Back Parenting & Families | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Parenting & Families  
Banish Boredom: Activities to Do with Kids That You'll Actually Enjoy

Rebecca Green · Gryphon House
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Winner of the 2016 Mom's Choice Awards - GOLD! Based on her popular blog, Not-So-SAHM , Rebecca Green takes readers on an inspiring journey using beautiful color photos that she took of her children doing activities she describes in the book. Taking a lighthearted approach to the serious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Better Apart: The Radically Positive Way to Separate

Gabrielle Hartley · Harper Wave
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Marital strife and divorce can be your chance to profoundly transform yourself, your mindset and your relationship with a more harmonious and steady vision.

While many of us may be better together, some of us can actually become better apart.

What if you emerged from your...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Raising Empowered Daughters: A Dad-to-Dad Guide

Mike Adamick
Format: Paperback


Read More check catalog
 
 
Loose Parts 2: Inspiring Play with Infants and Toddlers

Miriam Beloglovsky · Redleaf Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Loose parts capture children's curiosity, give free reign to their imagination, and encourage creativity. This form of play allows infants to be in control and recognize the power of their bodies and actions. A variety of new and innovative loose parts ideas are paired with beautiful...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss

Margaret Renkl · Milkweed Editions
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

An Indie Next Selection for July 2019 An Indies Introduce Selection for Summer/Fall 2019 A 2019 Okra Pick A Publishers Weekly "Pick of the Week" From New York Times opinion writer Margaret Renkl comes an unusual, captivating portrait of a family -- and of the cycles of joy and grief...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Teach Your Child Meditation: 70 Fun & Easy Ways to Help Kids De-Stress and Chill Out

Lisa Roberts · Sterling
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Help your child calm down, relieve stress, and achieve greater mindfulness with this illustrated guide to teaching kids meditation and breathing techniques - complete with 70 step-by-step exercises.

Even children need to learn ways to calm and center themselves. With its hands-on...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Genealogy Basics In 30 Minutes

Shannon Combs-Bennett · In 30 Minutes Guides
Pages: 102
Format: Print book

Preorder the book today! Genealogists are like detectives. Working out puzzles is the name of their game! If you have ever wanted to research and document your family history the right way, then Genealogy Basics In 30 Minutes is for you! Authored by professional genealogist Shannon Combs-Bennett,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Littlest Learners: Preparing Your Child for Kindergarten

DAWN R ROGINSKI · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

The Littlest Learners connects the most recent research on emergent literacy, the skills necessary to become a reader and concrete activities that parents and caregivers can do to maximize their child's reading readiness. The book is divided into 5 activities:1) talking with young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Permission to Feel: Unlocking the Power of Emotions to Help Our Kids, Ourselves, and Our Society Thrive

Marc Brackett · Celadon Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The mental well-being of children and adults is shockingly poor. Marc Brackett, author of Permission to Feel, knows why. And he knows what we can do.
"We have a crisis on our hands, and its victims are our children."

Marc Brackett is a professor in Yale...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Wait Up: Confessions of a Stay-at-Work Mom

Liz Astrof · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Let's Pretend This Never Happened and I Heart My Little A-Holes comes a candid and hilarious collection of essays on motherhood from the award-winning television comedy writer and producer of 2 Broke Girls and The King of Queens, who swears...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 Simple Tools for Raising Great Kids

Todd Cartmell · Moody Publishers, 2016.
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

"I love my child, but parenting is hard."

Whether you find parenting intuitive or impossible, we could all use a hand here and there. Let child psychologist and father Todd Cartmell walk you through the nuts and bolts of healthy, effective parenting.

Using examples...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Smart, Successful, and Abused: The Unspoken Problem of Domestic Violence and High-Achieving Women

Angela Mailis · Sutherland House
Pages: 178
Format: Paperback

In 2016, neuroscientist Angela Mailis, a world-renowned expert on chronic pain management, was brought face to face with domestic violence when an accomplished colleague was murdered by her equally accomplished husband. It was familiar territory for Dr. Mailis, who herself had been involved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spit that Out!: The Overly Informed Parent's Guide to Raising Healthy Kids in the Age of Environmental Guilt

Paige Wolf · New Society Publishers
Pages: 173
Format: Print book

From BPA in baby bottles and asbestos in crayons to misleading "natural" labels - it can despair even the most steadfast parent.Lighthearted yet authoritative, Spit That Out! cuts through the information overload, sorts cloth from disposable, and empowers readers to make simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed

Jessica Lahey · HarperCollins
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn the tradition of Paul Tough's How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel's The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pregnancy, OMG!: The First Ever Photographic Guide for Modern Mamas-to-Be

NANCY AMANDA REDD · St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

New York Times bestselling author Nancy Redd's visual guide to pregnancy and all the bizarre, hilarious, and often unanticipated changes a woman's body can go through.WHY DID NOBODY TELL ME THIS COULD HAPPEN?! -- This is not the thought you want to be having when you're frantically...
Read More check catalog