Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New Picture Books and Easy Readers  
How to Read a Book

Kwame Alexander

A stunning new picture book from Newbery Medalist Kwame Alexander and Caldecott Honoree Melissa Sweet! This New York Times bestselling duo has teamed up for the first time to bring you How to Read a Book, a poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading.Fin
 
 
Galápagos Girl / Galapagueña

Marsha Diane Arnold · Lee & Low Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Valentina was born on an island formed by fire, surrounded by blue-green sea. As a Galapagueña, Valentina spends her days observing the natural world around her. She greets sea lions splashing on the shore, scampers over lava rocks with Sally-lightfoot crabs, and swims with manta rays....
 
 
The King of Kindergarten

Derrick Barnes · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A confident little boy takes pride in his first day of kindergarten, by the Newbery Honor-winning author of Crown.The morning sun blares through your window like a million brass trumpets.It sits and shines behind your head--like a crown. Mommy says that today, you are going to be the King...
 
 
A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

Carin Berger · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From a flamboyance of flamingos to a mischief of mice, this gorgeous picture book introduces readers to sixty collective animal nouns in a fun and unusual way!Illustrated with show-stopping collage art by acclaimed author-illustrator Carin Berger, A Curious Menagerie is a delightfully engaging...
 
 
Cece Loves Science and Adventure

Kimberly Derting · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Cece loves science and adventure!In this STEM-themed picture book, the second in a series, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin.Illustrated by New York Times-bestseller Vashti Harrison, the Cece Loves...
 
 
I Will Race You Through This Book!

Jonathan E. Fenske · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

See if you can beat Book-It Bunny in a reading race!In this story designed to engage early readers, charming characters combine with simple text, lively illustrations, and laugh-out-loud humor to help boost kids' confidence and create lifelong readers!This easy-to-read adventure breaks...
 
 
Leila in Saffron

Rukhsanna Guidroz

A colorful journey of self-discovery and identity, this sweet, vibrant picture book follows young Leila as she visits her grandmother's house for their weekly family dinner, and finds parts of herself and her heritage in the family, friends, and art around her.Sometimes
 
 
Sea Glass Summer

Michelle Houts

Author Michelle Houts and illustrator Bagram Ibatoulline explore the magic of one of the seaside's greatest wonders and the bonds that link us through time.One summer, a boy named Thomas visits his grandmother at her seaside cottage. She gives him a magnifying glass that o
 
 
Look Again: Secrets of Animal Camouflage

Steve Jenkins · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The award-winning team of Steve Jenkins and Robin Page introduce young readers to some of the stealthiest, most astonishingly camouflaged animals in the natural world and ask them to seek out these sneaky animals hiding in plain sight! Ideal for readers of the Over and Under books.Why do some...
 
 
Save Your Friends!

Hyewon Kyung

Shark is big.Shark is hungry.Shark is a bully.Shark eats everyoneand everything in the sea.Shark eats:1 little clownfish1 puffy pufferfish1 brave bitey fish1 baby seal1 clever crab4 inky octopuses<
 
 
Horse and Buggy Paint It Out!

Ethan Long · Holiday House
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Geisel medalist Ethan Long's comical duo, Horse and his friend Buggy, get creative in a funny story about working together. Horse is all set to paint a mural his way, oblivious to Buggy's suggestions that a bit of planning might be a good idea. But as the Horse knocks over paint...
 
 
Moon! Earth's Best Friend

Stacy McAnulty · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From writer Stacy McAnulty and illustrator Stevie Lewis, Moon! Earth's Best Friend is a light-hearted nonfiction picture book about the formation and history of the moon -- told from the perspective of the moon itself...
 
 
Vroom!

Barbara McClintock · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join a little girl as she zooms -- past fields and forests, up mountains, over rivers, through deserts, home again, and into bed in this playful picture book about the power of imagination, from award-winning author and artist Barbara McClintock.
 
 
See Me Play

Paul Meisel · Holiday House
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

What fun! A playful pack of dogs chase a ball and find new friends! This Level C book is perfect for kindergarteners and rising first graders.I see a ball. The bird has the ball. The whale has the ball. The lion has the ball. Gulp! No more ball!This is the third book in an award-winning...
 
 
Big Shark, Little Shark Go to School

Anna Membrino

A silly school-themed sequel to the popular Step 1 Reader Big Shark, Little Shark!Everyone's favorite odd couple (of sharks) returns in this funny Step 1 book! And now it's time for school! Big Shark and Little Shark continue to be opposites in every way. Little
 
 
Hum and Swish

Matt Myers

Jamie's day at the beach turns into the perfect place for an artistic adventure.All Jamie wants is to spend some time alone at the beach and finish her art project in the sand. But everyone around keeps asking her pesky questions she doesn't know how to answer: what are yo
 
 
Puppy Truck

Brian Pinkney

Find out what happens when a boy who wants a puppy gets a truck instead in this simple and sweet picture book from Caldecott Honor winner Brian Pinkney. Vroom ... beep ... bark! Carter wants a puppy, but he gets a truck instead. So he pets it, puts a leash a
 
 
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!

Mo Willems · Hyperion Books for Children
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn't like it? What if the teacher doesn't like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?!Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!
 
 
The Night Is Yours

Abdul-Razak Zachariah

From the New York Times bestselling illustrator of I Am Enough, this glowing, empowering picture book about a nighttime hide-and-seek game celebrates blackness and self-confidence.Little one, so calm and so happy, the darkness of the night is yours like th
 
 
I Am Not a Fish!

Peter Raymundo

For fans of Ryan T. Higgins and Jory John comes a humorous and "splashy" story from a former Disney animator, about a jellyfish with an identity crisis who learns how to be himself with a little help from friends.Edgar is a jellyfish, but he doesn't look, act, or