The story behind its construction...
Read More check catalog