Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
Country Music: An Illustrated History

Dayton Duncan · Knopf
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

The rich and colorful story of America's most popular music and the singers and songwriters who captivated, entertained, and consoled listeners throughout the twentieth century--based on the upcoming eight-part film series to air on PBS in September 2019

This gorgeously illustrated...
 
 
All the Sweeter: Families Share Their Stories of Adopting from Foster Care

Jean Minton · She Writes Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

All the Sweeter tells the stories of families who have adopted one or more children from the US foster care system. Each of the twelve families interviewed has a dedicated chapter in which at least one representative tells their family's adoption story. Woven through these stories are topical...
 
 
Your Insiders' Guide to Retirement: The Practical Guide to Transitioning from Working to Retirement

Troy B. Daum CFP · Morgan James Publishing
Pages: 154
Format: Paperback

Your Insiders' Guide to Retirement sheds surprising light on the necessary financial planning for a secure retirement.

Are you ready to retire, but are afraid of running out of money? Do you know who to trust? People imagine retirement as learning new things, challenging themselves,...

 
 
The Secret Art of Being a Parent: Tips, tricks, and lifesavers you don't have to learn the hard way

Bridget Watson Payne · Chronicle Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Parenting Tip #1: There's no one right way to be a parent. This entertaining parenting guide is the helpful, bite-size advice you need when you've just had a kid. From a list of what you need in a diaper bag to a loving reminder that sometimes you just need to take time for yourself, these...
 
 
Fashion, New Edition: The Definitive Visual Guide

DK · DK
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Learn all about fashion's trailblazers and trendsetters in this boldly illustrated, definitive guide that charts style from the late 19th century to the modern day.

From the extravagance of Ancient Egypt, through the legendary houses of Chanel and Dior, to today's catwalk sensations,...
 
 
The Price We Pay: What Broke American Health Care--and How to Fix It

Marty Makary M.D. · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Unaccountable comes an eye-opening, timely, urgent critique of America's broken health care system.

One in five Americans now has medical debt in collections and rising health care costs today threaten every small business...

 
 
The Horrible Craft Book: 30 macabre makes to freak out your family and frighten your friends

Laura Minter · GMC Publications
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Test out your threshold for all things horrible with this disgusting book! From cornflour vomit and cat poo truffles to smelly socks and bug soap, the strength of your stomach will be truly tested by this revolting and gruesome collection of projects. Using everyday ingredients and items...

 
 
Upcycled Technology: Clever Projects You Can Do With Your Discarded Tech

Daniel Davis · Mango
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

#1 Amazon New Release! ─ Transform old tech into amazing, modern inventionsFans of Popular Science, Smithsonian's Maker Lab, and The Big Book of Makerspace Projects will love Upcycled Technology.
DIY science projects using your discarded stuff: We all have a drawer or closet...
 
 
Nature Play at Home: Creating Outdoor Spaces that Connect Children with the Natural World

Nancy Striniste · Timber Press
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

"A magnificent resource for transforming backyards into stimulating environments which enhance children's creativity, learning, and fun." - Richard Louv, author of Last Child in the Woods, The Nature Principle, and Vitamin N

Access to technology has created...
 
 
Rubber Band Engineer: All-Ballistic Pocket Edition: From a Slingshot Rifle to a Mousetrap Catapult, Build 10 Guerrilla Gadgets from Household Hardware

Lance Akiyama · Rockport Publishers
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

In its new pocket-size format with a rubber-band closure, Rubber Band Engineer: All-Ballistic Pocket Edition is a fun-filled book of backyard projects that's perfect for gifting.

Shooting far, flying high, and delivering way more exciting results than expected are the goals...

 
 
Clever Girl Finance: Ditch debt, save money and build real wealth

Bola Sokunbi · Wiley
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Take charge of your finances and achieve financial independence - the Clever Girl way

Join the ranks of thousands of smart and savvy women who have turned to money expert and author Bola Sokunbi for guidance on ditching debt, saving money, and building real wealth. Sokunbi,...

 
 
Moments of Truth: A Photographer's Experience of Kent State 1970

Howard Ruffner · The Kent State University Press
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

A student journalist's photographic memoir of events surrounding the 1970 Kent State shootings

Working as a photographer for the Kent State University student newspaper and yearbook, Howard Ruffner was a college sophomore when the tragic shootings of May 4, 1970, occurred -- a tragedy...

 
 
Consider the Platypus: Evolution through Biology's Most Baffling Beasts

Maggie Ryan Sandford · Black Dog & Leventhal
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Interested in the origins of the species? Consider the Platypus uses pets such as dogs and cats as well as animal outliers like the axolotl and naked mole rat to wittily tackle mind-bending concepts about how evolution, biology, and genetics work.
Consider the Platypus explores...
 
 
The Golden Ratio: The Divine Beauty of Mathematics

Gary B. Meisner · Race Point Publishing
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The Golden Ratio examines the presence of this divine number in art and architecture throughout history, as well as its ubiquity among plants, animals, and even the cosmos. This gorgeous book - with layflat dimensions that closely approximate the golden ratio - features clear, enlightening,...
 
