Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Orwell's Nose: A Pathological Biography

John Sutherland · Reaktion Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

In 2012 writer John Sutherland permanently lost his sense of smell. At about the same time, he embarked on a rereading of George Orwell and - still coping with his recent disability - noticed something peculiar: Orwell was positively obsessed with smell. In this original, irreverent biography,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Such Good Girls: The Journey of the Holocaust's Hidden Child Survivors

R. D. Rosen · Harper; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The story of the generation of hidden child survivors told through the true experiences of three Jewish girls—from Poland, Holland, and France—who transcended their traumatic childhoods to lead remarkable lives in America.Only one in ten Jewish children in Europe survived the Holocaust,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adventures of a Female Medical Detective: In Pursuit of Smallpox and AIDS

Mary E Guinan · Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 123
Format: Print book

In 1974, a young doctor arrived at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with one goal in mind: to help eradicate smallpox. The only woman physician in her class in the Epidemic Intelligence Service, a two-year epidemiology training program, Mary Guinan soon was selected to join...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and Writing

Jennifer Weiner · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Book

"I'm mad Jennifer Weiner's first book of essays is as wonderful as her fiction. You will love this book and wish she was your friend." - Mindy Kaling, author of Why Not Me? "A fiercely funny, powerfully smart, and remarkably brave book. I was spellbound from the first page...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tell Me Everything You Don't Remember: The Stroke That Changed My Life

Christine Hyung-Oak Lee · Ecco
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

A memoir of reinvention after a stroke at thirty-three, based on the author's viral Buzzfeed essayChristine Hyung-Oak Lee woke up with a headache on New Year's Eve 2006. By that afternoon, she saw the world - quite literally - upside down. By New Year's Day, she was unable to form...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War

Ben Macintyre · Crown
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

The incredible untold story of WWII's greatest secret fighting force, as told by our great modern master of wartime intrigue Britain's Special Air Service - or SAS - was the brainchild of David Stirling, a young, gadabout aristocrat whose aimlessness in early life belied a remarkable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

H.D.S. Greenway · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated. He was in the jungles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Saint: The Life of Elizabeth Seton

Joan Barthel · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 293
Format: Hardcover

In this riveting biography of Elizabeth Seton critically acclaimed and bestselling author Joan Barthel tells the mesmerizing story of a woman whose life featured wealth and poverty, passion and sorrow, love and loss. Elizabeth was born into a prominent New York City family in 1774. Her father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Victoria: The Queen: An Intimate Biography of the Woman Who Ruled an Empire

Julia Baird · Random House
Pages: 696
Format: Print book

This page-turning biography reveals the real woman behind the myth: a bold, glamorous, unbreakable queen - a Victoria for our times. Drawing on previously unpublished papers, this stunning new portrait is a story of love and heartbreak, of devotion and grief, of strength and resilience."Victoria...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American General: The Life and Times of William Tecumseh Sherman

John S.D. Eisenhower · NAL Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

From respected historian John S. D. Eisenhower comes a surprising portrait of William Tecumseh Sherman, the Civil War general whose path of destruction cut the Confederacy in two, broke the will of the Southern population, and earned him a place in history as "the first modern general."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hotel Florida: Truth, Love, and Death in the Spanish Civil War

Amanda Vaill · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

A spellbinding story of love amid the devastation of the Spanish Civil WarMadrid, 1936. In a city blasted by a civil war that many fear will cross borders and engulf Europe -- a conflict one writer will call "the decisive thing of the century" -- six people meet and find their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sally Ride: America's First Woman in Space

Lynn Sherr · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 374
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of Sally Ride, America's first woman in space, with exclusive insights from Ride's family and partner, by the ABC reporter who covered NASA during its transformation from a test-pilot boys' club to a more inclusive elite.Sally Ride made history as the first American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
George Marshall: A Biography

Debi Unger · Harper; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

A major historical biography of George C. Marshall—the general who ran the U.S. campaign during the Second World War, the Secretary of State who oversaw the successful rebuilding of post-war Europe, and the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize—and the first to offer a complete picture of his life.While...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Over the Place: Adventures in Travel, True Love, and Petty Theft

Geraldine DeRuiter · PublicAffairs
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Most travel memoirs involve a button-nosed protagonist nursing a broken heart who, rather than tearfully watching The Princess Bride while eating an entire 5-gallon vat of ice cream directly out of the container (like a normal person) , instead decides to travel the world, inevitably...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Down City: A Daughter's Story of Love, Memory, and Murder

Leah Carroll · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 228
Format: Hardcover

Like James Ellroy's, My Dark Places, DOWN CITY is a gripping narrative built of memory and reportage, and Leah Carroll's portrait of Rhode Island is sure to take a place next Mary Karr's portrayal of her childhood in East Texas and David Simon's gritty Baltimore. Leah Carroll's mother,...
Read More check catalog