Back Weekly Staff Picks | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Normal People: A Novel

Sally Rooney · Hogarth
Pages: 272
Format: Book

At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud and intensely private. But when Connell comes to pick his mother up from her job at Marianne's house, a strange and indelible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Is a Party: Deliciously Doable Recipes to Make Every Day a Celebration

David Burtka · Grand Central Life & Style
Pages: 304
Format: Book

Chef, actor, and entertaining authority David Burtka knows that every day can be a party. Over a lifetime of throwing epic gatherings, the Cordon Bleu-trained Burtka has perfected the formula for creating easy and perfect get-togethers at home. Now, in the pages of his debut cookbook, he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miracle Creek: A Novel

Angie Kim · Sarah Crichton Books
Pages: 368
Format: Book

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine -- a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beneficiary: Fortune, Misfortune, and the Story of My Father

Janny Scott · Riverhead Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A parable for the new age of inequality: part family history, part detective story, part history of a vanishing class, and a vividly compelling exploration of the degree to which an inheritance - financial, cultural, genetic - conspired in one person's self-destruction.Land, houses, and money...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Binding: A Novel

Bridget Collins · William Morrow
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives.Imagine you could erase grief.Imagine you could remove pain.Imagine you could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flowers over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti · Soho Crime
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

Ilaria Tuti's thriller debut explores a remote community in Northern Italy - a place of secrets, eerie folktales, and primal instincts. In a quiet village surrounded by ancient woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a man is found naked with his eyes gouged out. It is the first in a string...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolutionaries: A novel

Joshua Furst · Knopf
Pages: 352
Format: Book

In his second novel, the acclaimed author of The Sabotage Cafe leads us on a long, strange trip through the heart of the sixties and beyond, as seen through the eyes of the revolution's poster child. Fred is the sole offspring of Lenny Snyder, the famous (or notorious) pied piper...
Read More check catalog
 
 
White

Bret Easton Ellis · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Combining personal reflection and social observation, Bret Easton Ellis's first work of nonfiction is an incendiary polemic about this young century's failings, e-driven and otherwise, and at once an example, definition, and defense of what "freedom of speech" truly means.Bret...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Under the Table: A Novel

Stephanie Evanovich · William Morrow
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of Big Girl Panties puts a modern twist on My Fair Lady in this funny, romantic confection in which a canny young woman makes over her awkward millionaire client . . . with some hot, sexy, and surprising results.Suffocating in a dead-end marriage, Midwesterner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feast Your Eyes: A Novel

Myla Goldberg · Scribner
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The first novel in nearly a decade from Myla Goldberg, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Bee Season - a compelling and wholly original story about a female photographer grappling with ambition and motherhood, a balancing act familiar to women of every generation.Feast...
Read More check catalog