Back Outdoors & Nature | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Darwin's Unfinished Symphony: How Culture Made the Human Mind

Kevin N Laland - Princeton University Press
Format: Print book

Humans possess an extraordinary capacity for cultural production, from the arts and language to science and technology. How did the human mind--and the uniquely human ability to devise and transmit culture--evolve from its roots in animal behavior? Darwin's Unfinished Symphony presents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Audubon Society Trees of North America

National Audubon Society - Knopf
Format: Kindle Edition

This handsome volume is the result of a collaboration among leading scientists, scholars, taxonomic and field experts, photo editors, and designers. An indispensable reference, it covers more than 540 species, with nearly 2,500 full-color photographs--including images of the bark, fruit,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinner with Darwin: Food, Drink, and Evolution

Jonathan W Silvertown - University Of Chicago Press
Format: Hardcover

What do eggs, flour, and milk have in common They form the basis of waffles, of course, but these staples of breakfast bounty also share an evolutionary function: eggs, seeds (from which we derive flour by grinding) , and milk have each evolved to nourish offspring. Indeed, ponder the genesis...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Free the Beaches: The Story of Ned Coll and the Battle for America's Most Exclusive Shoreline

ANDREW W KAHRL - Yale University Press
Format: Hardcover

The story of our separate and unequal America in the making, and one man's fight against it During the long, hot summers of the late 1960s and 1970s, one man began a campaign to open some of America's most exclusive beaches to minorities and the urban poor. That man was antipoverty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trooper: The Bobcat Who Came in from the Wild

FORREST BRYANT JOHNSON - Skyhorse Publishing
Format: Hardcover

Whenever middle-aged desert tour guide Forrest Bryant Johnson went out on his daily walks into the Mojave, all was usually peaceful and serene. But one beautiful summer day in 1987, Forrest heard a cry of distress. Following the cries, he came upon a small bobcat kitten, injured, orphaned,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Skies

Valerie Stimac - Lonely Planet
Format: Hardcover

Witnessing the sweep of the Milky Way, the remains of comets burning up in our atmosphere, or the shimmering aurora, we better understand the universe and our place in it. Lonely Planet's Dark Skies, the first world's guide to astrotourism, can help you experience all of this and more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Firefly Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Gems

Rupert Hochleitner - Firefly Books
Format: Paperback

Step-by-step Questions and Answers with detailed color photographs for easy identification. The Firefly Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Gems is designed for easy and reliable identification of minerals, gems and rocks. The identification process begins with the stone's streak color,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses

Jackie Higgins - Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of The Soul of an Octopus and The Genius of Birds, this remarkable book explores how we process the world around us by analyzing the incredible sensory capabilities of thirteen animals and reveals that we are not limited to merely five senses.
Read More check catalog
 
 
There's No Such Thing as Bad Weather: A Scandinavian Mom's Secrets for Raising Healthy, Resilient, and Confident Kids

Linda Keson McGurk - Touchstone
Format: Hardcover

Bringing Up Bb meets Last Child in the Woods in this lively, insightful memoir about a mother who sets out to discover if the nature-centric parenting philosophy of her native Scandinavia holds the key to healthier, happier lives for her American children.When Swedish-born...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Complete Dog Breed Book, New Edition

DK - DK PUB

The ultimate dog breed resource book, The Complete Dog Breed Book has everything from dog grooming to dog training to caring for a dog to, yes, a breakdown of dog breeds for prospective breeders and prospective dog owners. Search through common dog breeds and exotic dog breeds as well -- The Complete...
Read More check catalog