Back Psychology & Philosophy | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
The Family Gene: A Mission to Turn My Deadly Inheritance Into a Hopeful Future

Joselin Linder - Ecco
Format: Print book

A riveting medical mystery about a young woman's quest to uncover the truth about her likely fatal genetic disorder that opens a window onto the exploding field of genomic medicineWhen Joselin Linder was in her twenties her legs suddenly started to swell. After years of misdiagnoses, doctors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Civil Wars: A History in Ideas

David Armitage - Alfred A Knopf
Format: Print book

A highly original history, tracing the least understood and most intractable form of organized human aggression from Ancient Rome through the centuries to the present day. We think we know civil war when we see it. Yet ideas of what it is, and what it isn't, have a long and contested history,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dyslexia Empowerment Plan: A Blueprint for Renewing Your Childs Confidence and Love of Learning

Ben Foss - Random House Audio
Format: Hardcover

Finally, a groundbreaking book that reveals what your dyslexic child is experiencing - and what you can do so that he or she will thrive. More than 30 million people in the United States are dyslexic - a brain-based genetic trait, often labeled as a "learning disability" or "learning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Win Bigly: Persuasion in a World Where Facts Don't Matter

SCOTT ADAMS - Portfolio
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of Dilbert, an unflinching look at the strategies Donald Trump used to persuade voters to elect the most unconventional candidate in the history of the presidency, and how anyone can learn his methods for succeeding against long odds. Scott Adams - a trained hypnotist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog

Patricia B McConnell - Atria Books
Format: Print book

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.World-renowned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beautiful Trauma: An Explosion, an Obsession, and a New Lease on Life

Rebecca Fogg - Avery
Format: Hardcover

A compelling account of surviving a freak accident, and a fascinating exploration of the science of trauma and recovery.. Late one night, while Rebecca Fogg was alone in her apartment, her hand was partially amputated in an explosion. Quick thinking saved her life, but the journey to recovery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Happiness Philosophers: The Lives and Works of the Great Utilitarians

Bart Schultz - Princeton University Press
Format: Hardcover

A colorful history of utilitarianism told through the lives and ideas of Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, and its other foundersIn The Happiness Philosophers, Bart Schultz tells the colorful story of the lives and legacies of the founders of utilitarianism--one of the most influential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Skin in the Game: Hidden Asymmetries in Daily Life

Nassim Nicholas Taleb - Random House
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Black Swan, a bold new work that challenges many of our long-held beliefs about risk and reward, politics and religion, finance and personal responsibility In his most provocative and practical book yet, one of the foremost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Misdiagnosis: Surviving My Mother's Suicide

GAYLE BRANDEIS - Beacon Press
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning novelist and poet Gayle Brandeis's wrenching memoir of her complicated family history and her mother's suicideGayle Brandeis's mother disappeared just after Gayle gave birth to her youngest child. Several days later, her body was found: she had hanged herself in the utility...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941

STEPHEN KOTKIN - Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

Pulitzer Prize-finalist Stephen Kotkin has written the definitive biography of Joseph Stalin, from collectivization and the Great Terror to the conflict with Hitler's Germany that is the signal event of modern world history In 1929, Joseph Stalin, having already achieved dictatorial power...
Read More check catalog