Back Science | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Emperors of the Deep: Sharks--The Ocean's Most Mysterious, Most Misunderstood, and Most Important Guardians

William McKeever - HarperOne
Format: Hardcover

In this remarkable groundbreaking book, a documentarian and conservationist, determined to dispel misplaced fear and correct common misconceptions, explores in-depth the secret lives of sharks - magnificent creatures who play an integral part in maintaining the health of the world's oceans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Amy Shira Teitel - Grand Central Publishing
Format: Hardcover

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Calculating the Cosmos: How Mathematics Unveils the Universe

Ian Stewart - Basic Books
Format: Print book

In Calculating the Cosmos, Ian Stewart presents an exhilarating guide to the cosmos, from the solar system to the Galaxy and the entire universe. He describes the architecture of space and time, dark matter and dark energy, how galaxies form, why stars implode, how everything began,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Earth in Human Hands: The Rise of Terra Sapiens and Hope for Our Planet

David Grinspoon - Grand Central Pub
Format: Print book

For the first time in Earth's history, one species--humans--is knowingly altering our planet's evolution, exerting increasing influence and attempting stewardship. How we handle this juncture may very well determine the fate not just of our species, but of life, and the planet. Without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life

Ed Yong - Ecco
Format: Print book

New York Times BestsellerNew York Times Notable Book of 2016NPR Great Read of 2016Economist Best Books of 2016Brain Pickings Best Science Books of 2016Smithsonian Best Books about Science of 2016Science Friday Best Science Book of 2016A Mother Jones Notable Read of 2016MPR Best Books of 2016Chicago...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tropic of Serpents: A Memoir by Lady Trent (A Natural History of Dragons Book 2)

Marie Brennan - Tor Books
Format: Kindle Edition

Publishers Weekly01/27/2014 Brennan's sequel to A Natural History of Dragons is more of the samea literate account of a woman's fieldwork on dragons, which in this imagined 19th-century world are natural creatures. Isabella, Lady Trent, has even determined the six criteria for classifying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reality Is Not What It Seems: The Journey to Quantum Gravity

Carlo Rovelli - Riverhead Books
Format: Hardcover

"The man who makes physics sexy . . . the scientist they're calling the next Stephen Hawking." - The Times MagazineFrom the New York Times-bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, a closer look at the mind-bending nature of the universe.What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All

Michael Shellenberger - Harper
Format: Hardcover

Climate change is real but it's not the end of the world. It is not even our most serious environmental problem. Michael Shellenberger has been fighting for a greener planet for decades. He helped save the world's last unprotected redwoods. He co-created the predecessor to today's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Movies (And Other Things)

Shea Serrano - Twelve
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Shea Serrano is back, and his new book, Movies (And Other Things) , combines the fury of a John Wick shootout, the sly brilliance of Regina George holding court at a cafeteria table, and the sheer power of a Denzel monologue, all into one. Movies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rage of Innocence: How America Criminalizes Black Youth

Kristin Henning - Pantheon
Format: Hardcover

Drawing upon twenty-five years of experience representing Black youth in Washington, D.C.'s juvenile courts, Kristin Henning confronts America's irrational, manufactured fears of these young people and makes a powerfully compelling case that the crisis in racist American policing...
Read More check catalog