Back Weekly Staff Picks | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Regretting You

Colleen Hoover · Montlake Romance
Format: Paperback

From #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us comes a poignant novel about family, first love, grief, and betrayal that will touch the hearts of both mothers and daughters.

Morgan Grant and her sixteen-year-old daughter, Clara, would like nothing more...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of a Goat

Perumal Murugan · Grove Press, Black Cat
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

As he did in the award-winning One Part Woman, in his newest novel, The Story of a Goat, Perumal Murugan explores a side of India that is rarely considered in the West: the rural lives of the country's farming community. He paints a bucolic yet sometimes menacing portrait,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All That's Bright and Gone: A Novel

Eliza Nellums · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jodi Picoult and Fredrik Backman will fall for this tenderhearted debut mystery following a young girl on a quest to save her family.

I know my brother is dead. But sometimes Mama gets confused.

There's plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dead Girls Club: A Novel

Damien Angelica Walters · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

A supernatural thriller in the vein of A Head Full of Ghosts about two young girls, a scary story that becomes far too real, and the tragic--and terrifying--consequences that follow one of them into adulthood.

Red Lady, Red Lady, show us your face...

In 1991,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wonderful

Saskia Sarginson · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

A sweeping and turbulent drama about the anxieties of postwar Britain, where one strong and inspirational young woman looks to find her place, no matter the cost.

Sometimes, the truth lies in fiction

It's hard to be an American girl in 1957. Especially when your dad's job means...

Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Diet: The Groundbreaking Science of Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss

Michael Greger M.D. FACLM · Flatiron Books
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

Discover the cutting-edge science behind long-term weight loss success, in this powerful new book from the New York Times bestselling author of How Not to Die.

Every month seems to bring a trendy new diet or weight loss fad -- and yet obesity rates continue to rise,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Shatter the Night: A Detective Gemma Monroe Mystery

Emily Littlejohn · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An enthralling, atmospheric new novel from Emily Littlejohn, author of acclaimed debut Inherit the Bones, featuring Colorado police officer Gemma Monroe.

It's Halloween night in Cedar Valley. During the town's annual festival, Detective Gemma Monroe takes a break from trick...

Read More check catalog
 
 
RESTORING YOUR HISTORIC HOUSE : the comprehensive guide for homeowners

SCOTT T HANSON · TILBURY
Format: Print book


Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kill Club

Wendy Heard · MIRA
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

Jazz will stop at nothing to save her brother.Their foster mother, Carol, has always been fanatical, but with Jazz grown up and out of the house, Carol takes a dangerous turn that threatens thirteen-year-old Joaquin's life. Over and over, child services fails to intervene, and Joaquin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Reagan Sent In the Marines: The Invasion of Lebanon

Patrick J. Sloyan · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

"In this formidable narrative, the prize-winning and super honest reporter, Patrick Sloyan, adds the depth of a scholar's context to produce a gripping reminder of why we should never forget history. He makes readers feel like they were eye witnesses." -- Ralph NaderFrom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Light of All That Falls

James Islington · Orbit
Pages: 704
Format: Hardcover

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy BlogThe Light of All that Falls concludes the epic adventure that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. The Boundary is whole...
Read More check catalog