Back Outdoors & Nature | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
The First Domestication: How Wolves and Humans Coevolved

Raymond Pierotti · Yale University Press
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

A riveting look at how dog and humans became best friends, and the first history of dog domestication to include insights from indigenous peoples In this fascinating book, Raymond Pierotti and Brandy Fogg change the narrative about how wolves became dogs and in turn, humanity's best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Apocalypse 1692: Empire, Slavery, and the Great Port Royal Earthquake

Ben Hughes · Westholme Publishing
Format: Hardcover

Built on sugar, slaves, and piracy, Jamaica's Port Royal was the jewel in England's quest for empire until a devastating earthquake sank the city beneath the sea A haven for pirates and the center of the New World's frenzied trade in slaves and sugar, Port Royal, Jamaica, was a notorious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rachel Carson: Silent Spring & Other Writings on the Environment

Rachel Carson · Library of America
Pages: 625
Format: Hardcover

The book that sparked the modern environmental movement, with an unprecedented collection of letters, speeches, and other writings that reveal the extraordinary courage and vision of its authorThis deluxe Library of America volume presents one of the landmark books of the twentieth century...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Indomitable Beast: The Remarkable Journey of the Jaguar

Alan Rabinowitz · Island Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The jaguar is one of the most mysterious and least-known big cats of the world. The largest cat in the Americas, it has survived an onslaught of environmental and human threats partly because of an evolutionary history unique among wild felines, but also because of a power and indomitable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West

Nate Blakeslee · Broadway Books
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICEThe enthralling story of the rise and reign of O-Six, the celebrated Yellowstone wolf, and the people who loved or feared her Before men ruled the earth, there were wolves. Once abundant in North America, these majestic creatures were hunted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Trails: An Exploration

Robert Moor · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

"The best outdoors book of the year" - Sierra Club "Stunning ... A wondrous nonfiction debut" - Departures "Moor's book is enchanting" - The Boston Globe "A wanderer's dream" - The Economist From a brilliant new literary voice comes a groundbreaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Modern Homesteader's Guide to Keeping Geese

Kirsten Lie-Nielsen · New Society Publishers
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

While chickens preen in the spotlight, geese are the historic unsung heroes of small farms and homesteads. Providing weed control, large eggs, and entertainment, and acting as "security" over other animals, geese are the ultimate modern homesteading companion.The Modern Homesteader's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain Games for Cats: Fun Ways to Build a Loving Bond with Your Cat Through Games and Challenges

Claire Arrowsmith · Firefly Books
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

It's true. Cats love being with humans, and one of the best ways to strengthen that bond is to play together. Not only is playtime fun for the cat, it's a great way to provide mental and physical exercise. In Brain Games for Cats, each game or trick has been specially photographed in a step-by-step...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Raising Goats Naturally, 2nd Edition: The Complete Guide to Milk, Meat, and More

Deborah Niemann · New Society Publishers
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Produce your own milk, cheese, meat, fiber, fertilizer, and more Incorporating dairy goats into a diversified homestead can be the key to greater self-sufficiency. Responding to questions and concerns from readers from all over North America and beyond, this fully revised and expanded edition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
View From Above: An Astronaut Photographs the World

TERRY VIRTS · National Geographic
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This majestic National Geographic photography book offers a spectacular view of Earth from outer space, featuring aerial imagery taken from the International Space Station by NASA astronaut Terry Virts.Few people get the experience of seeing the world from outer space - and no one has taken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Naming

Michael Ohl · The MIT Press
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

From Tyrannosaurus rex to Heteropoda davidbowie: scientific naming as a joyful and creative act. Tyrannosaurus rex. Homo sapiens. Heteropoda davidbowie. Behind each act of scientific naming is a story. In this entertaining and illuminating book, Michael Ohl considers scientific naming as a joyful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weather: An Illustrated History: From Cloud Atlases to Climate Change

ANDREW REVKIN · Sterling
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Andrew Revkin, who is the senior climate reporter at ProPublica after a prize-winning 21-year stint at The New York Times, presents an intriguing illustrated history of humanity's evolving relationship with Earth's dynamic climate system and the wondrous weather it generates. Colorful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seahorses: A Life-Size Guide to Every Species

Sara A Lourie · University of Chicago Press
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Absolutely captivating creatures, seahorses seem like a product of myth and imagination rather than of nature. They are small, elusive, and are named for their heads, which are shaped like miniature ponies with tiny snouts. They swim slowly upright by rapidly fanning their delicate dorsal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

BRITT COLLINS · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Birds Matter: Avian Ecological Function and Ecosystem Services

C?ag?an S?ekerciog?lu · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

For over one hundred years, ornithologists and amateur birders have jointly campaigned for the conservation of bird species, documenting not only birds' beauty and extraordinary diversity, but also their importance to ecosystems worldwide. But while these avian enthusiasts have noted...
Read More check catalog