Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Girl: A Novel

Edna O'Brien · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Girl, Edna O'Brien's hotly anticipated new novel, envisages the lives of the Boko Haram girls in a masterpiece of violence and tenderness.

I was a girl once, but not anymore.

So begins Girl, Edna O'Brien's harrowing portrayal of the young women abducted...

 
 
Mixtape Potluck Cookbook: A Dinner Party for Friends, Their Recipes, and the Songs They Inspire

Questlove · Abrams Image
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

What if Questlove threw a potluck dinner, and everybody came? He picked the guests. The guests picked the recipes. The result is the ultimate potluck cookbook

Questlove is best known for his achievements in the music world, but his interest in food runs a close second. He has hosted...
 
 
Your House Will Pay: A Novel

Steph Cha · Ecco
Pages: 320
Format: Book

In the wake of the police shooting of a black teenager, Los Angeles is as tense as it's been since the unrest of the early 1990s. But Grace Park and Shawn Matthews have their own problems. Grace is sheltered and largely oblivious, living in the Valley with her Korean-immigrant parents,...

 
 
Unashamed: Musings of a Fat, Black Muslim

Leah Vernon · Beacon Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A searingly honest memoir of one young woman's journey toward self-acceptance as she comes to see her body as a symbol of rebellion and hope and chooses to live her life unapologetically.

Ever since she was little, Leah Vernon was told what to believe and how to act. There wasn't...
 
 
The Art of Theft

Sherry Thomas · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Charlotte Holmes, Lady Sherlock, is back solving new cases in the Victorian-set mystery series from the USA Today bestselling author of The Hollow of Fear.

As "Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective," Charlotte Holmes has solved murders and found missing individuals....
 
 
The Body: A Guide for Occupants

Bill Bryson · Doubleday
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As compulsively readable as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody.

Bill Bryson...
 
 
Good Man Gone Bad: An Aaron Gunner Mystery

Prospect Park Books · Prospect Park Books
Pages: 240
Format: Book

Hard times are nothing new for private investigator Aaron Gunner. Working on the mean streets of South Central Los Angeles, he's seen more than his fair share of trouble. But when his cousin and confidante Del Curry commits suicide after allegedly killing his wife and critically...

 
 
The First Cell: And the Human Costs of Pursuing Cancer to the Last

Azra Raza · Basic Books
Pages: 368
Format: Book

In The First Cell, Azra Raza offers a searing account of how both medicine and our society (mis) treats cancer, how we can do better, and why we must. A lyrical journey from hope to despair and back again, The First Cell explores cancer from every angle: medical, scientific,...

 
 
Curious Toys

Elizabeth Hand · Mulholland Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry)

In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old...
 
 
The Less People Know About Us: A Mystery of Betrayal, Family Secrets, and Stolen Identity

Axton Betz-Hamilton · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In this powerful true crime memoir, an award-winning identity theft expert tells the shocking story of the duplicity and betrayal that inspired her career and nearly destroyed her family.Axton Betz-Hamilton grew up in small-town Indiana in the early '90s. When she was 11 years old,...
 
 
Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA

Amaryllis Fox · Knopf
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Amaryllis Fox's riveting memoir tells the story of her ten years in the most elite clandestine ops unit of the CIA, hunting the world's most dangerous terrorists in sixteen countries while marrying and giving birth to a daughterAmaryllis Fox was in her last year as an undergraduate...