Back Mysteries and Thrillers | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mysteries and Thrillers  
What You Don't See

Tracy Clark · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Former cop Cass Raines knows the streets of Chicago all too well. Now she's a private investigator and getting an exclusive glimpse into how the other half lives - and how they die . . . Wealth. Power. Celebrity. Vonda Allen's glossy vanity magazine has taken the Windy City by storm,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Execution: A Giordano Bruno

S. J. Parris · Pegasus Books
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The new historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno -- heretic, philosopher, and spy -- which finds Bruno going undercover to prevent an assassination plot on Queen Elizabeth. England, 1586. A treasonous conspiracy . . . Giordano Bruno, a heretic turned spy, arrives in England with shocking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Kill a Mocking Girl: A Bookbinding Mystery

Harper Kincaid · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Bookbinder Quinn finds herself in trouble when her ex's fiance turns up dead and if she's not careful, her days might be numbered in this debut perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Eva Gates.Quinn Victoria Caine is back in her quirky town of Vienna, Virginia, starting her new life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hurry Home: A Novel

Roz Nay · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of Our Little Secret comes a suspenseful new thriller featuring two estranged sisters desperate to keep their deepest and darkest secret where it belongs--in the past.Close to my heart you'll be, sisters forever you and me...Alexandra Van Ness has the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Finders: A Mystery

Jeffrey B. Burton · Minotaur Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Mason "Mace" Reid lives on the outskirts of Chicago and specializes in human remains detection. He trains dogs to hunt for the dead. Reid’s coming off a taxing year―mourning the death of a beloved springer spaniel as well as the dissolution of his marriage. He adopts a rescue dog with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Did You Tell?: A Novel

Lesley Kara · Ballantine Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Dark secrets from the past catch up with a woman who can't trust her own memory in this gripping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of The Rumor.Newly sober and struggling to stay that way, Astrid moves in with her mother in Flinstead-on-Sea,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grim Reader

Kate Carlisle
Format: Hardcover

San Francisco book-restoration expert Brooklyn Wainwright was hoping for a fun, relaxing weekend at a local book fair, but a murderer made other plans in the latest in this New York Times bestselling series.

Brooklyn and her new hunky husband, Derek, are excited to be guests...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friend or Foe: Brice Simpson Hood Mysteries

Imani Black · Urban Renaissance
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Detective Simpson must navigate the seedy underworld to find the killer before more bodies start piling up. But first, he must fight off the demons of his past and decide where his loyalties lie--with the NYPD, or with the hood he grew up in. With a list of suspects that include a husband,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Indigo Ghosts

Alys Clare · Severn House Publishers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In this gripping forensic mystery set in Stuart England, Gabriel Taverner uncovers a series of shocking secrets when he's summoned by his former naval captain to investigate strange goings-on aboard his ship.October, 1604. Former ship's surgeon turned country physician Gabriel Taverner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
House Privilege: A Joe Demarco Thriller

Mike Lawson · ATLANTIC MONTHLY PR
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Fifteen-year-old Cassie Russell, the only daughter of a mega-rich Boston couple, is the sole survivor of a plane crash that killed her parents. She’s also the goddaughter of the newly elected Speaker of the House, John Mahoney, and after the crash Mahoney becomes her legal guardian. Normally,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is How I Lied: A Novel

Heather Gudenkauf · Park Row
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Everyone has a secret they'll do anything to hide ... Twenty-five years ago, the body of sixteen-year-old Eve Knox was found in the caves near her home in small-town Grotto, Iowa - discovered by her best friend, Maggie, and her sister, Nola. There were a handful of suspects, including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady Rights a Wrong

Eliza Casey · Berkley
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

As the suffragette movement sweeps England in 1912, Lady Cecilia Bates wants to march but ends up trailing a killer instead in the latest entry to the Manor Cat Mysteries. Lady Cecilia of Danby Hall feels adrift. She couldn't be less interested in helping to plan the church's upcoming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Spell for Trouble: An Enchanted Bay Mystery

Esme Addison · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Ellery Adams and Heather Blake will be charmed by Esme Addison's new Enchanted Bay mystery series.Aleksandra Daniels hasn't set foot in the quiet seaside town of Bellamy Bay, North Carolina in over twenty years. Ever since her mother's tragic death, her father has mysteriously...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Flight: A Novel

Julie Clark · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Two women. Two Flights. One last chance to disappear.Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stranger in the Lake: A Novel

Kimberly Belle · Park Row
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"Spellbinding. Another outstanding novel by Kimberly Belle, masterfully written to lure you in and never let go." - Samantha Downing, USA Today bestselling author of My Lovely WifeWhen Charlotte married the wealthy widower Paul, it caused a ripple of gossip in their small lakeside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Muzzled

David Rosenfelt · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The ever-charming David Rosenfelt is back with Muzzled, where reluctant lawyer Andy Carpenter and his beloved golden retriever, Tara, are back on the case as a favor to a friend.Reluctant New Jersey lawyer Andy Carpenter doesn't call many people friend. So when one comes to him for help,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Woman Alone

Nina Laurin · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 368
Format: Print Length

A high-stakes, pulse-pounding thriller from the bestselling author of Girl Last Seen.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweeney on the Rocks

Allen Morris Jones · Ig Publishing
Pages: 264
Format: Paperback

Ted Sweeney. Affable everyman in small town Montana. Tailgate hung on with baling wire, owner of his own business. Ten minutes ago, his biggest worry had been how to pay for the engagement ring rattling around in his pocket. But that was before he came home to find a corpse tidily arranged...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonderland

Zoje Stage · Mulholland Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

If Shirley Jackson wrote The Shining, it might look like this "deliciously unsettling"* horror novel from the acclaimed author of Baby Teeth: A mother must protect her family from the unnatural forces threatening their new and improved life in a rural farmhouse.The Bennett family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Of Mutts and Men

Spencer Quinn · Forge Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Spencer Quinn's Of Mutts and Men is the latest in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling series that the Los Angeles Times called "nothing short of masterful" ... When Chet the dog, "the most lovable narrator in all of crime fiction" (Boston Globe) , and his partner,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Riviera Gold: A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes

Laurie R. King · Bantam
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes turn the Riviera upside down to crack their most captivating case yet in the New York Times bestselling series that Lee Child called "the most sustained feat of imagination in mystery fiction today." It's summertime on the Riviera, and the Jazz Age has come...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Outsider: A Kate Burkholder Novel

Linda Castillo · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Linda Castillo follows her instant NYT bestseller, Shamed, with Outsider, an electrifying thriller about a woman on the run hiding among the Amish.Chief of Police Kate Burkholder's past comes back to haunt her when she receives a call from Amish widower Adam Lengacher. While enjoying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Flag

David Ricciardi · Berkley
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

CIA officer Jake Keller faces stakes that are very high and very personal in the latest electrifying thriller from the author of Rogue Strike. After years of relative calm, piracy has returned to the high sea. But the days of AK-47s and outboard engines are over. The new pirates hit like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Safe: A Novel

S. K. Barnett · Dutton
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A kidnapped girl survived twelve nightmarish years.Now she's safely back home . . . or is she?Jenny Kristal was six years old when she was snatched off the sidewalk from her quiet suburban neighborhood. Twelve years later, she's miraculously returned home after escaping her kidnappers...
Read More check catalog