Back Biographies & Memoirs | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Almost Gone: Twenty Days and One Chance to Save Our Daughter

John Baldwin · Howard Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

This is the never-before-told, riveting true story about a teenage Christian girl who was seduced online by a charming young Muslim man from Kosovo, and her father who ultimately worked with the FBI to save her from disappearing forever.The Baldwins were a strong Christian family, living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nicholas and Alexandra

Robert K Massie · Ballantine Books
Pages: 613
Format: Paperback

The story of the love that ended an empireIn this commanding book, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Robert K. Massie sweeps readers back to the extraordinary world of Imperial Russia to tell the story of the Romanovs' lives: Nicholas's political naïveté, Alexandra's obsession with the corrupt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pure Heart: A Spirited Tale of Grace, Grit, and Whiskey

Troylyn Ball · Dey Street
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Troylyn Ball and her husband, Charlie, an engineer and real estate investor, had spent their entire lives in Texas. But after a near fatal trip to the emergency room with their mute, wheelchair-bound son Coulton, they admitted the dust and the heat were too dangerous. To save their boys,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Sheriff in Texas: A True Tale of Violence and the Vote

JIM MCCOLLOM · Counterpoint
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A timely and sharply observed examination of a changing America through one small town election Beeville, Texas, was the most American of small towns -- the place that GIs had fantasized about while fighting through the ruins of Europe, a place of good schools, clean streets, and churches....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Will Find You: A Reporter Investigates the Life of the Man Who Raped Her

Joanna Connors · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

"This is it. My rape. I knew it was coming. Every woman knows. And now here it is. My turn."When Joanna Connors was thirty years old on assignment for the Cleveland Plain Dealer to review a play at a college theater, she was held at knife point and raped by a stranger who had grown...
Read More check catalog
 
 
From Here to Eternity: Traveling the World to Find the Good Death

Caitlin Doughty · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

The best-selling author of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with "dignity."Fascinated by our pervasive fear of dead bodies, mortician Caitlin Doughty set out to discover how other cultures care for the dead. From Here to Eternity is an immersive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Somebody to Love: The Life, Death and Legacy of Freddie Mercury

Matt Richards · Blue Streak
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

For the first time, the final years of one of the world's most captivating rock showman are laid bare. Including interviews from Freddie Mercury's closest friends in the last years of his life, along with personal photographs, Somebody to Love is an authoritative biography of the great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Playing Hurt: My Journey from Despair to Hope

John Saunders · Da Capo Press
Pages: 328
Format: Hardcover

In Playing Hurt, a leading figure in the sports world-the quintessential "man's man," who seems to have it all-confesses his constant battle with depression. John Saunders welcomes readers into the heart of his desperate struggle through insights into the root causes of depression...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kill Jar: Obsession, Descent, and a Hunt for Detroit's Most Notorious Serial Killer

J REUBEN APPELMAN · Gallery Books
Pages: 288
Format: eBook

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shooting of Nancy Howard: A Journey Back to Shore

Alice Mathews · Dog Ear Publishing, LLC
Pages: 138
Format: Paperback

The Shooting of Nancy Howard: A Journey back to Shore combines love, betrayal, conspiracy, suffering, and survival with a cast of improbable characters: a respected church-going husband and his mistress, a group of colorful criminals in East Texas, and a millionaire businessman. The story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walk Through Walls: A Memoir

Marina Abramovic · Crown
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

"I had experienced absolute freedom - I had felt that my body was without boundaries, limitless; that pain didn't matter, that nothing mattered at all - and it intoxicated me."In 2010, more than 750,000 people stood in line at Marina Abramović's MoMA retrospective for the chance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Iris Apfel: Accidental Icon

Iris Apfel · Harper Design
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

"Iris is one of my favorite subjects to photograph. She has four eyes in front and two eyes behind, and that's why she can see things in a round-about way. She flirts with us just enough to make us fall madly in love with her, as she once did to her beloved husband Carl. In the midst...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Headlong into fury : a WWII pilot's riveting story of rescue and redemption

Ron White · Plain Sight Publishing
Pages: 213
Format: Print book

The true story of WWII veteran Frank Kirkland, who dreamed about serving his country as a fighter pilot but was instead assigned as a bomber pilot, where the dangerous flying conditions proved to be less glamorous and more deadly.
Read More check catalog