Back Science | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times Bestseller#1 Wall Street Journal Business BestsellerInstant Washington Post Bestseller"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice." --The Wall Street JournalDaniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One-Minute Workout: Science Shows a Way to Get Fit That's Smarter, Faster, Shorter

Christopher Shulgan · Avery Pub Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Finally, the solution to the #1 reason we don't exercise: time. Everyone has one minute. A decade ago, Martin Gibala was a young researcher in the field of exercise physiology - with little time to exercise. That critical point in his career launched a passion for high-intensity interval...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond Infinity: An Expedition to the Outer Limits of Mathematics

Eugenia Cheng · Basic Books
Pages: 284
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious and charming Eugenia Cheng leads us in search of what's bigger than infinity, and smaller than its opposite
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hot, Hungry Planet: The Fight to Stop a Global Food Crisis in the Face of Climate Change

Lisa Palmer · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

The U.N. predicts the Earth will have more than 9.6 billion people by 2050. With resources already scarce, how will we feed them all? Journalist Lisa Palmer has traveled the world for years, documenting the cutting-edge innovations of people and organizations on the front lines of fighting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleep Smarter: 21 Essential Strategies to Sleep Your Way to A Better Body, Better Health, and Bigger Success

Shawn Stevenson · Rodale Books
Pages: 262
Format: Hardcover

When it comes to health, there is one criminally overlooked element: sleep. Good sleep helps you shed fat for good, stave off disease, stay productive, and improve virtually every function of your mind and body. That's what Shawn Stevenson learned when a degenerative bone disease crushed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geometry For Dummies

Mark Ryan · For Dummies
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

Hit the geometry wall? Get up and running with this no-nonsense guide! Does the thought of geometry make you jittery? You're not alone. Fortunately, this down-to-earth guide helps you approach it from a new angle, making it easier than ever to conquer your fears and score your highest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ten Great Ideas about Chance

Persi Diaconis · Princeton University Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A fascinating account of the breakthrough ideas that transformed probability and statisticsIn the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, gamblers and mathematicians transformed the idea of chance from a mystery into the discipline of probability, setting the stage for a series of breakthroughs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aroused: The History of Hormones and How They Control Just About Everything

Randi Hutter Epstein · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A guided tour through the strange science of hormones and the age-old quest to control them.Metabolism, behavior, sleep, mood swings, the immune system, fighting, fleeing, puberty, and sex: these are just a few of the things our bodies control with hormones. Armed with a healthy dose of wit and curiosity,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Man Who Knew Everything: The Life and Times of Enrico Fermi, Father of the Nuclear Age

David N Schwartz · Basic Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of the brilliant, charismatic, and very human physicist and innovator Enrico FermiIn 1942, a team at the University of Chicago achieved what no one had before: a nuclear chain reaction. At the forefront of this breakthrough stood Enrico Fermi. Straddling the ages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mama's Last Hug: Animal and Human Emotions

Frans de Waal · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times best-selling author and primatologist Frans de Waal explores the fascinating world of animal and human emotions.Frans de Waal has spent four decades at the forefront of animal research. Following up on the best-selling Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?, which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brief Answers to the Big Questions

STEPHEN HAWKING · Bantam
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

The world-famous cosmologist and #1 bestselling author of A Brief History of Time leaves us with his final thoughts on the universe's biggest questions in this brilliant and page-turning posthumous work.Why are we here? Will we survive? Will technology save us? How can we thrive?Stephen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Magical World: Superstition and Science from the Renaissance to the Enlightenment

DEREK K WILSON · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rich and multi-faceted history of heroes and villains interwoven with the profound changes in human knowledge that took place between the Renaissance and the Enlightenment.Spanning some of the most vibrant and fascinating eras in European history, Cambridge historian Derek Wilson reveals...
Read More check catalog