Back Science | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Retreat from a Rising Sea: Hard Choices in an Age of Climate Change

Orrin H Pilkey · Columbia University Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

With its 28-foot storm surge and 174 mph winds, 2005's Hurricane Katrina was responsible for nearly 2,000 deaths and more than $100 billion in damage. The event was only a preview of what will soon hit coastal communities as climate change increases the power of storms that can lay waste...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Are We Waiting?: The Logic, Urgency, and Promise of Tackling Climate Change

Nicholas Stern · Mit Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The risks of climate change are potentially immense. The benefits of taking action are also clear: we can see that economic development, reduced emissions, and creative adaptation go hand in hand. A committed and strong low-carbon transition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beasts: What Animals Can Teach Us About the Origins of Good and Evil

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson · Bloomsbury
Pages: 213
Format: Print book

In his previous bestsellers, Masson has showed us that animals can teach us much about our own emotions -- love (dogs) , contentment (cats) , and grief (elephants) , among others. In Beasts, he demonstrates that the violence we perceive in the "wild" is a matter of projection.Animals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Uncharted: Big Data as a Lens on Human Culture

Erez Aiden
Format: Book

?One of the most exciting developments from the world of ideas in decades, presented with panache by two frighteningly brilliant, endearingly unpretentious, and endlessly creative young scientists.” ? Steven Pinker, author of The Better Angels of Our Nature Our society has gone from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time Travel

James Gleick · Pantheon Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From the acclaimed author of The Information and Chaos, here is a mind-bending exploration of time travel: its subversive origins, its evolution in literature and science, and its influence on our understanding of time itself. The story begins at the turn of the previous century, with the young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret Life of the Mind: How Your Brain Thinks, Feels, and Decides

MARIANO SIGMAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From a world-renowned leader in neuroscience, a provocative, enthralling journey into the depths of the human mind.Where do our thoughts come from? How do we make choices and trust our judgments? What is the role of the unconscious? Can we manipulate our dreams? In this mind-bending international...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Paul Rosolie · Harper,
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Unknown: Seven Journeys to the Frontiers of Science

Marcus du Sautoy · Viking
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

"Brilliant and fascinating. No one is better at making the recondite accessible and exciting." - Bill Bryson A captivating journey to the outer reaches of human knowledgeEver since the dawn of civilization we have been driven by a desire to know - to understand the physical world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Atomic Accidents: A History of Nuclear Meltdowns and Disasters: From the Ozark Mountains to Fukushima

James Mahaffey · Pegasus Books
Pages: 442
Format: Hardcover

A gripping narrative of nuclear mishaps and meltdowns around the globe, all of which have proven pivotal to the advancement of nuclear science.From the moment radiation was discovered in the late nineteenth century, nuclear science has had a rich history of innovative scientific exploration...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rare Birds of North America

Steve N. G. Howell · Princeton University Press
Pages: 428
Format: Hardcover

Rare Birds of North America is the first comprehensive illustrated guide to the vagrant birds that occur throughout the United States and Canada. Featuring 275 stunning color plates, this book covers 262 species originating from three very different regions--the Old World, the New World...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Serpent's Promise: The Bible Interpreted Through Modern Science

Steve Jones · Pegasus; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed geneticist Steve Jones, the story of the Bible as told through the lens of modern science. In The Serpent's Promise, Steve Jones retells many of the Biblical tales in the light of modern science. Are we all descended from a real-life Adam and Eve? Are some—or all—of...
Read More check catalog