Back New Picture Books and Easy Readers | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Picture Books and Easy Readers  
Bird Hugs

Ged Adamson · Two Lions
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Bernard isn't like other birds. His wings are impossibly long, and try as he might, he just can't seem to fly. He's left wondering what his wings are good for ... if they're even good for anything at all. But a chance encounter with a dejected orangutan leads Bernard to a surprising...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jack Goes West

Mac Barnett

From New York Times bestselling author Mac Barnett and Geisel Award-winning illustrator Greg Pizzoli, an uproarious early reader series about a mischievous rabbit, a cranky old lady, and a lovable dog.

Jack and the Lady take the train West to visit a dude ranch. One
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chirri & Chirra, On The Town

Kaya Doi

In this fifth book of perhaps the most charming series ever, Chirri and Chirra venture down forest paths and through alleyways into a yarn shop and an old woman's house, where they enjoy hot drinks and soup. When they're done, they find a wonderful surprise hidden in the branches
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bold, Brave Bunny

Beth Ferry

Hop along with Teetu, the bold, brave bunny, as he finds his way in this imaginative tale from New York Times bestselling author Beth Ferry (Stick and Stone) that reminds us that it's splendid to see the world, but that it's even more wonderful to go home, and share it with

Read More check catalog
 
 
What's Up, Maloo?

Genevieve Godbout

Maloo the kangaroo has lost his hop. Can his friends help him find it again? This sweet picture book explores the idea of sadness and the importance of friendship through ups and downs.

No other kangeroo can hop like Maloo! But one day Maloo's friends find him stepping inst
Read More check catalog
 
 
No More Naps!: A Story for When You're Wide-Awake and Definitely NOT Tired

Chris Grabenstein

The #1 New York Times bestselling powerhouse author of the Mr. Lemoncello books brings his wit and humor to a pint-sized audience in this picture book debut that turns the universal dilemma of getting kids to sleep on its head.

It's time for a nap but, just like stub
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pitter Pattern

Joyce Hesselberth

Patterns are everywhere! How many can you find?

This gorgeously illustrated book from Joyce Hesselberth, the creator of the acclaimed Mapping Sam, expertly introduces readers to basic patterns in nature, music, sports, art, language, and math. Pitter Pattern is an excepti

Read More check catalog
 
 
Ruby Red Shoes

Kate Knapp · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Are you ready for the coziest book of the year, with the charm of a modern-day Beatrix Potter? Pull up your comfiest chair, snuggle under a warm blanket, and discover the peaceful, enchanting world of Ruby Red Shoes and her grandmother, where friends are always welcome.Ruby Red Shoes is a thoughtful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pacho Nacho

Silvia Lopez

Mama and Papa could not agree on a name for their first baby, and everyone in the family had an opinion. That's how the name Pacho-Nacho-Nico-Tico-Melo-Felo-Kiko-Rico came to be, and Pacho's parents insisted that everyone use his full name. But when Pacho finds himself in trouble,
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina

Lea Lyon

An inspiring picture book for little ballerinas everywhere!

Ready to Fly is the true story of Sylvia Townsend, an African American girl who falls in love with ballet after seeing Swan Lake on TV.

Although there aren't many ballet schools that will accept a girl like

Read More check catalog
 
 
In a Jar

Deborah Marcero

Here's a marvelous picture book, charmingly written and beautifully illustrated, about the power of memory and the magic of friendship.

Llewellyn, a little rabbit, is a collector. He gathers things in jars--ordinary things like buttercups, feathers, and heart-shaped stones.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not a Bean

Claudia Guadalupe Martinez

A Mexican jumping bean isn't a bean at all. It's a fascinating home and food source for a special kind of caterpillar!

With Spanish vocabulary and a clever counting concept, this poetic story shares the life cycle of a Mexican jumping bean. This curious jumping insect is ac
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Like Me

Vanessa Newton · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.I am a canvasBeing painted onBy the words of my familyFriendsAnd...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Button Book

Sally Nicholls · Tundra Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This silly and sweet picture book introduces young children to colors through humor and clever interactive elements. For fans of Hervé Tullet's Press Here.Here's a button. I wonder what happens when you press it? Follow a group of animal friends as they discover a collection of mysterious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heart of a Whale

Anna Pignataro

In this beautiful story of kindness and empathy, loneliness and love, one creature finds that the help he needs is just a song and a sigh away.

Whale's beautiful song winds its way through the ocean, reaching the farthest of faraways. His song is one of happiness and hope,
Read More check catalog
 
 
The President of the Jungle

Andre Rodrigues

In this fabulous and funny introduction to how elections work, the animals decide they are tired of their king and that it is time to vote for a president.

Lion may be King of the jungle, but lately he only seems to care about himself. His subjects are fed up, so they decid
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cool Cuts

Mechal Renee Roe

African-American boys and their cool hair are celebrated in this bright, joyful read-together picture book that will have boys everywhere repeating the book's chorus: "I am born to be awesome!"

When the stars shine, the world is mine! I am born to be awe
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being Frog

April Pulley Sayre · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author and photographer April Pulley Sayre comes a stunning photographic look at the fascinating lives of frogs.A frog is a being. It is watching. It is seeing ... Frogs are amazing creatures, and this book offers young readers an up-close and revealing peek at their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boxitects

Kim Smith · Clarion Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A STEAM-centered, adorably illustrated picture book about Meg, a brilliant and creative boxitect who creates extraordinary things out of ordinary cardboard boxes.Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves impressing her teacher and classmates with what she makes out of boxes. But there's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Naughty Ninja Takes a Bath

Todd Tarpley · Two Lions
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

After crossing raging rivers and tromping through the jungle, Naughty Ninja returns to his secret ninja training camp for lunch. But when he gets inside, his parents tell him he needs a bath. Before Naughty Ninja gets in the tub, he notices poisonous flies and an angry alligator circling...
Read More check catalog