Toledo Lucas County Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Riots I Have Known

Ryan Chapman · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

"[A] gritty, bracing debut novel...a satirical look at mass incarceration and the liberating power of the written word." - Esquire "Dazzling...Supremely mischievous and sublimely written, this is a stellar work." - Publishers Weekly (starred review) An electric,...
 
 
Truth Worth Telling: A Reporter's Search for Meaning in the Stories of Our Times

Scott Pelley · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring memoir from the front lines of history by award-winning 60 Minutes correspondent Scott PelleyDon't ask the meaning of life. Life is asking, what's the meaning of you?With this provocative question, Truth Worth Telling introduces us to unforgettable people who discovered the meaning...
 
 
Deception Cove

Owen Laukkanen · Mulholland Books
Pages: 372
Format: Hardcover

For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, a new thriller set in remote Washington State, where a widowed ex-Marine and a misanthropic ex-convict grudgingly team up to save the only thing they have in common--the rescue dog who changed both their lives. Widowed while deployed overseas, former...
 
 
The Impeachers: The Trial of Andrew Johnson and the Dream of a Just Nation

Brenda Wineapple · Random House
Pages: 576
Format: Hardcover

"This absorbing and important book recounts the titanic struggle over the implications of the Civil War amid the impeachment of a defiant and temperamentally erratic American president." - Jon Meacham, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Soul of America When Abraham Lincoln was assassinated...
 
 
Star-Crossed: A Novel

Minnie Darke · Crown
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Sometimes even destiny needs a little bit of help. When childhood sweethearts Justine (Sagittarius and serious skeptic) and Nick (Aquarius and true believer) bump into each other as adults, a life-changing love affair seems inevitable. To Justine, anyway. Especially when she learns...
 
 
The Edge of Every Day: Sketches of Schizophrenia

Marin Sardy · Pantheon
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The debut of an important new literary voice: an extraordinarily affecting, fiercely intelligent memoir that unflinchingly traces the path of the schizophrenia that runs in the author's family.Against the starkly beautiful backdrop of Anchorage, Alaska, where the author grew up, Marin...
 
 
Biloxi: A Novel

Mary Miller · Liveright
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Mary Miller seizes the mantle of southern literature with this wry tale of middle age and the unexpected turns a life can take. Like her predecessors Ann Beattie and Raymond Carver, Mary Miller brings an essential voice to her generation. Building on her critically acclaimed novel, The Last...
 
 
How to Forget: A Daughter's Memoir

Kate Mulgrew · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this profoundly honest and examined memoir about returning to Iowa to care for her ailing parents, the star of Orange Is the New Black and bestselling author of Born with Teeth takes us on an unexpected journey of loss, betrayal, and the transcendent nature of a daughter's love for her parents....
 
 
The Confessions of Frannie Langton: A Novel

Sara Collins · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A servant and former slave is accused of murdering her employer and his wife in this astonishing historical thriller that moves from a Jamaican sugar plantation to the fetid streets of Georgian London - a remarkable literary debut with echoes of Alias Grace, The Underground Railroad, and The Paying...
 
 
Vessel: A Novel

Lisa A. Nichols · Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An astronaut returns to Earth after losing her entire crew to an inexplicable disaster, but is her version of what happened in space the truth? Or is there more to the story ... . A tense, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Dark Matter and The Martian. After Catherine Wells's ship...