Back Health, Mind & Body | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
A Short Guide to a Long Life

David Agus · Simon & Schuster, Incorporated
Pages: 190
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling book of simple rules everyone should follow in order to live a long, healthy life, featuring illustrations throughout, from the author of The End of Illness.In his international bestseller, The End of Illness, Dr. David B. Agus shared what he has learned from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Raise a Wild Child: The Art and Science of Falling in Love with Nature

Scott D Sampson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

From the beloved host of PBS Kids' Dinosaur Train, an easy-to-use guide for parents, teachers, and others looking to foster a strong connection between children and nature, complete with engaging activities, troubleshooting advice, and much more American children spend four to seven minutes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Autoimmune Fix: How to Stop the Hidden Autoimmune Damage That Keeps You Sick, Fat, and Tired Before It Turns Into Disease

Tom O'Bryan · Rodale Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Do you have crud in the blood?Millions of people suffer from autoimmunity whether they know it or not. The root cause of most weight gain, brain and mood problems, and fatigue, autoimmunity can take years -- or even decades -- for symptoms and a clear diagnosis to arise. Through years of research,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sugar Crush: How to Reduce Inflammation, Reverse Nerve Damage, and Reclaim Good Health

Richard Jacoby · Harper Wave
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

What Grain Brain did for wheat, this book by a leading peripheral nerve surgeon now does for sugar, revealing how it causes crippling nerve damage throughout the body - in our feet, organs, and brain - why sugar and carbohydrates are harmful to the body's nerves, and how eliminating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Power of When: Discover Your Chronotype--and the Best Time to Eat Lunch, Ask for a Raise, Have Sex, Write a Novel, Take Your Meds, and More

Michael Breus · Little Brown and Company
Pages: 544
Format: Print book

Learn the best time to do everything--from drink your coffee to have sex or go for a run--according to your body's chronotype. Most advice centers on what to do, or how to do it, and ignores the when of success. But exciting new research proves there is a right time to do just about everything,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Managing Your Child's Chronic Pain

Tonya M. Palermo · Oxford University Press, USA
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

"Madeline is a 15-year-old girl with abdominal pain and headaches that occur most days of the week. Because of her pain, she has missed 99 days of school this year and is no longer able to play volleyball. Her parents have taken her to see a number of specialists and she has tried...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Grain, No Pain: A 30-Day Diet for Eliminating the Root Cause of Chronic Pain

Peter Osborne · Touchstone, 2016.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Wheat Belly and Grain Brain; No Grain, No Pain demonstrates the proven link between a gluten-heavy diet and chronic pain and discomfort - and offers a groundbreaking, 30-day, grain-free diet plan to help you heal yourself from the inside out.More than 100 million Americans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Forgiving: The Fourfold Path for Healing Ourselves and Our World

Desmond Tutu · HarperOne
Pages: 229
Format: Paperback

Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Prize winner, Chair of The Elders, and Chair of South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission, along with his daughter, the Reverend Mpho Tutu, offer a manual on the art of forgiveness - helping us to realize that we are all capable of healing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Puberty: How to Navigate Early Development in Today's Girls

Louise Greenspan · Rodale Books; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

What happens when a girl has the brain of an 8-year-old and the body of a 13-year-old?A sea change is underway among many of today's girls: They are developing faster and entering puberty earlier than ever before. Just a generation ago, fewer than 5 percent of girls started puberty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Love Playbook: Rules for Love, Sex, and Happiness

La La Anthony · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 230
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times BestsellerLa La Anthony shares her one-of-a-kind rules on matters of the heart.Star of VH1's La La's Full Court Life, actress, entrepreneur, and wife of New York Knicks star Carmelo Anthony, La La Anthony found love and success on her own terms. But before La La was a strong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living

Crystal Zaborowski Saltrelli · Sea Salt Publishing
Pages: 245
Format: Paperback

Written by an AADP-certified Health Coach and fellow "GPer," this guide was created to help you live (well!) with gastroparesis. Packed with easy-to-understand information and practical advice, you'll learn how to minimize your symptoms and maximize your quality of life. Topics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whipping Boy: The Forty-Year Search for My Twelve-Year-Old Bully

Allen Kurzweil · Harpercollins
Format: Hardcover

The true account of one boy's lifelong search for his boarding-school bully.Equal parts childhood memoir and literary thriller, Whipping Boy chronicles prize-winning author Allen Kurzweil's search for his twelve-year-old nemesis, a bully named Cesar Augustus. The obsessive inquiry,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brainstorm: The Power and Purpose of the Teenage Brain

Daniel J. Siegel MD · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 321
Format: Hardcover

In this New York Times-bestselling book, Dr. Daniel Siegel shows parents how to turn one of the most challenging developmental periods in their children's lives into one of the most rewarding.Between the ages of 12 and 24, the brain changes in important, and oftentimes maddening, ways....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unforgettable: A Son, a Mother, and the Lessons of a Lifetime

Scott Simon · Flatiron Books
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times Bestseller"In a return to the bighearted storytelling that made him a star NPR correspondent, [Simon] pays full tribute to the ex-showgirl who...taught her only son to be honest, kind, and entertaining. Be assured, tears will fall."--People Magazine "In...
Read More check catalog