Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New Picture Books and Easy Readers  
Daniel's Good Day

Micha Archer

Daniel finds the poetry in the everyday activities of his own neighborhood, in this gorgeous companion to Ezra Jack Keats Award winner Daniel Finds a Poem.The people in Daniel's neighborhood always say, "Have a good day!" But what exactly is a good day? Da
 
 
National Geographic Readers: Odd Animals

Rose Davidson

Get to know the weirdest, silliest, most unique critters in the animal kingdom, from the axolotl to the star-nosed mole! This quirky early reader from National Geographic Kids is full of awesome animals that march (and crawl, swim, and fly) to the beat of their own drum.
 
 
Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up

Dave Eggers · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Abner and Ian are stuck sideways in this clever picture book created by a bestselling, acclaimed author and cartoonist--and perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie and Press Here.Abner and Ian are stuck sideways on the pages of their debut picture book. They can't start the story...
 
 
No Boring Stories!

Julie Falatko · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A group of misfits takes a stand against sweet, cuddly, boring stories in this picture book by the critically acclaimed author of the Snappsy the Alligator series, Julie Falatko.The unpopular animals have had enough. They want to be in a picture book! Stories about mommy-loving kitties...
 
 
If I Was the Sunshine

Julie Fogliano · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A breathtaking picture book about the relationships we share from New York Times bestselling storytellers Julie Fogliano and Loren Long in the tradition of The Runaway Bunny and Guess How Much I Love You.if i was the sunshine and you were the day i'd call you hello! and you'd call...
 
 
The Little Guys

Vera Brosgol

An adorable cautionary tale from Caldecott Honoree Vera BrosgolWe are the Little Guys. Yes, we are small. But there are a lot of us.Together we are strong, and we can get all we need.The Little Guys might be small, but they aim
 
 
Two Brothers, Four Hands

Jan Greenberg · Neal Porter Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

The inspiring true story of the Giacometti brothers, one an artist, the other a daredevil, both devoted to their craft . . . but even more devoted to each other.Everyone who knew them agreed. Alberto was the genius of the family. His younger brother Diego was his opposite--he didn't...
 
 
Rappy and His Favorite Things

Dan Gutman

Rappy's class has to write poems about their favorite things for Poetry Week, and the best poet will win a cupcake! Will Rappy discover he's a poet and he didn't even know it?
 
 
Tip and Tucker Road Trip

Ann Ingalls

Meet Tip and Tucker! These hamsters are best friends and like to stick together. But while little Tip is sometimes nervous about new situations, Tucker likes to explore and see new things. Everything changes when Mr. Lopez purchases them from the pet store. As Tip and Tucker take
 
 
Home Is a Window

Stephanie Ledyard · Neal Porter Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A family learns what home really means, as they leave one beloved residence and make a new home in another.Home can be many things--a window, a doorway, a rug . . . or a hug. At home, everything always feels the same: comfortable and safe. But sometimes things change, and a home must be left...
 
 
The Magic of Letters

Tony Johnston · Neal Porter Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Letters are MAGIC. When you know their secrets, like a bright bird, you take flight. Hop along with a playful rabbit emcee and see for yourself!Letters are everywhere in this delightful book that embraces the power of words and what they can do, how they can make you feel, and what they...
 
 
How I Learned to Fall Out of Trees

Vincent Kirsch · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Roger and Adelia are the very best of friends. They've spent many springtimes collecting birds' nests, autumns jumping into piles of colorful leaves, and winters building snowmen. When the time comes for Adelia to move away, the two friends must say good-bye. But Adelia has one parting...
 
 
The Girl Who Named Pluto: The Story of Venetia Burney

Alice B. McGinty · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

An empowering, inspiring--and accessible!--nonfiction picture book about the eleven-year-old girl who actually named the newly discovered Pluto in 1930.When Venetia Burney's grandfather reads aloud from the newspaper about a new discovery--a "ninth major planet" that has yet to be named--her...
 
 
I Am a Wolf

Kelly Leigh Miller · Dial Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A dog who insists she's a wolf finds the perfect home with a young girl who sees past her prickly personality in this pet adoption story that's as laugh-out-loud funny as it is heart-tugging.When a particularly growly pup finds herself in an animal shelter, she insists that she is a wolf--a...
 
 
Peg + Cat: Math in the Bath: A Level 1 Reader

Jennifer Oxley

Bath time turns into math time for Peg and Cat in this tale for early readers.Peg and Cat are in the bath. One, two friends in the bath. Seems like a great time to do some math! Readers can join old friends Peg and Cat as they engage with the concepts of counting and weigh
 
 
Lambslide

Ann Patchett · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From the international bestselling author of Bel Canto and Commonwealth, Ann Patchett, and the bestselling illustrator of the Fancy Nancy series, Robin Preiss Glasser, comes a hilarious children's story about a slide made just for lambs.Nicolette Farmer is running for class president,...
 
 
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean

Dean Robbins · Orchard Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Journey to the moon on the Apollo 12 mission with Alan Bean, the fourth astronaut to walk on the lunar surface and the only artist to paint its beauty firsthand! Journey to the moon on the Apollo 12 mission with astronaut and artist Alan Bean!As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a young...
 
 
Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Harold & Hog Pretend For Real!

Dan Santat

Hog is careful. Harold is not.Harold cannot help smiling. Hog can.Hog worries so that Harold does not have to.Harold and Hog are best friends. But can Harold and Hog's friendship survive a game of pretending to be Elephant & Piggie?
 
 
A Place for Pluto

Stef Wade · Capstone Editions
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Pluto got the shock of his life when he was kicked out of the famous nine. His planet status was stripped away, leaving him lost and confused. Poor Pluto! On his quest to find a place where he belongs, he talks to comets, asteroids, and meteoroids. He doesn't fit it anywhere! But when Pluto...
 
 
Jasper & Ollie

Alex Willan · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Two funny, unlikely friends - a thoughtful, deliberate sloth and an impulsive, impatient fox - make their big debut in this hilarious new picture book celebrating friendship and the wonderful ways in which we're all different.Best friends Jasper and Ollie decide to go to the pool. On your...