Back Science | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Last Man Who Knew Everything: The Life and Times of Enrico Fermi, Father of the Nuclear Age

David N Schwartz · Basic Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of the brilliant, charismatic, and very human physicist and innovator Enrico FermiIn 1942, a team at the University of Chicago achieved what no one had before: a nuclear chain reaction. At the forefront of this breakthrough stood Enrico Fermi. Straddling the ages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Endurance: My Year in Space and Our Journey to Mars

Scott Kelly · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A stunning memoir from the astronaut who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station--a candid account of his remarkable voyage, of the journeys off the planet that preceded it, and of his colorful formative years.The veteran of four space flights and the American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Catching Stardust: Comets, Asteroids and the Birth of the Solar System

Natalie Starkey · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Icy, rocky, sometimes dusty, always mysterious--comets and asteroids are among the Solar System's very oldest inhabitants, formed within a swirling cloud of gas and dust in the area of space that eventually hosted the Sun and its planets. Locked within each of these extra-terrestrial objects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Body Identification Manual: Your body and how it works

Ken Ashwell · Chartwell Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The Human Body Identification Manual reveals the beauty and intricacy of the human body. This comprehensive visual guide explores the structure and function of all the parts that make up a human being: the bones, muscles, and skin, as well as the circulatory, respiratory, digestive, and nervous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Most Improbable Journey: A Big History of Our Planet and Ourselves

Walter Alvarez · W W Norton
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Famed geologist Walter Alvarez expands our view of human history by revealing the cosmic, geologic, and evolutionary forces that have shaped us. Big History, the field that studies the entire known past of our universe to give context to human existence, has so far been the domain of historians....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crashback: The Power Clash Between the U.S. and China in the Pacific

MICHAEL FABEY · Scribner
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An alarming message from an award-winning journalist with unprecedented access to the highest naval officers in America and China and their ships and weapons, this is a chilling look at the "warm war" over control of the South China Sea - one that is threatening to flare into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DNA: The Story of the Genetic Revolution

James D Watson · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback

The definitive insider's history of the genetic revolution--significantly updated to reflect the discoveries of the last decade. James D. Watson, the Nobel laureate whose pioneering work helped unlock the mystery of DNA's structure, charts the greatest scientific journey of our time, from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy Brain: Where Happiness Comes From, and Why

Dean Burnett · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Neuroscientist Dean Burnett dives into the squishy science and bubbly feelings of what happiness means.The pursuit of happiness is one of the most common and enduring quests of human life. It's what drives us to get a job, fall in love, watch stand-up comedy, go to therapy, have questionable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Altered Traits: Science Reveals How Meditation Changes Your Mind, Brain, and Body

DANIEL GOLEMAN · Avery
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Two New York Times-bestselling authors unveil new research showing what meditation can really do for the brain. In the last twenty years, meditation and mindfulness have gone from being kind of cool to becoming an omnipresent Band-Aid for fixing everything from your weight to your relationship...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waking the Spirit: A Musician's Journey Healing Body, Mind, and Soul

Andrew Schulman · Picador
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

For millennia, music has been known to have a powerful role in the healing process. This moving and inspiring book tells the tale of a man pulled from the brink of death by music who, in turn, uses music as medicine to help heal others. Andrew Schulman, a fifty-seven-year-old professional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
GENIUS WITHIN : unlocking our brains' potential

DAVID ADAM · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Following the success of The Man Who Couldn't Stop, David Adam now expounds on the latest research into intelligence, revealing how this revolution in neuroscience will help us access the untapped potential locked within us all. What if you have more intelligence than you realize? What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One-Minute Workout: Science Shows a Way to Get Fit That's Smarter, Faster, Shorter

Christopher Shulgan · Avery Pub Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Finally, the solution to the #1 reason we don't exercise: time. Everyone has one minute. A decade ago, Martin Gibala was a young researcher in the field of exercise physiology - with little time to exercise. That critical point in his career launched a passion for high-intensity interval...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
Read More check catalog