Back Science | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Dataclysm: Who We Are

Christian Rudder · Crown
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times BestsellerAn audacious, irreverent investigation of human behavior—and a first look at a revolution in the making   Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we dont need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder uses it to show us who we truly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Visions of Infinity: The Great Mathematical Problems

Ian Stewart · Basic Books
Format: Hardcover

It is one of the wonders of mathematics that for every problem mathematicians solve another awaits to perplex and galvanize them Some of these problems are new while others have puzzled and bewitched thinkers across the ages Such challenges offer a tantalizing glimpse of the fields unlimited...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life

Ed Yong · Ecco
Pages: 357
Format: Print book

New York Times BestsellerNew York Times Notable Book of 2016NPR Great Read of 2016Economist Best Books of 2016Brain Pickings Best Science Books of 2016Smithsonian Best Books about Science of 2016Science Friday Best Science Book of 2016A Mother Jones Notable Read of 2016MPR Best Books of 2016Chicago...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Idiot Brain: What Your Head Is Really Up To

Dean Burnett · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A delightful tour of our mysterious, mischievous gray matter from neuroscientist and massively popular Guardian blogger Dean Burnett.The brain may be the seat of consciousness and the engine of all human experience, but it's also messy, fallible, and disorganized. For example, did you know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zika: The Emerging Epidemic

Donald G McNeil Jr. · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

A gripping narrative about the origins and spread of the Zika virus by New York Times science reporter Donald G. McNeil Jr.Until recently, Zika -- once considered a mild disease -- was hardly a cause for global panic. But as early as August 2015, doctors in northeast Brazil began to notice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Principles of Chemistry: Print Purchase Includes Free Online Access

Salem Press · Salem Press
Pages: 300
Format: Print book

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Read More check catalog
 
 
StarTalk: Everything You Ever Need to Know About Space Travel, Sci-Fi, the Human Race, the Universe, and Beyond

Neil Degrasse Tyson · National Geographic
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

This beautifully illustrated companion to celebrated scientist Neil deGrasse Tyson's popular podcast and National Geographic Channel TV show is an eye-opening journey for anyone curious about the complexities of our universe. For decades, beloved astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson has interpreted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking

Jordan Ellenberg · Penguin Group USA
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

The Freakonomics of math--a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our handsThe math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Benedict Carey · Random House
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today - and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rigor Mortis: How Sloppy Science Creates Worthless Cures, Crushes Hope, and Wastes Billions

Richard F Harris · Basic Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning science journalist pulls the alarm on the dysfunction plaguing scientific research--with lethal consequences for us all
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · William Morrow Paperbacks
Format: Paperback

Combing the curiosity of The Botany of Desire and the playful spirit of Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of botany and gardening memoir from the author of Paradise Under Glass—an easy-to-follow, anecdotal tutorial on the fascinating science of plants.In Paradise Under Glass,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Introduction to Heritage Breeds: Saving and Raising Rare-Breed Livestock and Poultry

D Phillip Sponenberg · Workman Pub Co
Pages: 239
Format: Hardcover

Heritage breeds matter, and they are often a better choice than conventional breeds for small farms and backyards. This eloquent, inviting, visual guide explains why conserving heritage breeds is important and shows you how you can raise these breeds yourself, helping to preserve them and benefiting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to the universe : an astrophysical tour

Neil deGrasse Tyson · Princeton University Press
Pages: 470
Format: Print book

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWelcome to the Universe is a personal guided tour of the cosmos by three of today's leading astrophysicists. Inspired by the enormously popular introductory astronomy course that Neil deGrasse Tyson, Michael A. Strauss, and J. Richard Gott taught together at Princeton,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lab Girl

Hope Jahren · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

A New York Times 2016 Notable BookNational Best SellerNamed one of TIME magazine's "100 Most Influential People"An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016A Washington Post Best Memoir of 2016A TIME and Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016 So Far An illuminating debut memoir of a woman...
Read More check catalog