Back New Picture Books and Easy Readers | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Picture Books and Easy Readers  
A Fox Found a Box

Ged Adamson · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

When his radio breaks, a little fox finds that the forest is filled with its own rhythm and music--drip drops and chirp chirps--in this picture book that gently introduces the concept of mindfulness.A little fox is digging for food when--OUCH! What is that?--the fox finds a box! When the fox brings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chicken Break!: A Counting Book

Cate Berry · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Chicken Break, a children's picture book from writer Cate Berry and illustrator Charlotte Alder, is simple fun with some wild and crazy chickens ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Dog

Mike Boldt · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The differences between cats and dogs have never been funnier! In this hilarious new picture book from the illustrator of I Don't Want to Be a Frog, a little girl really, really wants a dog... but gets a cat instead!"Look what I got for my birthday! A pet dog!" says a little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snack Attack!

Terry Border · Philomel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of the popular world of Peanut Butter & Cupcake! comes a wry and witty story in which no snack is safe from the monster that is the Kid. Perfect for fans of Creepy Carrots and A Creepy Pair of Underwear.

They had been warned of the dangers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Buddy Bench

Patty Brozo · Tilbury House Publishers
Pages: 36
Format: Hardcover

Having seen what being left out is like, children become agents of change, convincing their teacher to let them build a buddy bench.A school playground can be a solitary place for a kid without playmates; in one survey, 80 percent of 8- to 10-year-old respondents described being lonely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hike

Alison Farrell · Chronicle Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

With lyrical language that captures the majesty of the natural world coupled with fun narrative featured throughout, this spirited picture book tells the victorious story of three girls' friendship - and their tribulations and triumphs in the great outdoors. Here is the best and worst of any hike:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Go, Girls, Go!

Frances Gilbert · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Come along for a rollicking ride in this picture book celebration of vehicles that puts girls in the driver's seat!Girls can race ... and girls can fly. Girls can rocket way up high! Piloting fire trucks, trains, tractors, and more, the girls in this book are on the go! Join them for an exuberant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Doctor and the Fearless Beast

Sophie Gilmore · Owlkids
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Crocodiles come from far and wide to seek Little Doctor's care. She treats each one with skill and kindness -- even the toughest crocs with thick skins and large, powerful jaws. Little Doctor marvels at these fearless beasts, listening to their stories, while she diagnoses and cures what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Place to Stay: A Shelter Story

Erin Gunti · Barefoot Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This simple, touching picture book shows readers a womens shelter through the eyes of a young girl, who with her mothers help, uses her imagination to overcome her anxiety and adjust. Includes factual endnotes detailing various reasons people experience homelessness and the resources available...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Golden Acorn

Katy Hudson · Capstone Editions
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Whoosh! Squirrel takes off at full speed through the autumn leaves. But pump the breaks, because this year The Golden Nut Hunt race it is a team event. Squirrel reluctantly enlists his friends and is not impressed. Will Squirrel's competitive spirit take over or will he learn how to be a team...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If You Had Your Birthday Party on the Moon

Joyce Lapin · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

If you had your birthday party on the moon, what would it be like? Blast off to an extraterrestrial celebration and find out! This cool picture book combines fun and facts to help kids learn all about outer space.

Have your birthday party on the moon and everyone will come!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chapter Two is Missing

Lieb, Josh

"Very few books are this entertaining to read. Even fewer are literally an active crime scene. Please help find Chapter 2. Without it, this book is nothing." -John Oliver, host of HBO's Last Week Tonight

Chapter Two is Missing is a hilarious picture
Read More check catalog
 
 
Listen

Holly McGhee · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A lyrical, inspiring picture book that promotes empathy from the creators of the New York Times bestseller Come With Me.

Listen
with your heart.
It is your ears
your eyes
your nose
your mouth
your hands--

Author Holly M. McGhee and illustrator...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Singing Nana

Pat Mora · Magination Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"Always amigos!"

My Singing Nana is a compassionate tribute to families dealing with Alzheimer's Disease. This story celebrates the ideals of family, heritage, and happy memories, showing kids that no matter how their loved one might change they always have ways...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Snow Is Deeper Than My Boots Are Tall

Jean Reidy · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When the Snow Is Deeper Than My Boots Are Tall is a charming rhyming picture book celebrating the fun of snow and the coziness of winter. Find a frosty window./ Watch the flakes fall./ Look! The snow is deeper than my toes are tall. With young, rhyming verse and bright illustrations, Jean...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pluto Gets the Call

Adam Rex · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Pluto gets a call from Earth telling him he isn't a planet anymore, so he sets out on a journey through the solar system to find out why in this funny and fact-filled romp that's perfect for fans of The Scrambled States of America.Pluto loves being a planet. That is, until the day he gets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Dark Bird

Liz Garton Scanlon · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author Liz Garton Scanlon and celebrated artist Frann Preston-Gannon comes a gorgeously illustrated, lyrical counting book that will have young readers' imaginations taking flight.

One dark bird is perched up high, with a view of the town and a taste of the sky....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Wet My Pants?

Shea, Bob

In this hilarious tale of blame, compassion, and forgiveness, a very embarrassed bear is reminded that accidents can happen--but with the support of good friends, life goes on.

Reuben the bear's got donuts for everyone in his scout troop, but his friends are all star
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlie & Mouse Even Better: Book 3

Laurel Snyder · Chronicle Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

In this heartwarming follow-up to Laurel Snyder's awardwinning beginning chapter book Charlie & Mouse, the two brothers prepare to celebrate one very special birthday: their mom's! Follow along as they choose the best pancakes, hunt for presents, decorate with snakes, and more. Things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Snowy Morning

Kevin Tseng · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Two woodland friends spot a mysterious pile of snow decked out with funny objects which they put to use in unintended and highly original ways, proving that things are what you make of them.One morning, a squirrel and a chipmunk find the oddest things stuck in a giant pile of snow. Readers...
Read More check catalog