Back Animals | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Animals  
Mammals of the National Parks

John H Burde · The Johns Hopkins University Press
Pages: 224

From the stunning seascapes of Acadia to the desert of Death Valley, America's national parks are home to hundreds of species of wild mammals. Captured in vivid photographs, both the mammals and the parks are revealed in this breathtaking book written by two leading experts -- one a forester...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf: Spirit of the Wild : A Celebration of Wolves in Word and image

Diana Landau · Sterling Co.
Pages: 192

"This handsome new book presents the wolf in fact, fiction, legend, folklore, and art, pairing outstanding color photographs and art reproductions with excerpts from writings about wolves. The photos are the work of well-known nature and outdoor photographers, and the writings include...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Race to Save the Lord God Bird

Phillip M Hoose · Farrar
Pages: 196
Format: Book

The tragedy of extinction is explained through the dramatic story of a legendary bird, the Ivory-billed Woodpecker, and of those who tried to possess it, paint it, shoot it, sell it, and, in a last-ditch effort, save it. A powerful saga that sweeps through two hundred years of history,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winterdance: The Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod

Gary Paulsen · Harcourt Brace
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

In the tradition of Jack London, Gary Paulsen presents an unforgettable account of his participation in the 1, 100-mile-long dogsled race called the "Iditarod". For 17 days, Paulsen and his team of dogs endured blinding wind, snowstorms, moose attacks, and more--yet relentlessly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Horses of Proud Spirit

Melanie Sue Bowles · Pineapple Press
Pages: 199
Format: Book

There are approximately seven million horses in the United States. Each year, over 70,000 end up going to slaughter. Hundreds of thousands more are abused, neglected, or abandoned by callous and irresponsible owners. With a heart as big as a pasture, author Melanie Bowles takes some of these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
H Is for Hawk

Helen Macdonald · Jonathan Cape
Pages: 300

"As a child Helen Macdonald was determined to become a falconer. She learned the arcane terminology and read all the classic books, including T.H. White's tortured masterpiece, The Goshawk, which describes White's struggle to train a hawk as a spiritual contest. When her father dies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Top 100 Birding Sites of the World

Dominic Couzens · University of California Press
Pages: 320
Format: Book

King penguins in Antarctica, cassowaries in Queensland, cocks-of-the rock in Peru. This gorgeous book describes the one hundred best bird-watching sites on the planet. Introductory sections give an overview of each continent or region, and then each site is listed and ranked on a country-by-country...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frozen Planet: A World Beyond Imagination

Alastair Fothergill · Firefly Books
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

The ultimate portrait of the earth's Polar Regions.

In 2012 the Discovery Channel will broadcast Frozen Planet, the long-awaited third installment in the BBC Earth series of which Blue Planet: Seas of Life and Planet Earth: As You've...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Seabiscuit: An American Legend

Laura Hillenbrand · Recording for the Blind & Dyslexic
Pages: 453
Format: Audiobook on CD

Seabiscuit was one of the most electrifying and popular attractions in sports history and the single biggest newsmaker in the world in 1938, receiving more coverage than FDR, Hitler, or Mussolini. But his success was a surprise to the racing establishment, which had written off the crooked-legged...
Read More check catalog