Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
National Wildlife Federation: Attracting Birds, Butterflies & Other Wildlife to Your Backyard, 2nd Edition

David Mizejewski · Creative Homeowner
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Make your backyard more bird-friendly by providing natural habitats for a wide variety of wildlife!From the National Wildlife Federation, the largest U.S. nonprofit conservation organization, with 6 million members and 51 state and territorial affiliated organizationsMore than a dozen step-by-step...
 
 
The Last Leonardo: The Secret Life of the World's Most Expensive Painting

Ben Lewis · Ballantine Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

An epic quest exposes hidden truths about Leonardo da Vinci's Salvator Mundi, the recently discovered masterpiece that sold for $450 million - and might not be the real thing.For two centuries, art dealers and historians searched in vain for the Holy Grail of art history: a portrait of Christ...
 
 
Definitely Hispanic: Growing Up Latino and Celebrating What Unites Us

LeJuan James · Atria Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat's situational humor and Jane the Virgin's celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.LeJuan James...
 
 
The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation

Rich Cohen · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Was he New York City's last pirate . . . or its first gangster? This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, port by port - for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire.Handsome and charismatic, Albert Hicks had long been known in the dive...
 
 
Alone at Dawn: Medal of Honor Recipient John Chapman and the Untold Story of the World's Deadliest Special Operations Force

Dan Schilling · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The astonishing true account of John Chapman, Medal of Honor recipient and Special Ops Combat Controller, and his heroic one-man stand during the Afghan War, as he sacrificed his life to save the lives of 23 comrades-in-arms.In the predawn hours of March 4, 2002, just below the 10,000-foot...
 
 
Best Hikes Detroit and Ann Arbor: The Greatest Views, Wildlife, and Forest Strolls

Matt Forster · Falcon Guides
Pages: 248
Format: Paperback

Who says you have to travel far from home to go on a great hike? In Best Hikes Detroit and Ann Arbor veteran hiker Matt Forster offers the absolute best hikes in the greater Detroit area. Each featured trail is perfect for the urban and suburbanite hard-pressed to find outdoor activities...
 
 
Beginner's Guide to DIY & Home Repair: Essential DIY Techniques for the First Timer

Jo Behari · Creative Homeowner
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Start doing your own household repairs and simple renovations without the expense of calling in a professional!Complete beginner's reference guide to household repairs and simple renovationsLearn basic DIY skills and get expert guidance to get the job doneSimple presentation for the DIY novice,...
 
 
The Sixth Man: A Memoir

Andre Iguodala · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The standout memoir from NBA powerhouse Andre Iguodala, the indomitable sixth man of the champion Golden State Warriors.Andre Iguodala is one of the most admired players in the NBA. And fresh off the Warriors' third NBA championship in the last four years, his game has never been stronger....
 
 
Emperors of the Deep: Sharks--The Ocean's Most Mysterious, Most Misunderstood, and Most Important Guardians

William McKeever · HarperOne
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In this remarkable groundbreaking book, a documentarian and conservationist, determined to dispel misplaced fear and correct common misconceptions, explores in-depth the secret lives of sharks - magnificent creatures who play an integral part in maintaining the health of the world's oceans...
 
 
Writing Without Rules: How to Write & Sell a Novel Without Guidelines, Experts, or (Occasionally) Pants

Jeff Somers · Writer's Digest Books
Pages: 247
Format: Paperback

Stop What You're Doing and Write! Yes, You; Write! Most writing guides imply--or outright state--that there's a fixed, specific formula or list of rules you must follow to achieve writing and publishing success. And all of them are phonies. Well, not completely. There are real, applicable...
 
 
Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

Kate Fazzini · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers." -- Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected...
 
 
Love Thy Neighbor: A Muslim Doctor's Struggle for Home in Rural America

Ayaz Virji M.D. · Convergent Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A powerful true story about a Muslim doctor's service to a small town and the hope of overcoming our country's climate of hostility and fear.In 2013, Ayaz Virji left a comfortable job at an East Coast hospital and moved to a town of 1,400 in Minnesota, feeling called to address the shortage...
 
