Back Science | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity

Carl Zimmer · Dutton
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning, celebrated New York Times columnist and science writer Carl Zimmer presents a history of our understanding of heredity in this sweeping, resonating overview of a force that shaped human society--a force set to shape our future even more radically.She Has Her Mother's Laugh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times Bestseller#1 Wall Street Journal Business BestsellerInstant Washington Post Bestseller"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice." --The Wall Street JournalDaniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DNA: The Story of the Genetic Revolution

James D Watson · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback

The definitive insider's history of the genetic revolution--significantly updated to reflect the discoveries of the last decade. James D. Watson, the Nobel laureate whose pioneering work helped unlock the mystery of DNA's structure, charts the greatest scientific journey of our time, from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Man Who Knew Everything: The Life and Times of Enrico Fermi, Father of the Nuclear Age

David N Schwartz · Basic Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of the brilliant, charismatic, and very human physicist and innovator Enrico FermiIn 1942, a team at the University of Chicago achieved what no one had before: a nuclear chain reaction. At the forefront of this breakthrough stood Enrico Fermi. Straddling the ages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Magical World: Superstition and Science from the Renaissance to the Enlightenment

DEREK K WILSON · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rich and multi-faceted history of heroes and villains interwoven with the profound changes in human knowledge that took place between the Renaissance and the Enlightenment.Spanning some of the most vibrant and fascinating eras in European history, Cambridge historian Derek Wilson reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One-Minute Workout: Science Shows a Way to Get Fit That's Smarter, Faster, Shorter

Christopher Shulgan · Avery Pub Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Finally, the solution to the #1 reason we don't exercise: time. Everyone has one minute. A decade ago, Martin Gibala was a young researcher in the field of exercise physiology - with little time to exercise. That critical point in his career launched a passion for high-intensity interval...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Most Improbable Journey: A Big History of Our Planet and Ourselves

Walter Alvarez · W W Norton
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Famed geologist Walter Alvarez expands our view of human history by revealing the cosmic, geologic, and evolutionary forces that have shaped us. Big History, the field that studies the entire known past of our universe to give context to human existence, has so far been the domain of historians....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy Brain: Where Happiness Comes From, and Why

Dean Burnett · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Neuroscientist Dean Burnett dives into the squishy science and bubbly feelings of what happiness means.The pursuit of happiness is one of the most common and enduring quests of human life. It's what drives us to get a job, fall in love, watch stand-up comedy, go to therapy, have questionable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bayou-Diversity 2: Nature and People in the Louisiana Bayou Country

Kelby Ouchley · LSU Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In this sequel to his previous exploration of Louisiana's bayou country, conservationist Kelby Ouchley continues his journey through the vast ecosystems of the state with a fresh array of historical and cultural narratives, personal anecdotes, and reflections. Informative and entertaining,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Seeds of Life: From Aristotle to da Vinci, from Sharks' Teeth to Frogs' Pants, the Long and Strange Quest to Discover Where Babies Come From

Edward Dolnick · Basic Books
Pages: 309
Format: Hardcover

Why cracking the code of human conception took centuries of wild theories, misogynist blunders, and ludicrous mistakes Throughout most of human history, babies were surprises. People knew the basics: men and women had sex, and sometimes babies followed. But beyond that the origins of life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crashback: The Power Clash Between the U.S. and China in the Pacific

MICHAEL FABEY · Scribner
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An alarming message from an award-winning journalist with unprecedented access to the highest naval officers in America and China and their ships and weapons, this is a chilling look at the "warm war" over control of the South China Sea - one that is threatening to flare into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
GENIUS WITHIN : unlocking our brains' potential

DAVID ADAM · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Following the success of The Man Who Couldn't Stop, David Adam now expounds on the latest research into intelligence, revealing how this revolution in neuroscience will help us access the untapped potential locked within us all. What if you have more intelligence than you realize? What...
Read More check catalog