Back Outdoors & Nature | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country

Pam Houston · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"How do we become who we are in the world? We ask the world to teach us."On her 120-acre homestead high in the Colorado Rockies, beloved writer Pam Houston learns what it means to care for a piece of land and the creatures on it. Elk calves and bluebirds mark the changing seasons,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charles Darwin: Victorian Mythmaker

A N WILSON · Harper
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

A radical reappraisal of Charles Darwin from the bestselling author of Victoria: A Life.With the publication of On the Origin of Species, Charles Darwin - hailed as the man who "discovered evolution" - was propelled into the pantheon of great scientific thinkers, alongside Galileo,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ends of the World: Volcanic Apocalypses, Lethal Oceans, and Our Quest to Understand Earth's Past Mass Extinctions

PETER BRANNEN · Ecco
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

As new groundbreaking research suggests that climate change played a major role in the most extreme catastrophes in the planet's history, award-winning science journalist Peter Brannen takes us on a wild ride through the planet's five mass extinctions and, in the process, offers us a glimpse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescue of the Bounty: Disaster and Survival in Superstorm Sandy

Michael J. Tougias · Scribner
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

The harrowing story of the sinking and rescue of Bounty - the tall ship used in the classic 1962 movie Mutiny on the Bounty - which was caught in the path of Hurricane Sandy with sixteen aboard On Thursday, October 25, 2012, Captain Robin Walbridge made the fateful decision to sail Bounty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History

William K. Klingaman · St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Who Could Fly: The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side

Damien Lewis · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

An instant hit in the UK, this is the true account of a German shepherd who was adopted by the Royal Air Force during World War II, joined in flight missions, and survived everything from crash-landings to parachute bailouts—ultimately saving the life of his owner and dearest friend.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beekeeper's Lab: 52 Family-Friendly Activities and Experiments Exploring the Life of the Hive

KIM LEHMAN · Quarry Books
Pages: 144
Format: Flexibound

Fill the year ahead with weekly activities from around and about the hive, including art projects, recipes, experiments, garden activities, and more!If you keep bees or are interested in keeping bees, Beekeeper's Lab is the book for you. Filled with 52 beekeeping and hive-inspired projects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Water-Wise Home: How to Conserve, Capture, and Reuse Water in Your Home and Landscape

Laura Allen · Storey Publishing, LLC
Format: Print book

Are you looking for ways to save water -- or money? This accessible guide by Laura Allen, founder of Greywater Action, explains how to use water smartly and efficiently, increasing supply, saving money, reducing wear on your septic system, and filling your home and garden needs. She describes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inner Life of Animals: Love, Grief, and Compassion?Surprising Observations of a Hidden World

PETER WOHLLEBEN · Greystone Books
Pages: 277
Format: Hardcover

"Like The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben's The Inner Life of Animals will rock your world. Surprising, humbling, and filled with delight, this book shows us that animals think, feel and know in much the same way as we do--and that their lives are, to them, as precious as ours...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers

MARTIN DOYLE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

How rivers have shaped American politics, economics, and society from the beginnings of the Republic to today. In this fresh and powerful work of environmental history, Martin Doyle explores how rivers have often been the source of arguments at the heart of the American experiment -- over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Dogs Go to Kevin: Everything Three Dogs Taught Me

Jessica Vogelsang · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

ALL DOGS GO TO KEVIN is a humorous and touching memoir that will appeal to anyone who has ever loved an animal or lost hours in James Herriot's classic veterinary stories. You can't always count on people, but you can always count on your dog. No one knows that better than veterinarian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Year: A Tale of Man, Nature, and Fowl Obsession

Mark Obmascik · Atria Books; Media Tie-In edition
Format: Print book

Every January 1, a quirky crowd storms out across North America for a spectacularly competitive event called a Big Year—a grand, expensive, and occasionally vicious 365-day marathon of birdwatching. For three men in particular, 1998 would become a grueling battle for a new North American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Team Dog: How to Train Your Dog--the Navy SEAL Way

Mike Ritland · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

New York Times-bestselling author and former Navy SEAL Mike Ritland teaches all dog owners how to have the close relationship and exceptional training of combat dogs. In TEAM DOG, Mike taps into fifteen years' worth of experience and shares, explaining in accessible and direct language,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miracle Dogs: Rescue Stories

Liz Stavrinides · St. Martin's Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

78 million dogs live as pets in the USA. These are the lucky ones. Five to seven million companion animals enter shelters every year, and more than half are euthanized due to the lack of space. Miracle Dogs celebrates and honors the rescuers and the dogs whose lives they've saved. It features...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins

Susan Casey · Doubleday
Pages: 302
Format: Print book

From Susan Casey, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wave and The Devil's Teeth, a breathtaking journey through the extraordinary world of dolphins Since the dawn of recorded history, humans have felt a kinship with the sleek and beautiful dolphin, an animal whose playfulness,...
Read More check catalog