Back Mystery & Thrillers | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Beautiful Days: Stories

JOYCE CAROL OATES - Ecco
Format: Book

The diverse stories of Beautiful Days, Joyce Carol Oates explore the most secret, intimate, and unacknowledged interior lives of characters not unlike ourselves, who assert their independence in acts of bold and often irrevocable defiance. "Fleuve Bleu" exemplifies the rich...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Coldest Warrior: A Novel

Paul Vidich - Pegasus Books
Format: Hardcover

The new novel by acclaimed espionage author Paul Vidich explores the dark side of intelligence, when a CIA officer delves into a cold case from the 1950s -- with fatal consequences. In 1953, at the end of the Korean War, Dr. Charles Wilson, an Army bio-weapons scientist, died when he "jumped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Mr. M: A Novel

Herman Koch - Hogarth
Format: Print book

Once a celebrated writer, M had his greatest success with a suspense novel based on a real-life disappearance: a history teacher who went missing one winter after having a brief affair with a beautiful student of his. The teacher was never found. Upon publication, M's novel was a runaway...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death at the Manor (LILY ADLER MYSTERY, A Book 3)

KATHARINE SCHELLMAN - Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

The tortured spirits of the dead haunt a Regency-era English manor - but the true danger lies in the land of the living in the third installment in the Lily Adler mysteries, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn.Regency widow Lily Adler is looking forward to spending the autumn away from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in a Darkening Mist

Iona Whishaw - TouchWood Editions
Format: Paperback

On a snowy day in December 1946, Lane Winslow - a former British intelligence agent who's escaped to the rural Canadian community of King's Cove in pursuit of a tranquil life - is introduced to the local hot springs. While there, she is astonished to overhear nearby patrons speaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grist Mill Road: A Novel

Christopher J Yates - Picador
Format: Book

Christopher J. Yates's cult hit Black Chalk introduced that rare writerly talent: a literary writer who could write a plot with the intricacy of a brilliant mental puzzle, and with characters so absorbing that readers are immediately gripped. Yates's new book does not disappoint.Grist...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jealousy Man and Other Stories

Jo Nesbo
Format: Hardcover

Jo Nesb is the consummate mystery writer, and his talent for hair-raising suspense and shocking twists are on full display in this inventive and harrowing collection of stories. A detective with a nose for jealousy is on the trail of a man suspected of murdering his twin; a woman finally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Raspberry Danish Murder

JOANNE FLUKE - Kensington
Format: Book

Hannah has felt as bitter as November in Minnesota since Ross vanished without a trace and left their marriage in limbo. Still, she throws herself into a baking frenzy for the sake of pumpkin pie and Thanksgiving-themed treats while endless holiday orders pour into The Cookie Jar. Hannah...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Typhoon Fury

CLIVE CUSSLER - G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon sail into a perfect storm of danger to try to stop a new world war, in a thrilling suspense novel from the #1 New York Times-bestselling grand master of adventure. Hired to search for a collection of paintings worth half a billion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Gold Buys: A Silver Rush Mystery

Ann Parker - Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Hardcover

Autumn 1880 in the Rocky Mountains brings frost, snow, and the return of Silver Queen Saloon owner Inez Stannert to Leadville, Colorado.In this silver rush boomtown, those who are hungry for material riches seek their fortunes in precious metals. Others, hungry for spiritual relief, seek...
Read More check catalog