Back All Non-Fiction | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Blue Corn And Chocolate

Elisabeth Rozin · Knopf
Pages: 297
Format: Hardcover

How many of us still believe that the potato originated in Ireland? That the Mediterranean, and particularly Italy, is the ancestral hearth of the tomato and its tradition of savory sauces? That the fiery chile pepper is an ancient and enduring part of the cuisines of India and Southeast...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Self-Publishing and Collection Development: Opportunities and Challenges for Libraries

Robert P Holley · Purdue University Press
Pages: 170
Format: eBook

The current publishing environment has experienced a drastic change in the way content is created, delivered, and acquired, particularly for libraries. With the increasing importance of digital publishing, more than half the titles published in the United States are self-published. With...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amish Community Cookbook: Simply Delicious Recipes from Amish and Mennonite Homes

Editors of Fox Chapel Publishing · Fox Chapel Publishing
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Discover real comfort food with these authentic country recipes. Filled with favorite recipes gathered from Amish cooks across the United States and Canada, Amish Community Cookbook will have you preparing delicious, down-to-earth dishes your family will request again and again. The Amish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Power of Broke: How Empty Pockets, a Tight Budget, and a Hunger for Success Can Become Your Greatest Competitive Advantage

Daymond John · Crown Business
Pages: 269
Format: Print book

The instant New York Times bestseller from Shark Tank star and Fubu Founder Daymond John on why starting a business on a limited budget can be an entrepreneur's greatest competitive advantage, showing how brands, companies, and start-ups can leverage the power of broke to achieve success,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
George Washington: The Wonder of the Age

John H Rhodehamel · Yale University Press
Pages: 353
Format: Print book

A much-needed concise biography of America's first president As editor of the award-winning Library of America collection of George Washington's writings and a curator of the great man's original papers, John Rhodehamel has established himself as an authority of our nation's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America

Nancy Isenberg · Viking
Pages: 460
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestseller"Formidable and truth-dealing...necessary." -The New York Times"With the election looming, this eye-opening investigation into our country's entrenched social hierarchy is acutely relevant." -O Magazine In her groundbreaking bestselling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor

Clinton Romesha · Dutton Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The only comprehensive, firsthand account of the fourteen hour firefight at the Battle of Keating by Medal of Honor recipient Clinton Romesha, for readers of "Black Hawk Down "by Mark Bowden and "Lone Survivor" by Marcus Luttrell. "'It doesn't get better. ' To us, that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Life Project: The Extraordinary Story of 70,000 Ordinary Lives

Helen Pearson · Soft Skull Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

In March 1946, scientists began to track thousands of children born in one cold week. No one imagined that this would become the longest-running study of human development in the world, growing to encompass five generations of children. Today, they are some of the best-studied people on the planet,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Jessa Crispin · Touchstone
Pages: 327
Format: Print book

A hip, accessible, and practical guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration in the tradition of The Secret Language of Birthdays and Steal Like an Artist.What if the path to creativity was not as challenging as everyone thinks? What if you could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jewels of Queen Elizabeth II: Her Personal Collection

Leslie Field · Harry N Abrams; Rev Sub edition
Pages: 120
Format: Paperback

In 1987 Abrams published The Queen's Jewels to tremendous praise and acclaim. Now author Leslie Field has created this revised, updated, and concise paperback edition, again with the full cooperation of Buckingham Palace. Field's access to the Royal Archives provides an unparalleled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trials and Triumphs of Golf's Greatest Champions: A Legacy of Hope

Lyle A Slovick · ROWMAN & LITTLEFIELD
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Golf can be a vexing and cruel game, and teaches us much about ourselves. It has been described as "a contest calling for courage, skill, strategy and self-control. It is a test of temper, a trial of honor, a revealer of character." In the end, as with most of life, success hinges...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Split the Difference: Negotiating As If Your Life Depended On It

Christopher Voss · Harperbusiness
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A former international hostage negotiator for the FBI offers a new, field-tested approach to high-stakes negotiations - whether in the boardroom or at home.After a stint policing the rough streets of Kansas City, Missouri, Chris Voss joined the FBI, where his career as a hostage negotiator...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Master Thieves: The Boston Gangsters Who Pulled Off the World’s Greatest Art Heist

Stephen Kurkjian · PublicAffairs
Format: Hardcover

The definitive story of the greatest art theft in history.In a secret meeting in 1981, a low-level Boston thief gave career gangster Ralph Rossetti the tip of a lifetime: the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum was a big score waiting to happen. Though its collections included priceless artworks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mountain Lines: A Journey through the French Alps

Jonathan Arlan · W W Norton
Pages: 264
Format: Print book

A nonfiction debut about an American's solo, month-long, 400-mile walk from Lake Geneva to Nice.In the summer of 2015, Jonathan Arlan was nearing thirty. Restless, bored, and daydreaming of adventure, he comes across an image on the Internet one day: a map of the southeast corner of France...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lewis Carroll: The Man and his Circle

Edward Wakeling · I. B. Tauris; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

This new biography of Carroll by leading international authority, Edward Wakeling, presents a fresh appraisal of the man based upon his social circle. Contrary to the claims of many previous authors, Carroll's circle was not child centered: his correspondence was enormous, numbering...
Read More check catalog