Back WEEKLY STAFF PICKS | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  WEEKLY STAFF PICKS  
The Late Show

Michael Connelly · Little
Pages: 31
Format: Hardcover

"Renée Ballard works the night shift in Hollywood, beginning many investigations but finishing none as each morning she turns her cases over to day shift detectives. A once up-and-coming detective, she's been given this beat as punishment after filing a sexual harassment complaint...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency

ANONYMOUS. · Penguin Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the reporter who was there at the very beginning comes the revealing inside story of the partnership between Steve Bannon and Donald Trump - the key to understanding the rise of the alt-right, the fall of Hillary Clinton, and the hidden forces that drove the greatest upset in American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look Behind You

IRIS JOHANSEN · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A serial killer is on the loose in San Diego, and he has a most unusual M.O.: With each kill, he leaves behind objects with unclear meanings. Most of the recent killings are centered near Kendra Michaels' home and office, so it comes as no great surprise when the FBI shows up at her door....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Putin: His Downfall and Russia's Coming Crash

Richard Lourie · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An electrifying and timely book, by leading Russian expert Richard Lourie, that explores Putin's failures and whether Trump's election gives Putin extraordinarily dangerous opportunities in our mad new world.For reasons that are made clear in this book, Putin's Russia will collapse just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Breakdown: A Novel

B A PARIS · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Named One of the Most Anticipated Thriller Novels Of 2017 by Bustle!THE NEW CHILLING, PROPULSIVE NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.If you can't trust yourself, who can you trust?Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

BRITT COLLINS · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Distant View of Everything: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel (11)

ALEXANDER MCCALL SMITH · PANTHEON
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

In this latest installment of Alexander McCall Smith's ever-delightful and perennially best-selling series, amateur sleuth and philosopher Isabel Dalhousie is called upon to help when a matchmaker begins to question her latest match.A new baby brings an abundance of joy to Isabel Dalhousie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Women Who Flew for Hitler: A True Story of Soaring Ambition and Searing Rivalry

CLARE MULLEY · ST MARTIN'S Press
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Despite Hitler's dictates on women's place being in the home, two fiercely defiant female pilots were awarded the Iron Cross during the Second World War. Other than this unique distinction and a passion for flying that bordered on addiction, these women could not have been less alike. One was Aryan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fallen

ACE ATKINS · PUTNAM
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

A classic southern tale of backroom deals, tainted honor, dysfunctional family, high-stakes greed - and everyday heroism - from the New York Times-bestselling author. Mississippi sheriff Quinn Colson had to admit he admired the bank robbers. A new bank was hit almost every week, and the robbers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stars in Our Eyes: The Famous, the Infamous, and Why We Care Way Too Much About Them

JULIE KLAM · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Julie Klam comes a lively and engaging exploration of celebrity: why celebrities fascinate us, what it means to be famous today, and why celebrities are so important. "When I was young I was convinced celebrities could save me," Julie Klam admits in The Stars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blame

Jeff Abbott · Grand Central Pub
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author Jeff AbbottBLAMEThe crash that killed himTwo years ago, Jane Norton crashed her car on a lonely road, killing her friend David and leaving her with amnesia. At first, everyone was sympathetic. Then they found Jane's note: I wish we were dead together.A...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beautiful Animals: A Novel

Lawrence Osborne · Hogarth
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A new novel by the author of THE FORGIVEN, about a Mediterranean vacation that takes a terrifying turn On a hike during a white-hot summer break on the Greek island of Hydra, Naomi and Samantha make a startling discovery: a man named Faoud, sleeping heavily, exposed to the elements, but still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Library of Light and Shadow: A Novel

M J Rose · Atria Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In this riveting and richly drawn novel from "one of the master storytellers of historical fiction" (New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams) , a talented young artist flees New York for Paris after one of her scandalous drawings reveals a dark secret - and triggers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Less: A Novel

ANDREW SEAN GREER · LEE BOUDREAUX BOOKS
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Arthur Less, a mid-list novelist, is approaching his 50th birthday, and he needs to grow up. But first he needs to get out: Arthur's much younger, exceedingly beautiful ex-boyfriend is getting married, and the last thing Arthur wants to do is attend the wedding. So he accepts every half-baked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Captain's Daughter: A Novel

Meg Mitchell Moore · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Book

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Hook's Tale: Being the Account of an Unjustly Villainized Pirate Written by Himself

JOHN PIELMEIER · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A rollicking debut novel from award-winning playwright and screenwriter John Pielmeier reimagines the childhood of the much maligned Captain Hook: his quest for buried treasure, his friendship with Peter Pan, and the story behind the swashbuckling world of Neverland.

Long defamed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pretend We Are Lovely: A Novel

Noley Reid · Tin House Books
Pages: 284
Format: Paperback

An absorbing southern saga of family, hunger, and the potentially destructive power of food.

Consuming and big-hearted, Noley Reid's Pretend We Are Lovely details a summer in the life of the Sobel family in 1980s Blacksburg, Virginia, seven years after the tragic and suspicious...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Arabella and the Battle of Venus

DAVID D LEVINE · Tor Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The swashbuckling Arabella Ashby is back for brand new adventure in the ongoing story of her life among the stars.

Arabella's wedding plans to marry Captain Singh of the Honorable Mars Trading Company are interrupted when her fiancé is captured by the French and sent to a prisoner-of-war...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Arrowood: A Novel

Mick Finlay · MIRA
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

1895

London is scared. A killer haunts the city's streets; the poor are hungry; crime bosses are taking control; the police force is stretched to the breaking point.

The rich turn to Sherlock Holmes, but the celebrated private detective rarely visits the densely populated...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Epiphany Machine

David Burr Gerrard · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Everyone else knows the truth about you, now you can know it, too.

That's the slogan. The product: a junky contraption that tattoos personalized revelations on its users' forearms. It's an old con, playing on the fear that we are obvious to everybody except ourselves....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Body in the Clouds: A Novel

Ashley Hay · Washington Square Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

From the acclaimed author of the "exquisitely written and deeply felt" (Geraldine Brooks, author of The Secret Chord) novel The Railwayman's Wife comes a magical and gorgeously wrought tale of an astonishing event that connects three people across three hundred...
Read More check catalog