Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Outdoors & Nature
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Big Ones: How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us

Lucy Jones · Anchor
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

By the world-renowned seismologist, a riveting history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to comeEarthquakes, floods, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--they stem from the same forces that give our planet life. Earthquakes give us natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ends of the World: Volcanic Apocalypses, Lethal Oceans, and Our Quest to Understand Earth's Past Mass Extinctions

Peter Brannen · Ecco
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Editors' Choice 2017Forbes Top 10 Best Environment, Climate, and Conservation Book of 2017As new groundbreaking research suggests that climate change played a major role in the most extreme catastrophes in the planet's history, award-winning science journalist Peter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fire in the Sky: Cosmic Collisions, Killer Asteroids, and the Race to Defend Earth

Gordon L. Dillow · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Combining history, pop science, and in-depth reporting, a fascinating account of asteroids that hit Earth long ago, and those streaming toward us now, as well as how we are preparing against asteroid-caused catastrophe.One of these days, warns Gordon Dillow, the Earth will be hit by a comet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Season on the Wind: Inside the World of Spring Migration

Kenn Kaufman · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A close look at one season in one key site that reveals the amazing science and magic of spring bird migration, and the perils of human encroachment. Every spring, billions of birds sweep north, driven by ancient instincts to return to their breeding grounds. This vast parade often goes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them

Dean Kuipers · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan.Some families have to dig hard to find the love that holds them together. Some have to grow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Underland: A Deep Time Journey

Robert Macfarlane · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling, award-winning author of Landmarks and The Old Ways, a haunting voyage into the planet's past and future.Hailed as "the great nature writer of this generation" (Wall Street Journal) , Robert Macfarlane is the celebrated author of books about the intersections...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Elephants

Don Pinnock · Smithsonian Books
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

Amazing photographs of elephants accompany narratives from researchers, scientists, and conservationists celebrating elephants and calling for their preservationAfrican savanna elephants--among the most magnificent and beloved of our fellow mammals--are an extraordinary, social, and intelligent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Planet

Alastair Fothergill · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

With a foreword by Sir David Attenborough, this is the striking photographic companion to the groundbreaking NETFLIX original documentary series, presenting never-before-seen visuals of nature's most intriguing animals in action and the environmental change that has to be seen to be believed.With...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinosaurs Rediscovered: The Scientific Revolution in Paleontology

Michael J. Benton · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this fascinating and accessible overview, renowned paleontologist Michael J. Benton reveals how our understanding of dinosaurs is being transformed by recent fossil finds and new technology.Over the past twenty years, the study of dinosaurs has transformed into a true scientific discipline....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mrs Moreau's Warbler: How Birds Got Their Names

Stephen Moss · Faber & Faber
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

We use names so often that few of us ever pause to wonder about their origins. What do they mean? And where did they come from?From the common starling to the many-colored rush tyrant, the names we have given to birds are some of the most vivid and evocative words in the English language....
Read More check catalog