Back WEEKLY STAFF PICKS | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  WEEKLY STAFF PICKS  
American Street

Ibi Zoboi · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winter of the Gods

Jordanna Max Brodsky · Orbit
Pages: 461
Format: Print book

"The Immortals is a lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny in contemporary urban life. "--Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches Manhattan has many...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel

George Saunders · Random House
Pages: 341
Format: Print book

The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December: a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and inventedFebruary 1862. The Civil War is less than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Undesired: A Thriller

Yrsa Sigurdardottir · Minotaur Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Aldis hates her job working in a juvenile detention center in rural Iceland. The boys are difficult, the owners are unpleasant, and there are mysterious noises at night. And then two of the boys go astray . . .Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the center....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Divided Spy

Charles Cumming · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

"A convincing and gripping spy thriller with a clever, twisty plot, believable characters and an abundance of credible spy lore. Highly recommended." -- The Age"Astonishingly masterful . . . riveting." -- Valerie Plame, New York Times bestselling author of Fair GameThomas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gunmetal Gray

Mark Greaney · Berkley Pub Group
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Mark Greaney, the #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan novels, delivers another breakneck thriller following the world's deadliest assassin - the Gray Man ... After five years on the run Court Gentry is back on the inside at the CIA. But his first mission...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

Jennifer Ryan · Crown
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

"Just because the men have gone to war, why do we have to close the choir? And precisely when we need it most!" As England enters World War II's dark early days, spirited music professor Primrose Trent, recently arrived to the village of Chilbury, emboldens the women of the town...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Night at Tremore Beach: A Novel

Mikel Santiago · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

What starts out as an idyllic summer holiday on the Irish coast soon becomes a living nightmare with unpredictable consequences for a world-renowned composer and his family in this chilling psychological thriller.Recently divorced and in the middle of a creative crisis, Peter Harper decides...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fortunate Ones: A Novel

Ellen Umansky · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

One very special work of art - a Chaim Soutine painting - will connect the lives and fates of two different women, generations apart, in this enthralling and transporting debut novel that moves from World War II Vienna to contemporary Los Angeles.It is 1939 in Vienna, and as the specter...
Read More check catalog