Back Arts & Photography | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Arts & Photography  
The Sound of Music Story: How A Beguiling Young Novice, A Handsome Austrian Captain, and Ten Singing von Trapp Children Inspired the Most Beloved Film of All Time

Tom Santopietro · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

On March 2, 1965, "The Sound of Music" was released in the United States and the love affair between moviegoers and the classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical was on. Rarely has a film captured the love and imagination of the moviegoing public in the way that "The Sound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Five Came Back: A Story of Hollywood and the Second World War

Mark Harris · Penguin Press
Pages: 511
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary wartime experience of five of Hollywood's most legendary directors, all of whom put their stamp on World War II and were changed forever by itIn Pictures at a Revolution, Mark Harris turned the story of the five movies nominated for Best Picture in 1967 into a landmark...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Widow Basquiat: A Love Story

Jennifer Clement · Broadway Books
Format: Book

The beautifully written, deeply affecting story of Jean-Michel Basquiat's partner, her past, and their life together New York City in the 1980s was a mesmerizing, wild place. A hotbed for hip hop, underground culture, and unmatched creative energy, it spawned some of the most significant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?: Relating to and Communicating with Others

Alan Alda · Random House
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From iconic actor and bestselling author Alan Alda, an indispensable guide to communicating better - based on his experience with acting, improv, science, and storytellingThe acclaimed actor shares fascinating and powerful lessons from the art and science of communication, and teaches readers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The History of Music in Fifty Instruments

Philip Wilkinson · Firefly Books
Format: Hardcover

The 400-year story of music told by the instruments that make an orchestra. The History of Music in 50 Instruments outlines musical history in well-written nuggets of information. Profiling one instrument at a time, it describes the history of music since the 1700s, when orchestras...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks in Spring

Jeanne Birdsall · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 339
Format: Print book

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington's Monument: And the Fascinating History of the Obelisk

John Steele Gordon · Bloomsbury USA, 2016.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Conceived soon after the American Revolution ended, the great monument to George Washington was not finally completed until almost a century later; the great obelisk was finished in 1884, and remains the tallest stone structure in the world at 555 feet. The story behind its construction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fashion Illustration Art: How to Draw Fun & Fabulous Figures, Trends and Styles

Jennifer Lilya · North Light Books
Format: Book

From the clothes to the pose, here's everything you need to create fierce fashion illustrations.Create fabulous fashion moments! Drawing on 20+ years of fashion illustrating experience, Jennifer Lilya uses acrylic paint and black ink to show you how to draw the clothes, poses and attitudes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Tinkering

Karen Wilkinson · Weldon Owen; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

This Is Not Your Average Art Book Brought to you by the Exploratorium's Tinkering Studio, The Art of Tinkering is an unprecedented celebration of what it means to tinker: to take things apart, explore tools and materials, and build wondrous, wild art that's part science and part...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pen & Ink: Tattoos and the Stories Behind Them

Isaac Fitzgerald · Bloomsbury USA
Format: Hardcover

Every tattoo tells a story, whether the ink is meaningful or the result of a misguided decision made at the age of fourteen, representative of the wearers true self or the accidental consequence of a bender. These most permanent and intimate of body adornments are hidden by pants legs and shirttails,...
Read More check catalog