Back Health, Mind & Body | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Health, Mind & Body  
Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution: A doctor's guide to: relieving hot flashes, enjoying better sex, sleeping well, controlling your weight, and being happy!

Stephanie S. Faubion · Oxmoor House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Confront menopause symptoms such as weight gain, mood swings, and low sex drive with clear advice from a trusted source.Mayo Clinic The Menopause Solution is the definitive guide to making your life change a positive one. Drawing on the latest information, leading women's health expert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dr. Mutter's Marvels: A True Tale of Intrigue and Innovation at the Dawn of Modern Medicine

Cristin O'Keefe Aptowicz · Gotham Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

A mesmerizing biography of the brilliant and eccentric medical innovator who revolutionized American surgery and founded the country's most famous museum of medical oddities Imagine undergoing an operation without anesthesia performed by a surgeon who refuses to sterilize his tools...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Co-creating at Its Best: A Conversation Between Master Teachers

Esther Hicks · Hay House, Inc.
Format: Hardcover

What happens when you bring together one of the most inspirational spiritual teachers of all time and the Master Sages of the Universe? A magical, insightful, invigorating encounter you will never forget!      In this awe-inspiring book based on a live event in Anaheim, California,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Southern Folk Medicine: Healing Traditions from the Appalachian Fields and Forests

Phyllis D Light · North Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

This book is the first to describe the history, folklore, assessment methods, and remedies of Southern and Appalachian Folk Medicine - the only system of folk medicine, other than Native American, that developed in the United States. One of the system's last active practitioners, Phyllis...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Metabolism Revolution: Lose 14 Pounds in 14 Days and Keep It Off for Life

Haylie Pomroy · Harper Wave
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Lose 14 pounds in 14 days - harness the power of food to reset your metabolism for good with this breakthrough program complete with recipes and a detailed, easy-to-use diet plan from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fast Metabolism Diet.The diet industry has been plagued...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barron's MCAT, 3rd Edition

Jay B. Cutts M.A. · Barron's Educational Series
Pages: 1128
Format: Paperback

Completely revised and expanded for the current MCAT, the new Barron's MCAT test prep manual provides test takers with an in-depth, easy-to-use science review and a set of often-neglected but critical strategies for test taking that cover timing, test anxiety, scientific problem solving,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fantastic Laboratory of Dr. Weigl: How Two Brave Scientists Battled Typhus and Sabotaged the Nazis

Arthur Allen · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

From a laboratory in wartime Poland comes a fascinating story of anti-Nazi resistance and scientific ingenuity. Few diseases are more gruesome than typhus. Transmitted by body lice, it afflicts the dispossessed -- refugees, soldiers, and ghettoized peoples -- causing hallucinations, terrible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Always Hungry?: Conquer Cravings, Retrain Your Fat Cells, and Lose Weight Permanently

David Ludwig · Grand Central Life & Style
Pages: 384
Format: eBook

Leading Harvard Medical School expert and "obesity warrior" (TIME magazine) rewrites the rules on weight loss, diet, and health.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stop & Drop Diet: Lose up to 5 lbs in 5 days

Liz Vaccariello · The Reader's Digest Association, Inc.
Pages: 308
Format: Print book

New York Times best-selling author and Reader's Digest editor-in-chief Liz Vaccariello presents the easiest diet ever, offering quick and easy meals you can find or make anywhere you go using your favorite everyday brand-name foods - so you can drop up to a pound a day!Want to drop up to a pound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of a Coroner: Lessons in Investigating Death

John Bateson · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Dr. Judy Melinek's Working Stiff, an account of the hair-raising and heartbreaking cases handled by the coroner of Marin County, California throughout his four decades on the job - from high-profile deaths to serial killers, to Golden Gate Bridge suicides.Marin County, California...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Burst! Workout: The Power of 10-Minute Interval Training

Sean Foy M.A. · Workman Publishing Company

Here from Sean Foyexercise physiologist and coauthor of the million-copy bestseller The Daniel Planis The Burst! Workout, a complete program for 10-minute interval and circuit workouts that can be done practically anywhere, anytime. Study after study proves the effectiveness of high-intensity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Stitch of Time: The Year a Brain Injury Changed My Language and Life

Lauren Marks · Simon and Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

For fans of Brain on Fire and My Stroke of Insight, an incredible first-person account of one woman's journey to regaining her language and identity after a brain aneurysm affects her ability to communicate.Lauren Marks was twenty-seven, touring a show in Scotland with her friends,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healing Children: A Surgeon's Stories from the Frontiers of Pediatric Medicine

KURT M D NEWMAN · Viking
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande."If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mind hacking : a revolutionary program to change your mind for good

John Hargrave · Gallery Books, An Imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc.
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Have you ever wished you could reprogram your brain, just as a hacker would a computer? In this 3-step guide to improving your mental habits, learn to take charge of your mind and banish negative thoughts, habits, and anxiety - in just 21 days!A seasoned author, comedian, and entrepreneur,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Conclusion, Don't Worry About It

LAUREN GRAHAM · Ballantine Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

Advice for graduates and reflections on staying true to yourself from the beloved Gilmore Girls actress and New York Times bestselling author of the memoir Talking as Fast as I Can and the novel Someday, Someday, Maybe. "If you're not where you want to be on this day - don't worry...
Read More check catalog