 
Places and Names: On War, Revolution, and Returning

Elliot Ackerman · Penguin Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From a decorated Marine war veteran and National Book Award Finalist, an astonishing reckoning with the nature of combat and the human cost of the wars in Iraq, Afghanistan and Syria."War hath determined us ..." - John Milton, Paradise LostToward the beginning of Places and Names,...
 
 
Elderhood: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life

Louise Aronson · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

As revelatory as Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, physician and award-winning author Louise Aronson's Elderhood is an essential, empathetic look at a vital but little respected stage of life. For more than 5,000 years, "old" has been defined as beginning between the ages of 60 and 70. That...
 
 
Healthy Meal Prep Instant Pot® Cookbook: No-Fuss Recipes for Nutritious, Ready-to-Go Meals

Carrie Forrest · Rockridge Press
Format: Paperback

Healthy, ready-to-go meals -- Instant Pot® fastHealthy eating is suddenly fast and simple with The Healthy Meal Prep Instant Pot Cookbook. Combining the speed and ease of Instant Pot® cooking with meal prep hacks, this Instant Pot cookbook will have you fixing great food that's good...
 
 
Writer's Digest Guide to Magazine Article Writing: A Practical Guide to Selling Your Pitches, Crafting Strong Articles, & Earning More Bylines

KERRIE FLANAGAN · Writer's Digest Books
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback

Your Essential Reference for Writing for Magazines! In The Writer's Digest Guide to Magazine Article Writing, accomplished freelance writer, author, and instructor Kerrie Flanagan demystifies the idea that writing for magazines is a difficult process meant only for those with journalism...
 
 
Leaders Who Changed History

Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff · DK
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Explore the lives of more than 85 of the world's most transformational and influential leaders in politics, business, religion, humanitarianism, and the military with this innovative and boldly graphic book.Comprehensive in its scope and depth, and fully illustrated, Leaders Who Changed...
 
 
Someday Is Not a Day in the Week: 10 Hacks to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life

Sam Horn · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Full of inspirational insights and advice, lifehacks, and real-world examples, Someday is Not a Day in the Week is CEO Sam Horn's motivational guide to help readers get what they want in life today rather than "someday."Are you:* Working, working, working?* Busy taking care...
 
 
The Ice at the End of the World: An Epic Journey into Greenland's Buried Past and Our Perilous Future

Jon Gertner · Random House
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

A riveting, urgent account of the explorers and scientists racing to understand the rapidly melting ice sheet in Greenland, a dramatic harbinger of climate change Greenland: a remote, mysterious island five times the size of California but with a population of just 56,000. The ice sheet...
 
 
Son of a Southern Chef: Cook with Soul

Lazarus Lynch · Avery
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A wildly inventive soul food bible from a two-time Chopped winner and the host of Snapchat's first-ever cooking show.Thousands of fans know Lazarus Lynch for his bold artistic sensibility, exciting take on soul food, and knockout fashion sense. Laz has always had Southern and Caribbean...
 
 
Cult of the Dead Cow: How the Original Hacking Supergroup Might Just Save the World

Joseph Menn · PublicAffairs
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The shocking untold story of the elite secret society of hackers fighting to protect our privacy, our freedom -- even democracy itselfCult of the Dead Cow is the tale of the oldest, most respected, and most famous American hacking group of all time. Though until now it has remained mostly...
 
 
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2020: Billions of Dollars in Scholarships, Grants and Prizes

Gen Tanabe · SuperCollege
Pages: 784
Format: Paperback

Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains...
 
 
Amazing Train Journeys

Lonely Planet · Lonely Planet
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Experience 60 of the world's greatest and most unforgettable train journeys, from classic long-distance trips like Western Canada's Rocky Mountaineer and Darwin to Adelaide's The Ghan, to little-known gems on regular commuting lines. We've always had a soft spot for trains. We know the moment...
 
 
Taste of Home What Can I Cook in My Instant Pot, Air Fryer, Waffle Iron...?: Get Geared Up, Great Cooking Starts Here

Taste of Home · Reader's Digest/Taste of Home
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Make the most of your kitchen tools today. With Taste of Home What Can I Cook in My Instant Pot, Air Fryer, Waffle Iron ... ? on hand, the ideal dinner is always at your fingertips. It's time to cook what you want - how you want! It's easy with the recipes inside the brand-new title Taste...