Back Health, Mind & Body | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
The Happy Sleeper: The Science-Backed Guide to Helping Your Baby Get a Good Night's Sleep-Newborn t o School Age

Julie Wright MFT - Tarcher
Format: Print book

Many parents feel pressured to train babies and young children to sleep but kids dont need to be trained to sleep, theyre built to sleep. Sleep issues arise when parents with the best of intentions over-help or helicopter parent at nightovershadowing their babys innate biological ability...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay True: A Memoir

Hua Hsu - ?Doubleday
Format: Hardcover

From the New Yorker staff writer Hua Hsu, a gripping memoir on friendship, grief, the search for self, and the solace that can be found through art.In the eyes of eighteen-year-old Hua Hsu, the problem with Ken - with his passion for Dave Matthews, Abercrombie & Fitch, and his fraternity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deliberate Calm: How to Learn and Lead in a Volatile World

Jacqueline Brassey - HarperAudio
Format: Audiobook

A trio of McKinsey & Company veterans draws from a unique combination of psychology, neuroscience, and consciousness practices plus a combined 50-plus years of international board room experience to offer a unique approach to learning and leading with awareness and intentional choice, even...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fortify Your Life: Your Guide to Vitamins, Minerals, and More

Tieraona Low Dog - National Geographic
Format: Print book

Health-conscious consumers read nutritional labels, but it's nearly impossible to get the nutrients we need with diet alone. To get the USDA-recommended daily quota of vitamin D, for example, you need to eat 15 eggs or 26 sardines; of iron, 414 almonds or 15 cups of broccoli. So we rely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The AFib Cure: Get Off Your Medications, Take Control of Your Health, and Add Years to Your Life

John D. Day - BenBella Books
Format: Paperback

Most doctors will tell you that there isn't much you can do to treat atrial fibrillation, aside from taking medications for the rest of your life. Cardiologists and a-fib specialists John D. Day and T. Jared Bunch disagree. Atrial fibrillation strikes one in four American adults. Not only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution: A doctor's guide to: relieving hot flashes, enjoying better sex, sleeping well, controlling your weight, and being happy!

Stephanie S. Faubion - Oxmoor House
Format: Hardcover

Confront menopause symptoms such as weight gain, mood swings, and low sex drive with clear advice from a trusted source.Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution is the definitive guide to making your life change a positive one. Drawing on the latest information, leading women's health expert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
AIDS Sourcebook, 7th Ed.

Not Available - Omnigraphics, Inc.
Format: Library Binding

Health information about HIV and AIDS, including information about the stages of the disease and how it is transmitted, prevention guidelines, treatment options, and tips for living with AIDS. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Place to Work: The Art and Science of Creating an Extraordinary Workplace

Ron Friedman PhD - Perigee Books
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence.Why do successful companies reward failure What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace How do you design an office that enhances...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Patient: The Essential Guide to Navigating the World of Modern Medicine

Sana Goldberg - Harper Wave
Format: Paperback

From registered nurse and public health advocate Sana Goldberg, RN, a timely, accessible, and comprehensive handbook to navigating common medical situations. From the routine to the unexpected, How to Be a Patient is your ultimate guide to better healthcare.Did you know that patients have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mayo Clinic Diet, 3rd edition: Reshape your life with science-based habits

Donald D. Hensrud M.D. - Mayo Clinic Press
Format: Hardcover

Eat well. Enjoy life. Lose weight! Now in its third edition, The Mayo Clinic Diet is a practical, no-nonsense approach to weight loss. Designed to help individuals lose weight and, most importantly, keep it off, The Mayo Clinic Diet, 3rd edition, offers expert advice to help you kick-start...
Read More check catalog