Back Weekly Staff Picks | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Sweet Little Lies: A Novel

CAZ FREAR · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this gripping debut procedural, a young London policewoman must probe dark secrets buried deep in her own family's past to solve a murder and a long-ago disappearance.Your father is a liar. But is he a killer? Even liars tell the truth . . . sometimes.Twenty-six-year-old Cat Kinsella...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution's Lost Hero

Christian Di Spigna · Crown
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A rich and illuminating biography of America's forgotten Founding Father, the patriot physician and major general who fomented rebellion and died heroically at the battle of Bunker Hill on the brink of revolutionLittle has been known of one of the most important figures in early American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Line That Held Us

David Joy · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From critically acclaimed author David Joy comes a remarkable novel about the cover-up of an accidental death, and the dark consequences that reverberate through the lives of four people who will never be the same again.When Darl Moody went hunting after a monster buck he's chased for years,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert

Karen Piper · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A poignant, surreal, and fearlessly honest look at growing up on one of the most secretive weapons installations on earth, by a young woman who came of age with missilesThe China Lake missile range is located in a huge stretch of the Mojave Desert, about the size of the state of Delaware....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flights

Olga Tokarczuk · Riverhead Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Longlisted for the Man Booker International PrizeA visionary work of fiction with "echoes of Sebald [and] Kundera . . . [There's] no better travel companion in these turbulent, fanatical times" (The Guardian) .A seventeenth-century Dutch anatomist discovers the Achilles tendon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Up From Freedom

WAYNE GRADY · Doubleday Canada
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development.As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shakespeare Requirement: A Novel

Julie Schumacher · Doubleday
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune keep hitting beleaguered English professor Jason Fitger right between the eyes in this hilarious and eagerly awaited sequel to the cult classic of anhedonic academe, the Thurber Prize-winning Dear Committee Members. Once more into the breach...Now...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hard Stuff: Dope, Crime, the MC5, and My Life of Impossibilities

WAYNE KRAMER · Da Capo Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Memoir by Wayne Kramer, legendary guitarist and cofounder of quintessential Detroit proto-punk legends The MC5 In January 1969, before the world heard a note of their music, The MC5 was on the cover of Rolling Stone. The missing link between free jazz and punk rock, they were raw, primal,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Imperfect Courage: Live a Life of Purpose by Leaving Comfort and Going Scared

Jessica Honegger · WaterBrook
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The founder of the popular fair trade jewelry brand Noonday Collection shares her story of starting the rapid-growing business that impacts over 4,400 artisans in vulnerable communities across the globe and invites readers on a journey of transformation, challenging them to trade their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cut Out Girl: A Story of War and Family, Lost and Found

Bart Van Es · Penguin Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary true story of a young Jewish girl in Holland under Nazi occupation who finds refuge in the homes of an underground network of foster families, one of them the author's grandparents Bart van Es left Holland for England many years ago, but one story from his Dutch childhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let Me Be Like Water

S K PERRY · Melville House
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

'Intimate, ruthless, tender: this book is like medicine for the soul.' Nina George, author of The Little Paris BookshopA beautifully poignant and poetic debut about love, loss, friendship, and ultimately, starting over.Twenty-something Holly has moved to Brighton to escape. But now that...
Read More check catalog