Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
A Most Improbable Journey: A Big History of Our Planet and Ourselves

Walter Alvarez · W W Norton
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Famed geologist Walter Alvarez expands our view of human history by revealing the cosmic, geologic, and evolutionary forces that have shaped us. Big History, the field that studies the entire known past of our universe to give context to human existence, has so far been the domain of historians....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geometry For Dummies

Mark Ryan · For Dummies
Pages: 408
Format: Print book

Hit the geometry wall? Get up and running with this no-nonsense guide! Does the thought of geometry make you jittery? You're not alone. Fortunately, this down-to-earth guide helps you approach it from a new angle, making it easier than ever to conquer your fears and score your highest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waking the Spirit: A Musician's Journey Healing Body, Mind, and Soul

Andrew Schulman · Picador
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

For millennia, music has been known to have a powerful role in the healing process. This moving and inspiring book tells the tale of a man pulled from the brink of death by music who, in turn, uses music as medicine to help heal others. Andrew Schulman, a fifty-seven-year-old professional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Astronomy Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

INC DORLING KINDERSLEY · DK
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An essential guide to milestone developments in astronomy, telling the story of our ideas about space, time, and the physics of the cosmos - from ancient times to the present day.From planets and stars to black holes and the Big Bang, take a journey through the wonders of the universe....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Rebecca Skloot · Crown Publishers
Pages: 369
Format: Print book

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells - taken without her knowledge - became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Magical World: Superstition and Science from the Renaissance to the Enlightenment

DEREK K WILSON · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rich and multi-faceted history of heroes and villains interwoven with the profound changes in human knowledge that took place between the Renaissance and the Enlightenment.Spanning some of the most vibrant and fascinating eras in European history, Cambridge historian Derek Wilson reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Greatest Story Ever Told--So Far: Why Are We Here?

Lawrence M Krauss · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Internationally renowned, award-winning theoretical physicist, New York Times bestselling author of A Universe from Nothing, and passionate advocate for reason, Lawrence Krauss tells the dramatic story of the discovery of the hidden world of reality - a grand poetic vision of nature - and how we find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The DNA Restart: Unlock Your Personal Genetic Code to Eat for Your Genes, Lose Weight, and Reverse Aging

Sharon Moalem · Rodale Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The DNA Restart turns traditional dietary advice on its head with groundbreaking research that demonstrates that we all require different diets based on our genes. In The DNA Restart, Sharon Moalem, MD, PhD, provides a revolutionary step-by-step guide to the diet and lifestyle perfect for your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Altered Traits: Science Reveals How Meditation Changes Your Mind, Brain, and Body

DANIEL GOLEMAN · Avery
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Two New York Times-bestselling authors unveil new research showing what meditation can really do for the brain. In the last twenty years, meditation and mindfulness have gone from being kind of cool to becoming an omnipresent Band-Aid for fixing everything from your weight to your relationship...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mind-Gut Connection: How the Hidden Conversation Within Our Bodies Impacts Our Mood, Our Choices, and Our Overall Health

Emeran Mayer · Harper Wave
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain, and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.We have all experienced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vaccine Race: Science, Politics, and the Human Costs of Defeating Disease

Meredith Wadman · Viking
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

The epic and controversial story of the development of the first widely used normal human cell-line and, through it, some of the world s most important vaccines In June 1962, a young biologist at the Wistar Institute in Philadelphia, Leonard Hayflick, using tissue extracted from an aborted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W W Norton
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Gould's Hummingbirds

John Gould · Wellfleet; 1st edition
Pages: 492
Format: Hardcover

book is in very good condiiton, with slight edgewear
Read More check catalog