Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New Picture Books and Easy Readers  
Don't Call Me Bear!

Blabey, Aaron

Koala is NOT a bear! (Or is he?) Find out why Koala is so mad in this new, irresistibly funny picture book from Aaron Blabey, the bestselling creator of Pig the Pug!"G'day, my name is Warren and I've got something to share... Just because I'm furry DOESN'T MEA
 
 
Spot & Dot

Cole, Henry

From beloved author-illustrator Henry Cole comes the stunning follow-up to Spot, the Cat. In this beautiful wordless picture book, Spot the cat finds a dog named Dot who's off on her own adventure through the city!In Henry Cole's vivid wordless picture book <
 
 
My Tiny Pet

Jessie Hartland · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A witty celebration of the tiny tardigrade, a microscopic creature that looks like a bearLiving in a tiny house has one huge drawback--no space for pets. So when a little girl's parents announce that it's time for the family to simplify, downsizing from a huge home in the city to a tiny...
 
 
Around the Table That Grandad Built

Heuiser Hill, Melanie

A beautifully illustrated celebration of bounty and gratitude, family and friendship, perfect for the holidays and every day. This is the table that Grandad built.These are the sunflowers picked by my cousins,set on the table that Grandad built.
 
 
My Grandma and Me

Javaherbin, Mina

In a true tale of a young girl in Iran and her grandmother, this beautiful ode to family celebrates small moments of love that become lifelong memories.In this big universe full of many moons, I have traveled and seen many wonders, but I have never loved anything or any
 
 
Thunder Trucks

Klein, Cheryl

Was that a flash of lightning? A rumble of thunder?Better get ready--there's a new crew in town!As Bulldozer piles up clouds and Tanker Truck hauls the rain, the whole Thunder Truck gang works together to build a tremendous storm.Brimming with energy and fun, this chee
 
 
DUCK!

McKinlay, Meg

In this funny nod to Chicken Little, a quiet afternoon on the farm might be the scene of a barnyard disaster waiting to happen.When Duck runs around the farm shouting "DUCK!" to the other animals, they grow exasperated as they haughtily explain to Duck which anim
 
 
As Warm As the Sun

Kate McMullan · Neal Porter Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

French bulldogs Toby and Pinkie learn to live together and form a heartwarming friendship.Toby loves basking in the morning sun, snuggling in a lap in the afternoon, and toasting his tummy by the fireside at night, but somehow his warm spots never last. What Toby wants more than anything...
 
 
The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family

Muhammad, Ibtihaj

A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school--and two sisters on one's first day of hijab--by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad. With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first day of school is going to be s
 
 
Between Us and Abuela: A Family Story from the Border

Mitali Perkins

It's almost time for Christmas, and Maria is traveling with her mother and younger brother, Juan, to visit their grandmother on the border of California and Mexico. For the few minutes they can share together along the fence, Maria and her brother plan to exchange stories and
 
 
Ball & Balloon

Rob Sanders · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A ball must learn to deal with his envy when a floating balloon has him feeling down in this simple and relatable story that reminds little ones that being different is what makes you special.Balloon can soar, he can fly, he can dip, duck, and hover - all on his own. Balloon is full of gas....
 
 
Everyone Counts

Sierra, Judy

From the bestselling creators of Wild About Books comes a rhyming, counting, and teamwork-focused picture book about the beginnings of a new zoo! When Takoda the tiger cub happens upon a tumbledown mall, the lone cub imagines a zoo. All Takoda needs is a capable cre
 
 
Our World Is Relative

Julia Sooy · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A fun and engaging picture book from author Julia Sooy illustrator Molly Walsh explaining Einstein's theory of relativity.Size, speed, weight, direction, distanceWe think of space and time as fixed and measurable.But these measurements -- our experience of space and time -- they are relative.Our...
 
 
Trucker and Train

Hannah Stark · Clarion Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that's perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one. Trucker, the big rig, loves to rule the road with his size, strength, and mighty horn. The other...
 
 
Fly!

Teague, Mark

Mama bird thinks it's time for Baby bird's first flight, but Baby bird has other ideas in this humorous wordless picture book from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Mark Teague.It's a big day up in the tree that Mama bird shares with her baby. Mama bird