Back WEEKLY STAFF PICKS | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  WEEKLY STAFF PICKS  
Beartown: A Novel

FREDRIK BACKMAN · ATRIA Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry, and Britt-Marie Was Here, comes a poignant, charming novel about a forgotten town fractured by scandal, and the amateur hockey team that might just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Whole Thing Together

Ann Brashares · Delacorte Press
Pages: 304
Format: Book

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ann Brashares's The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series was a worldwide phenomenon, and she's back with a beautifully written novel about love, class differences, and betrayal playing out over the course of a fractured...

Read More check catalog
 
 
I'd Die For You: And Other Lost Stories

F Scott Fitzgerald · Scribner
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A collection including the last complete unpublished short stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the iconic American writer of The Great Gatsby who is more widely read today than ever.

I'd Die For You is a collection of the last remaining unpublished and uncollected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two Paths: America Divided or United

John Kasich · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Two paths.

One choice -- the path that exploits anger, encourages resentment, turns fear into hatred and divides people. This path solves nothing, demeans our history, weakens our country and cheapens each of us. It has but one beneficiary and that is to the politician...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Single Spy

William Christie · Minotaur Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

"A single spy -- in the right place and at the right moment -- may change the course of history."

Alexsi Ivanovich Smirnov, an orphan and a thief, has been living by his wits and surviving below the ever-watchful eye of the Soviet system until his luck...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Leading Lady: Sherry Lansing and the Making of a Hollywood Groundbreaker

Stephen Galloway · Harmony Books
Pages: 416
Format: Book

The definitive biography of movie executive and philanthropist Sherry Lansing traces her groundbreaking journey to become the first female head of a major motion picture studio, shares behind-the-scenes tales from movie sets and Hollywood boardrooms, and explains what inspired her to walk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walkaway

Cory Doctorow · Tor Books
Pages: 379
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Cory Doctorow, an epic tale of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end of death.

"Walkaway is now the best contemporary example I know of, its utopia glimpsed after fascinatingly-extrapolated revolutionary struggle."...

Read More check catalog
 
 
I Found You: A Novel

Lisa Jewell · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell's next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smart Baseball: The Story Behind the Old Stats That Are Ruining the Game, the New Ones That Are Running It, and the Right Way to Think About Baseball

Keith Law · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Predictably Irrational meets Moneyball in ESPN veteran writer and statistical analyst Keith Law's iconoclastic look at the numbers game of baseball, proving why some of the most trusted stats are surprisingly wrong, explaining what numbers actually work, and exploring what the rise of Big Data...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Burntown: A Novel

Jennifer McMahon · Doubleday Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times best-selling author of The Winter People and Promise Not to Tell returns with a riveting psychological thriller in which an unresolved murder haunts a family for generations, forcing one daughter into a life of hiding and concealed identity to escape...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deviate: The Science of Seeing Differently

Beau Lotto · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Beau Lotto, the world-renowned neuroscientist, entrepreneur, and two-time TED speaker, takes us on a tour of how we perceive the world, and how disrupting it leads us to create and innovate.

Perception is the foundation of human experience, but few of us understand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Standard Grand

Jay Baron Nicorvo · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

When an Army trucker goes AWOL before her third deployment, she ends up sleeping in Central Park. There, she meets a Vietnam vet and widower who inherited a tumbledown Borscht Belt resort. Converted into a halfway house for homeless veterans, the Standard -- and its two thousand acres...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Samin Nosrat · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Hope Island : Britain, occupied Europe, and the brotherhood that helped turn the tide of war

Lynne Olson · Random House
Pages: 576
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking account of how Britain became the base of operations for the exiled leaders of Europe in their desperate struggle to reclaim their continent from Hitler, from the New York Times bestselling author of Citizens of London and Those Angry Days

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Operator

Robert O'Neill · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Book

A stirringly evocative, thought-provoking, and often jaw-dropping account, The Operator ranges across SEAL Team Operator Robert O'Neill's awe-inspiring four-hundred-mission career, which included his involvement in attempts to rescue "Lone Survivor" Marcus...

Read More check catalog
 
 
There Is No F*cking Secret: Letters From a Badass Bitch

KELLY OSBOURNE · PUTNAM
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

People ask Kelly Osbourne all the time: "What's your secret?"

Kelly Osbourne may not always have been a typical role model, but no one can say that her perspective isn't hard won after spending three decades in the spotlight: from growing up completely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Rivers: A Novel

Dorit Rabinyan · Random House
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

A controversial, award-winning story about the passionate but untenable affair between an Israeli woman and a Palestinian man, from one of Israel's most acclaimed novelists

When Liat meets Hilmi on a blustery autumn afternoon in Greenwich Village, she finds herself unwillingly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience and Finding Joy

SHERYL SANDBERG · ALFRED A KNOPF
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

From the Facebook COO and #1 New York Times best-selling author of Lean In, and the #1 New York Times best-selling author of Originals: a powerful, inspiring and practical book about finding resilience and moving forward after life's inevitable setbacks.
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Startup: A Novel

DOREE SHAFRIR · LITTLE
Pages: 304
Format: Book


One of the most anticipated books of 2017--Vulture, BuzzFeed, The Millions, Nylon, and Book Riot's "All the Books" Podcast. 

From veteran online journalist and BuzzFeed writer Doree Shafrir comes a hilarious debut novel that proves there...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln's Lieutenants: The High Command of the Army of the Potomac

Stephen W Sears · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 866
Format: Print book

From the best-selling author of Gettysburg, a multilayered group biography of the commanders who led the Army of the Potomac

The high command of the Army of the Potomac was a changeable, often dysfunctional band of brothers, going through the fires of war under seven...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Saint Death: A Novel

Marcus Sedgwick · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A propulsive, compelling, and unsparing novel set in the grimly violent world of the human and drug trade on the US-Mexican border.

On the outskirts of Juarez, Arturo scrapes together a living working odd jobs and staying out of sight. But his friend Faustino is in trouble:...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Hand: The Epic War Between a Brilliant Detective and the Deadliest Secret Society in American History

Stephan Talty · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The gripping true story of the origins of the mafia in America - and the brilliant Italian-born detective who gave his life to stop it
*Film rights optioned by Paramount Studios, starring Leonardo DiCaprio*

Beginning in the summer of 1903, an insidious crime wave...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anything Is Possible: A Novel

Elizabeth Strout · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout comes a brilliant latticework of fiction that recalls Olive Kitteridge in its richness, structure, and complexity. Written in tandem with My Name Is Lucy Barton and drawing on the small-town...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Ty Tashiro · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward - and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

As humans, we all need...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witchfinder's Sister

Beth Underdown · Ballantine
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe.

Before Salem, there was Manningtree....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Borne: A Novel

Jeff VanderMeer · MCD
Pages: 336
Format: Book

Named one of the most anticipated books of 2017 by The New York Times, The Huffington Post, Book Riot, Chicago Reader, The Week, and Publishers Weekly.

In Borne, a young woman named Rachel survives...

Read More check catalog