Back Outdoors & Nature | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Brain Games for Puppies

Claire Arrowsmith · Firefly Books Ltd
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Praise for Brain Games for Dogs, by the same author: "Ideal for the growing number of dog owners who know that mental activity is as important as exercise when it comes to their dog's health and happiness." -- Pet Business Magazine Brain Games for Puppies is about more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Raise a Wild Child: The Art and Science of Falling in Love with Nature

Scott D Sampson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

From the beloved host of PBS Kids' Dinosaur Train, an easy-to-use guide for parents, teachers, and others looking to foster a strong connection between children and nature, complete with engaging activities, troubleshooting advice, and much more American children spend four to seven minutes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pig Tales: An Omnivore's Quest for Sustainable Meat

Barry Estabrook · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 335
Format: Print book

An eye-opening investigation of the commercial pork industry and an inspiring alternative to the way pigs are raised and consumed in America.Barry Estabrook, author of the New York Times bestseller Tomatoland and a writer of "great skill and compassion" (Eric Schlosser) , now explores...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spirit of the Horse: A Celebration in Fact and Fable

WILLIAM SHATNER · ST MARTIN'S Press
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

From his first time riding as a child, William Shatner has felt a deep love for horses. Whether seated in the saddle, communicating with them, or simply appreciating their beauty, his bond with these majestic animals is deep. For decades he has sought to share his joy -- with children,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Human Age: The World Shaped By Us

Diane Ackerman · W. W. Norton & Company; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

As Diane Ackerman writes in her brilliant new book, The Human Age, "our relationship with nature has changed ... radically, irreversibly, but by no means all for the bad. Our new epoch is laced with invention. Our mistakes are legion, but our talent is immeasurable." Ackerman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beekeeper's Lab: 52 Family-Friendly Activities and Experiments Exploring the Life of the Hive

KIM LEHMAN · Quarry Books
Pages: 144
Format: Flexibound

Fill the year ahead with weekly activities from around and about the hive, including art projects, recipes, experiments, garden activities, and more!If you keep bees or are interested in keeping bees, Beekeeper's Lab is the book for you. Filled with 52 beekeeping and hive-inspired projects...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woolly: The True Story of the De-Extinction of One of History's Most Iconic Creatures

BEN MEZRICH · Atria Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

See all Editorial Reviews
Read More check catalog
 
 
Megafire: The Race to Extinguish a Deadly Epidemic of Flame

Michael Kodas · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant exploration of the rising phenomenon of megafires - forest fires of alarming scale, intensity, and devastation - that captures the danger and heroism of those who fight them In Megafire, a world-renowned journalist and forest fire expert travels to the most dangerous and remote...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Dogs Go to Kevin: Everything Three Dogs Taught Me

Jessica Vogelsang · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

ALL DOGS GO TO KEVIN is a humorous and touching memoir that will appeal to anyone who has ever loved an animal or lost hours in James Herriot's classic veterinary stories. You can't always count on people, but you can always count on your dog. No one knows that better than veterinarian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
War Dogs: Tales of Canine Heroism, History, and Love

Rebecca Frankel · Palgrave Macmillan Trade
Format: Hardcover

*A New York Times Best Seller*Under the cover of night, deep in the desert of Afghanistan, a US Army handler led a Special Forces patrol with his military working dog. Without warning an insurgent popped up, his weapon raised. At the handler's command, the dog charged their attacker....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harlow & Indiana

Brittni Vega · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

New York Times-bestselling canines Harlow and Indiana, dubbed "the most adorable best friends in the world" by Buzzfeed, are back with a new addition to the family: Reese Lightning! In the beginning, Indiana Thunderbolt learned the ropes from her big sister, Harlow. She had no idea...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History

William K. Klingaman · St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Badluck Way: A Year on the Ragged Edge of the West

Bryce Andrews · Atria Books
Pages: 238
Format: Hardcover

"Mine might have been a simple, pretty story, if not for the wolves. In late July, they emerged from the foothills . . ." In this gripping memoir of a young man, a wolf, their parallel lives and ultimate collision, Bryce Andrews describes life on the remote, windswept Sun Ranch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Clone a Mammoth: The Science of De-Extinction

Beth Shapiro · Princeton University Press
Format: Hardcover

Could extinct species, like mammoths and passenger pigeons, be brought back to life? The science says yes. In How to Clone a Mammoth, Beth Shapiro, evolutionary biologist and pioneer in "ancient DNA" research, walks readers through the astonishing and controversial process of de-extinction....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Who Could Fly: The Incredible True Story of a WWII Airman and the Four-Legged Hero Who Flew At His Side

Damien Lewis · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

An instant hit in the UK, this is the true account of a German shepherd who was adopted by the Royal Air Force during World War II, joined in flight missions, and survived everything from crash-landings to parachute bailouts—ultimately saving the life of his owner and dearest friend.In...
Read More check catalog