Back WEEKLY STAFF PICKS | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  WEEKLY STAFF PICKS  
A Simple Favor: A Novel
A Simple Favor: A Novel

Darcey Bell · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River of Kings: A Novel
The River of Kings: A Novel

Taylor Brown · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"The most exciting literary adventure fiction I've read since Deliverance." -Howard Frank Mosher, author of God's KingdomIn The River of Kings, bestselling author of Fallen Land Taylor Brown artfully weaves three narrative strands -- two brothers' journey down an ancient river,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Arrangement: A Novel
The Arrangement: A Novel

Sarah Dunn · Little
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A hilarious and emotionally charged novel about a couple who embark on an open marriage-what could possibly go wrong? Lucy and Owen, ambitious, thoroughly-therapized New Yorkers, have taken the plunge, trading in their crazy life in a cramped apartment for Beekman, a bucolic Hudson Valley...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Short History: A Novel
Our Short History: A Novel

Lauren Grodstein · Algonquin Of Chapel Hill
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"In Our Short History, Lauren grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's bigger--and stronger--than before. This novel will leave you appreciating both the messiness of life and the immense depths of love." - Celeste Ng, author of Everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mississippi Blood: A Novel
Mississippi Blood: A Novel

Greg Iles · William Morrow
Pages: 694
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times Bestselling AuthorThe endgame is at hand for Penn Cage, his family, and the enemies bent on destroying them in this revelatory volume in the epic trilogy set in modern-day Natchez, Mississippi - Greg Iles's epic tale of love and honor, hatred and revenge that explores...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cutaway: A Novel
The Cutaway: A Novel

Christina Kovac · 37 INK
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.When brilliant TV news producer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane
The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

Lisa See · Scribner
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple.Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Captain Fantastic: Elton John's Stellar Trip Through the '70s
Captain Fantastic: Elton John's Stellar Trip Through the '70s

Tom Doyle · Ballantine Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Based on rare one-on-one interviews with the flamboyant rock 'n' roll icon, this is the first book to trace Elton John's meteoric rise from obscurity to worldwide celebrity in the wildest, weirdest decade of the twentieth century. In August 1970, Elton John achieved overnight fame with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scared Selfless: My Journey from Abuse and Madness to Surviving and Thriving
Scared Selfless: My Journey from Abuse and Madness to Surviving and Thriving

Michelle Stevens · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Michelle Stevens has a photo of the exact moment her childhood was stolen from her. In it, she's only eight years old and posing for her mother's beguiling boyfriend, Gary Lundquist - an elementary school teacher, neighborhood stalwart, and brutal pedophile. Later that night, Gary locks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Colony in a Nation
A Colony in a Nation

Chris Hayes · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

New York Times best-selling author and Emmy Award-winning news anchor Chris Hayes argues that there are really two Americas: a Colony and a Nation.America likes to tell itself that it inhabits a postracial world, yet nearly every empirical measure -- wealth, unemployment, incarceration,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolution for Dummies: Laughing through the Arab Spring
Revolution for Dummies: Laughing through the Arab Spring

Bassem Youssef · Dey Street Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"The Jon Stewart of the Arabic World" - the creator of The Program, the most popular television show in Egypt's history - chronicles his transformation from heart surgeon to political satirist, and offers crucial insight into the Arab Spring, the Egyptian Revolution, and the turmoil...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Thought This Was a Good Idea?: And Other Questions You Should Have Answers to When You Work in the White House
Who Thought This Was a Good Idea?: And Other Questions You Should Have Answers to When You Work in the White House

Alyssa Mastromonaco · Twelve
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

If your funny older sister were the former deputy chief of staff to President Barack Obama, her behind-the-scenes political memoir would look something like this. WHO THOUGHT THIS WAS A GOOD IDEA? is an intimate and admiring portrait of a president, a candid book of advice for young women,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vicious Circle
Vicious Circle

C J Box · G. P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The past comes back to haunt game warden Joe Pickett and his family with devastating effect in the thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times-bestselling author C. J. Box.The plane circled in the dark. Joe Pickett could just make out down below a figure in the snow and timber, and then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mercies in Disguise: A Story of Hope, a Family's Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them
Mercies in Disguise: A Story of Hope, a Family's Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them

Gina Kolata · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The phone rings. The doctor from California is on the line. "Are you ready Amanda?" The two people Amanda Baxley loves the most had begged her not to be tested -- at least, not now. But she had to find out.If your family carried a mutated gene that foretold a brutal illness and you were...
Read More check catalog