Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Psychology & Philosophy
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Run, Spot, Run: The Ethics of Keeping Pets

Jessica Pierce · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

A life shared with pets brings many emotions. We feel love for our companions, certainly, and happiness at the thought that we're providing them with a safe, healthy life. But there's another emotion, less often acknowledged, that can be nearly as powerful: guilt. When we see our cats...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention

Meredith Maran · Penguin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a "lusty, kickass*" post-divorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life's savings, and the collapse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Philosophy Book: From the Vedas to the New Atheists, 250 Milestones in the History of Philosophy

Gregory Bassham · Sterling
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

Philosophy explores the deepest, most fundamental questions of reality - and this accessible and entertaining chronology presents 250 milestones of the most important theories, events, and seminal publications in the field over the last 3,500 years. The brief, engaging entries cover a range...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Phenomenon of Man

Pierre Teilhard de Chardin · Harper Perennial Modern Classics; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

Visionary theologian and evolutionary theorist Pierre Teilhard de Chardin applied his whole life, his tremendous intellect, and his great spiritual faith to building a philosophy that would reconcile religion with the scientific theory of evolution. In this timeless book, which contains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Psychiatrist's Guide to Successful Retirement and Aging: Coping with Change

HMichael Zal · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 258
Format: Hardcover

As the baby boomer generation becomes senior citizens and starts to flood into the last stage of life, a new definition and new expectations of retirement and aging are evolving. This is not your father's way of being an older adult. People today tend not to retire in a traditional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Talk So Little Kids Will Listen: A Survival Guide to Life with Children Ages 2-7

Joanna Faber · Scribner
Pages: 409
Format: Print book

A must-have resource for anyone who lives or works with young kids, with an introduction by Adele Faber, coauthor of How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk, the international mega-bestseller The Boston Globe dubbed "The Parenting Bible."For over thirty-five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Committed: The Battle over Involuntary Psychiatric Care

Dinah Miller · John Hopkins University Press
Pages: 298
Format: Print book

Battle lines have been drawn over involuntary treatment. On one side, there are those who oppose involuntary psychiatric treatments under any condition. Activists who take up this cause often don't acknowledge that psychiatric symptoms can render people dangerous to themselves or others....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creative Change: Why We Resist It . . . How We Can Embrace It

Jennifer Mueller · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

One of the nation's leading psychologists asks why today's corporate leaders desire but reject creative solutions --and finds some surprising conclusions. All corporate CEOs, top executives, and other business leaders say they want creativity and need real innovation in order...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freud: In His Time and Ours

√Člisabeth Roudinesco · Harvard University Press
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

√Člisabeth Roudinesco offers a bold and modern reinterpretation of the iconic founder of psychoanalysis. Based on new archival sources, this is Freud's biography for the twenty-first century -- a critical appraisal, at once sympathetic and impartial, of a genius greatly admired and yet greatly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy as a Dane: 10 Secrets of the Happiest People in the World

Malene Rydahl · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

This international bestseller shows why the Danes are happy and how we can be, too.For decades Denmark has ranked at the top of the world's happiness surveys. How is it that these 5.6 million Danes are so content when they live in a country that is dark and cold nine months of the year...
Read More check catalog