Back Mysteries and Thrillers | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mysteries and Thrillers  
The Red Lotus: A Novel

Chris Bohjalian · Doubleday
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Flight Attendant comes a twisting story of love and deceit: an American man vanishes on a rural road in Vietnam, and his girlfriend, an emergency room doctor trained to ask questions, follows a path that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other People: A Novel

C. J. Tudor · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A gripping new thriller about a man's quest for the daughter no one else believes is still alive, from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man and The Hiding Place.

Driving home one night, stuck behind a rusty old car, Gabe sees a little girl's face appear in the rear...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery

Tasha Alexander · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this new installment in Tasha Alexander's bestselling Victorian series, Lady Emily and her husband Colin uncover a mystery in the ancient city of Pompeii. Some corpses lie undisturbed longer than others. But when Emily discovers a body hidden in plain sight amongst the ruins of Pompeii,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First Cut: A Novel

Judy Melinek · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Scalpel sharp." - Karin Slaughter

A hard-nosed medical examiner. A suspicious case. An underworld plot only she saw coming.

San Francisco's newest medical examiner, Dr. Jessie Teska, has made a chilling discovery. A suspected overdose case contains hints of something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Facets of Death

Stanley, Michael · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

A prequel to the award-winning Detective Kubu series

David Bengu has always stood out from the crowd. His personality and his physique match his nickname, Kubu -- Setswana for "hippopotamus" -- a seemingly docile creature, but one of the deadliest in Africa. His keen...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rabbit Hunter: A novel

Lars Kepler · Knopf
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

The latest internationally best-selling installment in the Joona Linna series sees him temporarily called back to the police force to solve a series of bizarre and increasingly horrifying murders.

Detective Joona Linna is finishing out a sentence at Kumla prison for assaulting an officer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bound for Murder: A Blue Ridge Library Mystery

Victoria Gilbert · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

Blue Ridge library director Amy Webber learns it wasn't all peace and love among the "flower children" when a corpse is unearthed on the grounds of a 1960s commune.

Taylorsford Public Library director Amy Webber's friend "Sunny" Fields is running for mayor. But nothing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghostly Tales: Spine-Chilling Stories of the Victorian Age

Bill Bragg · Chronicle Books
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A vengeful phantom lurks in a country graveyard.A whaling crew becomes trapped on a haunted ship.A human skull is kept locked in a cupboard, butsometimes at night, it screams. . . .This collection of tales transports the reader to a time when staircases creaked in old manor houses, and a candle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hi Five

Joe Ide · Mulholland Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Isaiah Quintabe, the genius PI who combines book smarts, street smarts, and enough blistering action to melt the pavement of East Long Beach, is back with a new adventure. Fresh off the beating he took at the hands of a gang of ex-Abu Ghraib thugs working as paramilitary contractors, IQ is determined...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alone in the Wild

Kelley Armstrong · Minotaur Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In #1 New York Times bestseller Kelley Armstrong's latest thriller, the hidden town of Rockton is about to face a challenge none of them saw coming: a baby.Every season in Rockton seems to bring a new challenge. At least that's what Detective Casey Duncan has felt since she decided...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife and the Widow

Christian White · Minotaur Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The second standalone thriller from the award-winning author of The Nowhere Child, Christian White.

Set against the backdrop of an eerie island town in the dead of winter, The Wife and The Widow is an unsettling thriller told from two perspectives: Kate, a widow...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wild One

Nick Petrie · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

War veteran Peter Ash tracks a murderer and his criminal family through the most forbidding and stark landscape he has ever encountered, in the latest thriller from the national bestselling author of The Drifter.

Losing ground in his fight against post-traumatic claustrophobia,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Holdout: A Novel

Graham Moore · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

One juror changed the verdict. What if she was wrong? From the Academy Award-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and bestselling author of The Last Days of Night. . . .

"Exhilarating . . . a fiendishly slippery game of cat-and-mouse suspense and a provocative,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perfect Little Children: A Novel

Sophie Hannah · William Morrow
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders and Woman with a Secret returns with a sharp, captivating, and expertly plotted tale of psychological suspense.

All Beth has to do is drive her son to his soccer game, watch him play, and then return home. Just because...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead to Her: A Novel

Sarah Pinborough · William Morrow
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Liane Moriarty, Liv Constantine and Lisa Jewell, a twisty psychological thriller about a savvy second wife who will do almost anything to come out on top from the New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes.Marriage can be murder ... SOMETHING OLDMarcie's affair...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Too Close to Home: A Novel

Andrew Grant · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

His cover: courthouse janitor. His cause: justice. But when Paul McGrath uncovers a shocking connection to a file of missing evidence, he finds the truth sometimes hits a little too close to home. As an intelligence agent-turned-courthouse janitor, Paul McGrath notices everything and everyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Divided Loyalty: A Novel

Charles Todd · William Morrow
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Scotland Yard detective Ian Rutledge is assigned one of the most baffling investigations of his career - a cold murder case with an unidentified victim and a cold trail with few clues to follow.

Chief Inspector Brian Leslie, a respected colleague of Ian Rutledge's, is sent to Avebury,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The King's Justice: A Maggie Hope Mystery

Susan Elia MacNeal · Bantam
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Can a stolen violin lead secret agent and spy Maggie Hope to a new serial killer terrorizing London? Find out as the acclaimed World War II mystery series from New York Times bestselling author Susan Elia MacNeal continues.

Maggie Hope started out as Winston Churchill's secretary,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blaze

· G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

One man knows the connection between two extraordinary acts of arson, fifteen years apart, in his Montana hometown--if only he could remember it.

Having lost much of his memory from a traumatic brain injury sustained in Iraq, army veteran Matthew Rose is called back to Montana after...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Darling Rose Gold

Wrobel, Stephanie · BERKLEY BOOKS

Sharp Objects meets My Lovely Wife in this tightly drawn debut that peels back the layers of the most complicated of mother-daughter relationships...

For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Gone by Midnight

Candice Fox · Forge Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Crimson Lake is where people with dark pasts come to disappear -- and where others vanish into thin air ... Four young boys are left alone in a hotel room while their parents dine downstairs. When Sara Farrow checks on the children at midnight, her son is missing. Distrustful of the police,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Better Liar: A Novel

Tanen Jones · Ballantine Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins.

"Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered."

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mitford Scandal

Jessica Fellowes
Format: Hardcover

In the third book in the Mitford Murders series, lady's maid Louisa Cannon accompanies Diana Mitford into a turbulent late 1920s Europe.

The year is 1928, and after the death of a maid at a glamorous society party, fortune heir Bryan Guinness seizes life and proposes to eighteen-year-old...

Read More check catalog