Back Arts & Photography | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Arts & Photography  
Painting Nature in Watercolor with Cathy Johnson: 37 Step-by-Step Demonstrations Using Watercolor Pencil and Paint

Cathy Johnson · North Light Books
Format: Book

Breathe fresh air into your watercolors! Capture the wonders of nature!From crashing waves to sculptured deserts, from grand sunsets to humble wildflowers, from backyard discoveries to exotic getaways, the natural world offers inspiration enough for a lifetime! In this book, one of today's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Victoria and Albert: A Royal Love Affair

DAISY GOODWIN · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

More than 16 million viewers watched the first season of the Masterpiece presentation of Victoria, created and written by Daisy Goodwin -- the highest-rated PBS drama in twenty years, second only to Downton Abbey. But what happened after the Queen married her handsome prince? Did they live...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't Know about Math and the Arts

John D. Barrow · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A fascinating exploration of maths connection to the arts. At first glance, the worlds of math and the arts might not seem like comfortable neighbors. But as mathematician John D. Barrow points out, they have a strong and natural affinityafter all, math is the study of all patterns, and the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks in Spring

Jeanne Birdsall · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 339
Format: Print book

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Photographing your family : and all the kids and friends and animals who wander through too

Joel Sartore · National Geographic
Pages: 191
Format: Paperback

At certain moments - on a trip, on a holiday, or during those first weeks of parenthood, for example - have you ever wished you were a National Geographic photographer? In this unique guide, staff photographer Joel Sartore takes the mystery out of making extraordinary pictures of kids with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Impressionist Prints

Roger Passeron · Dutton
Pages: 222
Format: Hardcover

Book by Passeron, Roger
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Power

GENE SIMMONS · Dey Street Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Gene Simmons, KISS front-man, multi-hyphenate entrepreneur, and master of self-invention, shares his philosophy on power - how to attain it, how to keep it, and how to harness it as a driving force in business and in life.YOU CAN HAVE POWER.YOU DESERVE TO HAVE POWER.GENE SIMMONS IS HERE...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Library of Congress Illustrated Timeline of the Civil War

Margaret E. Wagner · Little, Brown and Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

With striking visuals from the Library of Congress unparalleled archive, THE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS ILLUSTRATED TIMELINE OF THE CIVIL WAR is an authoritative and engaging narrative of the domestic conflict that determined the course of American history. A detailed chronological timeline of the war captures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Obama: An Intimate Portrait, Deluxe Limited Edition

Pete Souza · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 349
Format: Hardcover

This special limited edition has been signed by Pete Souza. This deluxe collectible volume has been designed to stand the test of time. It is printed on heavy matte fine art paper, with every photograph protected by gloss varnish; bound in rich blue cloth, stamped with foil; and protected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being John Lennon: A Restless Life

Ray Connolly · Pegasus Books
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

An intimate yet unsparing biography of one of the greatest and most mythologized musicians of the twentieth century.What was it like to be John Lennon? What was it like to be the castoff child, the clown at school, and the middle-class suburban boy who pretended to be a working-class hero?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Watercolorist's Essential Notebook

Gordon MacKenzie · North Light Books; Reprint edition
Format: Print book

Watercolor will entertain you for a lifetime. Those who have spent decades with it can testify how they are continually charmed and amazed by new discoveries every time they put paint to paper.This book was developed to clarify and simplify various aspects of painting with watercolor, while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Live From New York: The Complete, Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live as Told by Its Stars, Writers, and Guests

Tom Shales · Little, Brown and Company
Format: Hardcover

Just in time for the 40th anniversary of Saturday Night Live, a rollickingly updated edition of LIVE FROM NEW YORK with nearly 100 new pages covering the past decade.When first published to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Saturday Night Live, LIVE FROM NEW YORK was immediately proclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?: Relating to and Communicating with Others

Alan Alda · Random House
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Award-winning actor Alan Alda tells the fascinating story of his quest to learn how to communicate better, and to teach others to do the same. With his trademark humor and candor, he explores how to develop empathy as the key factor."Invaluable." - Deborah...
Read More check catalog