Back Outdoors & Nature | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Welcome to the Real World: Finding Your Place, Perfecting Your Work, and Turning Your Job into Your Dream Career

Lauren Berger · Harperbusiness
Pages: 210
Format: Paperback

The essential book every workplace novice needs - a smart, practical, and fun guide to help them navigate the minefield of personalities, learn to work with their boss, identify priorities, and ultimately kick butt at their first job.It's a challenging time to be young and new in the workplace....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ruthless Tide: The Tragic Epic of the Johnstown Flood

AL ROKER · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A gripping narrative history of the 1889 Johnstown Flood - the deadliest flood in US history - from New York Times bestselling author, NBC Host, and legendary weather authority Al Roker.May 1889: After a deluge of rainfall - nearly a foot in less than twenty-four hours - swelled the Little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Human Age: The World Shaped By Us

Diane Ackerman · W. W. Norton & Company; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

As Diane Ackerman writes in her brilliant new book, The Human Age, "our relationship with nature has changed ... radically, irreversibly, but by no means all for the bad. Our new epoch is laced with invention. Our mistakes are legion, but our talent is immeasurable." Ackerman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Horse Owners' Essential Tips: Grooming, Care, Tack, Facilities, Riding, Pasture

Philippe Meyrier · Firefly Books
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

Horse Owners' Essential Tips is chock full of the best proven advice on horse care. Shared among owners and riders for years, these tips and tricks revolve around daily maintenance and the most common problems that arise when caring for a horse. The book packs them all together in an easy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain Games for Puppies

Claire Arrowsmith · Firefly Books Ltd
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Praise for Brain Games for Dogs, by the same author: "Ideal for the growing number of dog owners who know that mental activity is as important as exercise when it comes to their dog's health and happiness." -- Pet Business Magazine Brain Games for Puppies is about more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rancher, Farmer, Fisherman: Conservation Heroes of the American Heartland

Miriam Horn · W W Norton
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The story of a huge, largely hidden, and entirely unexpected conservation movement in America.Many of the men and women doing today's most consequential environmental work -- restoring America's grasslands, wildlife, soil, rivers, wetlands, and oceans -- would not call themselves environmentalists;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History

William K. Klingaman · St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Owl Who Liked Sitting on Caesar: Living with a Tawny Owl

Martin Windrow · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

The story of an odd couple-a British military historian and the Tawny Owl with whom he lived for fifteen yearsMartin Windrow was a war historian with little experience with pets when he adopted an owl the size of a corncob. Adorable but with knife-sharp talons, Mumble became Windrow's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power

Al Gore · Rodale Books
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

The follow up to the #1 New York Times bestselling An Inconvenient TruthAn Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power is a daring call to action, exposing the reality of how humankind has aided in the destruction of our planet and groundbreaking information on what you can do now.Vice President...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being a Dog: Following the Dog Into a World of Smell

Alexandra Horowitz · Scribner
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Alexandra Horowitz, the author of the lively, highly informative New York Times bestselling blockbuster Inside of a Dog, explains how dogs perceive the world through their most spectacular organ - the nose - and how we humans can put our under-used sense of smell to work in surprising ways.To...
Read More check catalog
 
 
War Dogs: Tales of Canine Heroism, History, and Love

Rebecca Frankel · Palgrave Macmillan Trade
Format: Hardcover

*A New York Times Best Seller*Under the cover of night, deep in the desert of Afghanistan, a US Army handler led a Special Forces patrol with his military working dog. Without warning an insurgent popped up, his weapon raised. At the handler's command, the dog charged their attacker....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm Surge: Hurricane Sandy, Our Changing Climate, and Extreme Weather of the Past and Future

Adam Sobel · Harper Wave; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A renowned scientist takes us through the devastating and unprecedented events of Hurricane Sandy, using it to explain our planets changing climate, and what we need to do to protect ourselves and our cities for the future.Was Hurricane Sandy a freak event—or a harbinger of things to come? ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Homing Instinct: Meaning and Mystery in Animal Migration

Bernd Heinrich · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"A noted naturalist explores the centrality of home in the lives of humans and other animals . . . A special treat for readers of natural history." - Kirkus Reviews Every year, many species make the journey from one place to another, following the same paths and ending up in the same...
Read More check catalog
 
 
War of the Whales: A True Story

Joshua Horwitz · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 426
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the 2015 PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award: "Horwitz's dogged reporting ... combined with crisp, cinematic writing, produces a powerful narrative ... . He has written a book that is instructive and passionate and deserving a wide audience" (PEN Award...
Read More check catalog