 
The Why & How of Woodworking: A Simple Approach to Making Meaningful Work

Michael Pekovich · Taunton Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The Why and How of Woodworking reflects the growing appreciation for the handmade, a movement toward simplifying and uncluttering. There is a growing understanding of the need to fill our lives with meaningful and useful objects. How can woodworkers answer that call? Instagram sensation...

 
 
Six Ingredients With Six Sisters' Stuff: 100 Fast and Easy Family Meals

Six Sisters' Stuff · Shadow Mountain
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

With only six ingredients or less per recipe, making dinner has never been easier.

Six SistersÂ’ Stuff is one of the most popular blogs for quick and easy cooking and entertaining at home for families. In their eighth cookbook, they tackle how to master meals for any cook with...
 
 
Rainy Day Sewing: 18 Sewing Projects to Brighten Every Day

Amy Sinibaldi · Tuva Publishing
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

In her second book, Amy Sinibaldi offers another delightful selection of well-designed projects you'll love sewing for yourself and loved ones. You'll find 18 projects that are sure to brighten up a rainy day - or any day! Using easy to follow illustrations and step-by-step instructions,...
 
 
Black & Decker Carpentry Made Simple: 23 Stylish Projects - Learn as You Build

BRAD HOLDEN · Cool Springs Press
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Featuring 23 complete home furnishing plans presented with simple, graphic photos and illustrations, BLACK+DECKER Carpentry Made Simple is an interactive introduction to home carpentry: with great designs.

Each carefully selected project contains lessons and valuable tips...
 
 
Tiny House: Live Small, Dream Big

Brent Heavener · Clarkson Potter
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the founder of the Instagram feed @TinyHouse, which boasts 448k Instagram followers, comes a small, chunky inspiration book filled with photographs of the smallest abodes--from vans and boats to tree houses and cabins. A die-cut cover acts as a window onto a simpler world of lighter...
 
 
Mom and Dad, We Need to Talk: How to Have Essential Conversations with Your Parents About Their Finances

Cameron Huddleston · Wiley
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Learn to start open, productive talks about money with your parents as they age

As your parents age, you may find that you want or need to broach the often-difficult subject of finances. In Mom and Dad, We Need to Talk: How to Have Essential Conversations with Your Parents...

 
 
The Math Book

DK · DK
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Discover more than 85 of the most important mathematical ideas, theorems, and proofs ever devised, and the great minds behind them, with this original, graphics-led book.

Applying the Big Ideas Simply Explained series' trademark combination of authoritative, accessible text...
 
 
A Fortune for Your Disaster

Hanif Abdurraqib · Tin House Books
Pages: 108
Format: Paperback

In his much-anticipated follow-up to The Crown Ain't Worth Much, poet, essayist, biographer, and music critic Hanif Abdurraqib has written a book of poems about how one rebuilds oneself after a heartbreak, the kind that renders them a different version of themselves than the one they...

 
 
Beginner's Guide to Kirigami: 24 Skill-Building Projects Using Origami & Papercrafting Skills

Ghylenn Descamps · Fox Chapel Publishing
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

If you enjoy origami or papercrafting, you'll love kirigami!24 projects for handmade greeting cards, vases, gift boxes, lanterns, holiday decorations, and moreCombine origami & papercrafts to discover a new Japanese art & crafting hobbyDesigns include animals, sentiments, succulents,...

 
 
Amazing Train Journeys

Lonely Planet · Lonely Planet
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Experience 60 of the world's greatest and most unforgettable train journeys, from classic long-distance trips like Western Canada's Rocky Mountaineer and Darwin to Adelaide's The Ghan, to little-known gems on regular commuting lines.

We've always had a soft spot for trains. We know...

 
 
Being at Your Best When Your Kids Are at Their Worst: Practical Compassion in Parenting

Kim John Payne · Shambhala
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A practical, meditative approach that can be used in the moment to help you stay calm and balanced when your child's behavior is pushing you to your limit--by the popular author of Simplicity Parenting.

When children are at their most difficult and challenging situations arise,...
 
 
DIY for Dog Lovers: 36 Paw-some Canine Crafts

Kat Roberts · Lark Crafts
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Bow-wow-WOW! Get your DIY on with these 36 fun dog-themed projects for you and your pet.

From a cute Pomeranian mug to a bone-shaped welcome mat, this companion to Crafting for Cat Ladies features 36 charming projects for dog lovers and their four-legged friends. There...
 
 
Yale Needs Women: How the First Group of Girls Rewrote the Rules of an Ivy League Giant

Anne Gardiner Perkins · Sourcebooks
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Perkins makes the story of these early and unwitting feminist pioneers come alive against the backdrop of the contemporaneous civil rights and anti-war movements of the 1970s, and offers observations that remain eerily relevant on U.S. campuses today." -- Edward B. Fiske,...