Back Science | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Endurance: My Year in Space and Our Journey to Mars

Scott Kelly · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A stunning memoir from the astronaut who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station--a candid account of his remarkable voyage, of the journeys off the planet that preceded it, and of his colorful formative years.The veteran of four space flights and the American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity

Catherine Herbert Howell · National Geographic Soc
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From the heart of National Geographic comes this expansive guide to the clans, tribes, ethnicities, and peoples of the world. Organized in keeping with our knowledge of the migration of human groups through history, with statistics and a cultural portrait of each ethnic group, the book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life in Code: A Personal History of Technology

ELLEN ULLMAN · MCD
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The never-more-necessary return of one of our most vital and eloquent voices on technology and culture, the author of the seminal Close to the MachineThe last twenty years have brought us the rise of the internet, the development of artificial intelligence, the ubiquity of once unimaginably...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River of Consciousness

Oliver Sacks · Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of Gratitude, On the Move, and Musicophilia, a collection of essays that displays Oliver Sacks's passionate engagement with the most compelling and seminal ideas of human endeavor: evolution, creativity, memory, time, consciousness, and experience. Oliver Sacks,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Hole Blues and Other Songs from Outer Space

Janna Levin · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The authoritative story of the headline-making discovery of gravitational waves - by an eminent theoretical astrophysicist and award-winning writer.From the author of How the Universe Got Its Spots and A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines, the epic story of the scientific campaign to record...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Robert Sapolsky · Penguin Press
Pages: 790
Format: Hardcover

"It's no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I've ever read." - David P. Barash, The Wall Street JournalFrom the celebrated neurobiologist and primatologist, a landmark, genre-defining examination of human behavior, both good and bad, and an answer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · William Morrow Paperbacks
Format: Paperback

Combing the curiosity of The Botany of Desire and the playful spirit of Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of botany and gardening memoir from the author of Paradise Under Glass—an easy-to-follow, anecdotal tutorial on the fascinating science of plants.In Paradise Under Glass,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pope of Physics: Enrico Fermi and the Birth of the Atomic Age

Gino Segre? · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 351
Format: Print book

Enrico Fermi is unquestionably among the greats of the world's physicists, the most famous Italian scientist since Galileo. Called the Pope by his peers, he was regarded as infallible in his instincts and research. His discoveries changed our world; they led to weapons of mass destruction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Skeptics' Guide to the Universe: How to Know What's Really Real in a World Increasingly Full of Fake

Steven Novella · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

An all-encompassing guide to skeptical thinking in the popular The Skeptics Guide to the Universe podcast's dryly humorous, accessible style, which Professor Richard Wiseman calls the "the perfect primer for anyone who wants to separate fact from fiction."It's intimidating to realize...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Benedict Carey · Random House
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today - and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10% Human: How Your Body's Microbes Hold the Key to Health and Happiness

Alanna Collen · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

You are just 10% human. For every one of the cells that make up the vessel that you call your body, there are nine impostor cells hitching a ride. You are not just flesh and blood, muscle and bone, brain and skin, but also bacteria and fungi. Over your lifetime, you will carry the equivalent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry

NEIL DEGRASSE TYSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 222
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times Bestseller: The essential universe, from our most celebrated and beloved astrophysicist.What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mathematics for the Trades

Robert A. Carman · Prentice Hall
Pages: 688
Format: Paperback

This book focuses on the fundamental concepts of arithmetic, algebra, geometry and trigonometry needed by learners in technical trade programs. A wealth of exercises and applications, coded by trade area, include such trades as machine tool, plumbing, carpentry, electrician, auto mechanic,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Brain: The Story of You

David Eagleman · Pantheon Books
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Locked in the silence and darkness of your skull, your brain fashions the rich narratives of your reality and your identity. Join renowned neuroscientist David Eagleman for a journey into the questions at the mysterious heart of our existence. What is reality? Who are "you"? How do you make...
Read More check catalog