Back Outdoors & Nature | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Lucky Dog: How Being a Veterinarian Saved My Life

Sarah Boston · House of Anansi Press
Format: Paperback

What happens when a veterinary surgical oncologist (laymen’s term: cancer surgery doctor) thinks she has cancer herself? Enter Sarah Boston: a vet who suspects a suspicious growth in her neck is thyroid cancer. From the moment she uses her husband’s portable ultrasound machine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voices in the Ocean: A Journey into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins

Susan Casey · Doubleday
Pages: 302
Format: Print book

From Susan Casey, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wave and The Devil's Teeth, a breathtaking journey through the extraordinary world of dolphins Since the dawn of recorded history, humans have felt a kinship with the sleek and beautiful dolphin, an animal whose playfulness,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quakeland: On the Road to America's Next Devastating Earthquake

KATHRYN MILES · Dutton
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A journey around the United States in search of the truth about the threat of earthquakes leads to spine-tingling discoveries, unnerving experts, and ultimately the kind of preparations that will actually help guide us through disasters. It's a road trip full of surprises. Earthquakes....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History

William K. Klingaman · St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition
Format: Book

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death....
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Illustrated Guide to Wildlife: From Your Back Door to the Great Outdoors

National Geographic · National Geographic
Format: Hardcover

From one of the most trusted names in field guides comes a new and lavishly illustrated guide to identifying North America's most common birds, mammals, insects, reptiles, and amphibians, plus fish and other aquatic creatures. Broad in scope and clearly organized, National Geographic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guide to Wild Foods and Useful Plants

Christopher Nyerges · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 337
Format: Paperback

An array of abundant wild foods is available to hikers, campers, foragers, or anyone interested in living closer to the earth. Written by a leading expert on wild foods and a well-known teacher of survival skills, Guide to Wild Foods and Useful Plants is more than a listing of plant types--it...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes

Dan Egan · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A landmark work of science, history and reporting on the past, present and imperiled future of the Great Lakes.The Great Lakes -- Erie, Huron, Michigan, Ontario and Superior -- hold 20 percent of the world's supply of surface fresh water and provide sustenance, work and recreation for tens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Year: A Tale of Man, Nature, and Fowl Obsession

Mark Obmascik · Atria Books; Media Tie-In edition
Format: Print book

Every January 1, a quirky crowd storms out across North America for a spectacularly competitive event called a Big Year—a grand, expensive, and occasionally vicious 365-day marathon of birdwatching. For three men in particular, 1998 would become a grueling battle for a new North American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Dogs Go to Kevin: Everything Three Dogs Taught Me

Jessica Vogelsang · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

ALL DOGS GO TO KEVIN is a humorous and touching memoir that will appeal to anyone who has ever loved an animal or lost hours in James Herriot's classic veterinary stories. You can't always count on people, but you can always count on your dog. No one knows that better than veterinarian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
America's Snake: The Rise and Fall of the Timber Rattlesnake

Ted Levin · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 520
Format: Print book

There's no sound quite like it, or as viscerally terrifying: the ominous rattle of the timber rattlesnake. It's a chilling shorthand for imminent danger, and a reminder of the countless ways that nature can suddenly snuff us out. Yet most of us have never seen a timber rattler....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Animals Go: Tracking Wildlife with Technology in 50 Maps and Graphics

JAMES CHESHIRE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

"Where the Animals Go is beautiful and thrilling, a combination of the best in science and exposition, and a joy to study cover to cover." -- Edward O. Wilson, University Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard UniversityFor thousands of years, tracking animals meant following footprints....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rescue of the Bounty: Disaster and Survival in Superstorm Sandy

Michael J. Tougias · Scribner
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

The harrowing story of the sinking and rescue of Bounty - the tall ship used in the classic 1962 movie Mutiny on the Bounty - which was caught in the path of Hurricane Sandy with sixteen aboard On Thursday, October 25, 2012, Captain Robin Walbridge made the fateful decision to sail Bounty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Gift from Bob: How a Street Cat Helped One Man Learn the Meaning of Christmas

James Bowen · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 172
Format: Print book

Bob Fever has swept the globe, with A Street Cat Named Bob vaulting its way to #7 on The New York Times bestseller list in its first week on sale. With rights sold to 27 countries around the globe and a top spot on the British bestseller list for more than a year, this book has been a smashing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Raise a Wild Child: The Art and Science of Falling in Love with Nature

Scott D Sampson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

From the beloved host of PBS Kids' Dinosaur Train, an easy-to-use guide for parents, teachers, and others looking to foster a strong connection between children and nature, complete with engaging activities, troubleshooting advice, and much more American children spend four to seven minutes...
Read More check catalog