Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Adam and His Tuba

Ziga X Gombac - NorthSouth Books
Format: Hardcover

"Readers will be left screaming, 'Encore!'" -Kirkus Reviews A playful book about finding your own path.. Everyone in the circus loves to perform - except for Adam, the very youngest member of the Von Trapeze family. Wherever Adam Von Trapeze's family circus performs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Billie and Bean at the Beach

Julia Hansson - Orca Book Publishers
Format: Hardcover

Celebrating the supportive relationship between a child and her dog, this story shows how we can all be brave and achieve things in our own time. Billie prefers playing quietly, but the beach is a noisy place. Her energetic dog, Bean, is happy to explore the sand and water. When Billie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Once Upon a Book

Grace Lin - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning and bestselling picture book creators Grace Lin and Kate Messner comes a modern folktale about the joy of reading.Once upon a time, there was a girl. She went to a place alive with colors, where even the morning dew was warm. Alice loves to imagine herself in the magical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Book Is My Best Friend

Robin Robinson - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

When two young readers reach for the same book at the library, they set off on a charming romp through the stacks in this rambunctious and endearing picture book.Sunny and Aarush both love to read. In fact, it is their favorite thing. For Aarush, a book is like a refuge for when you want...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whatever Comes Tomorrow

Rebecca Gardyn Levington - Barefoot Books
Format: Hardcover

We might not know what the future holds, but the lyrical rhyming text in this beautiful book reassures readers that they have the resilience and strength to face whatever comes their way. Whimsical illustrations make for a captivating read-aloud or bedtime story. Inspired by the author's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best in the World (Croc and Ally)

Derek Anderson - Penguin Workshop
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Elephant & Piggie and Frog & Toad comes an easy-to-read series about another unlikely pair: Croc and Ally. These two best friends don't always see things the same way, but there's one thing they do agree on--their friendship comes first!Croc is grumpy. Ally is happy....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clumpety Bump (Early Bird Readers — Green (Early Bird Stories ™))

Phil Allcock - Lerner Publications ™
Format: Hardcover

Wally Wobblebottom likes to bring gifts to his friends. But his horse, Clumpety Bump, is not always helpful. Children will delight in reading this charming tale with leveled text.
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Really Want to Fly to the Moon!: A Really Bird Story (Really Bird Stories, 3)

HARRIET ZIEFERT - Red Comet Press
Format: Hardcover

Take off with Really Bird and friends as they set their sights on a trip to outer space in this latest hilarious adventure. Meet Really Bird, a small bird who lives in a large city park with his friends Cat, Pup, Mouse, and Rabbit. In each story, Really Bird finds himself really wanting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sea Monster: An Acorn Book (Mermaid Days #2)

Kyle Lukoff - Scholastic Inc.
Format: Paperback

Vera and Beaker explore the ocean, in this series perfect for beginning readers!Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snarky Sharky (Early Bird Readers ? Green (Early Bird Stories ™))

Lou Treleaven - Lerner Publications ™
Format: Library Binding

Snarky Sharky is snappy and grumpy. Luckily, Snarky's friends keep trying to brighten her day. This story about a shark and her dreaded mornings introduces young children to reading.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Famously Funny Parrott: Four Tales from the Bird Himself

Eric Daniel Weiner - Delacorte Press
Format: Hardcover

From the co-creator of the hit children's show, Dora the Explorer, comes a hilarious and timeless collection of stories about the friendship between Freddie Parrott and his loyal butler, Peccary.Ride through Rubberwick in your Rolly Royce with Freddie and Peccary! This story collection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marya Khan and the Fabulous Jasmine Garden (Marya Khan #2)

Saadia Faruqi - Amulet Books
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Ivy & Bean and Dory Fantasmagory, this charming new chapter book series by the author of the successful Yasmin series follows a Pakistani-American third-grader whose plans may backfire but whose persistence and heart are inspiring. Marya's school is creating a community...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mossy and Tweed: Crazy for Coconuts (I Like to Read Comics)

Mirka Hokkanen - Holiday House
Format: Hardcover

Two clueless gnomes on a quest to crack a coconut make one blooper after another in this over-the-top funny early graphic novel series.Mossy and Tweed enjoy a perfect day in the Gnome Woods. The air is crisp, their gardens are growing, and the next-door neighbors have a good-natured argument...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Race to the Finish (5) (Arcade World)

Nate Bitt - Little Simon
Format: Hardcover

Travis, Journey, and Devonte face off against each other for the first time in the fifth book in the Arcade World graphic novel chapter book series.When the game Race to the Finish pits players directly against each other, Travis, Journey, and Devonte speed through multiple tracks hoping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to the Island (1) (Isla of Adventure)

Dela Costa - Little Simon
Format: Hardcover

Meet the ever-curious Isla Verde, a young girl with a secret - she can speak with animals - in the first book of an all-new chapter book series!Welcome to the adventurous island of Sol! For eight-year-old Isla Verde, Sol is the perfect place to live. The sun shines bright, the markets brim...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cookie Monsters

Erika J. Kendrick - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A fun, fast-paced novel about friendship, family, fighting for what's right, and standing out from the crowd while standing up for yourself. Twelve-year-old Brooklyn Ace is ready to take the Valentine World Scouts by storm and build her own cookie empire. She nearly won the top cookie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heart Finds

Jaime Berry - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A heartwarming novel about a girl who must learn to let go of the past and embrace the future, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Barbara O'Connor.Eleven-year-old Mabel Cunningham is a quiet loner who only feels free to be herself when she's "extreme treasure hunting"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hex Allen: and The Clanksmiths

Jasmine Florentine - ?The Innovation Press
Format: Hardcover

STEM meets magic in this new middle grade adventure series from an MIT graduate. Hex Allen can't do magic - a huge problem when everything from lights to locks is powered by simple spells that everyone (save a few unfortunate "Undevelopeds") can do. After years of feeling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Princess of the Wild Sea

Megan Frazer Blakemore - Bloomsbury Children's Books
Format: Hardcover

A curse will fall . . . A hero will rise . . . Princess Harbor Rose is cursed. Since the day of her christening, she's lived her whole life hidden on a remote island with her magical aunts and the eccentric islandfolk. And now it is only one year until thirteenth birthday, when a hero...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to Feral (Frights from Feral)

Mark Fearing - Holiday House
Format: Paperback

How many kids will go missing before this town admits it's haunted? Find out in this freakily fun new graphic novel series!Feral has everything a small town should have: Main Street, City Hall, a population just over sixteen thousand . . . But Feral also has secrets. Mysteries. Unexplained...
Read More check catalog