Back Weekly Staff Picks | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Black Widow: A Sad-Funny Journey Through Grief for People Who Normally Avoid Books with Words Like "Journey" in the Title

Leslie Gray Streeter · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

With her signature warmth, hilarity, and tendency to overshare, Leslie Gray Streeter gives us real talk about love, loss, grief, and healing in your own way that "will make you laugh and cry, sometimes on the same page" (James Patterson) .
Leslie Gray Streeter is not cut out for widowhood....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hot Hand: The Mystery and Science of Streaks

Ben Cohen · Custom House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant and buoyant investigation into the existence (or not) of streaks, from a rising star at the Wall Street Journal.

For decades, statisticians, social scientists, psychologists, and economists (among them Nobel Prize winners) have spent massive amounts of precious...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Untamed

Glennon Doyle · The Dial Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In her most revealing and powerful book yet, the beloved activist, speaker, and author of the bestselling sensations Love Warrior and Carry On, Warrior explores the joy and peace we discover when we stop striving to meet the expectations of the world, and start trusting the voice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mirror & the Light

Hilary Mantel · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

"If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?"

England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors....

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Good Neighborhood

Therese Anne Fowler · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Therese Anne Fowler has taken the ingredients of racism, justice, and conservative religion and has concocted a feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good." -- Jodi Picoult, #1 New York...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Capital and Ideology

Thomas Piketty · Belknap Press
Pages: 1104
Format: Hardcover

The epic successor to one of the most important books of the century: at once a retelling of global history, a scathing critique of contemporary politics, and a bold proposal for a new and fairer economic system.

Thomas Piketty's bestselling Capital in the Twenty-First Century...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Dark Vanessa: A Novel

Kate Elizabeth Russell · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"A hard story to read and a harder one to put down . . . a well-constructed package of dynamite." - Stephen King

Exploring the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teenage girl and her magnetic and manipulative teacher, a brilliant,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
New Waves: A Novel

Kevin Nguyen · One World
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Set in the New York City tech world, a wry and edgy debut novel about a heist gone wrong, a secret online life exposed, and a young man's search for true connection

Lucas and Margo are fed up. Margo is a brilliant programmer tired of being talked over as the company's sole black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Powershift: Transform Any Situation, Close Any Deal, and Achieve Any Outcome

Daymond John · DOUBLEDAY & CO
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author and Shark Tank star Daymond John reveals the secrets to cultivating influence, building relationships, and negotiating your way to any deal or outcome.

Getting what you want in life is all about relationships: establishing them, leveraging them at the right...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Precious You: A Novel

Helen Monks Takhar · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller - for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You.

Trusting you was my first mistake.

To Katherine, twenty-four-year-old Lily Lunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hunt for History: On the Trail of the World's Lost Treasures―from the Letters of Lincoln, Churchill, and Einstein to the Secret Recordings Onboard JFK's Air Force One

Nathan Raab · Scribner
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Nathan Raab, America's preeminent rare documents dealer, describes his years as the Sherlock Holmes of historical artifacts - questing after precious finds and determining their authenticity - and he shows us what the past can tell us about the present.A box uncovered in a Maine attic...
Read More check catalog