Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Unwomanly Face of War: An Oral History of Women in World War II

Svetlana Aleksievich · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A long-awaited English translation of the groundbreaking oral history of women in World War II across Europe and Russia - from the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature"A landmark." - Timothy Snyder, author of On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth CenturyFor more than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
God's Wolf: The Life of the Most Notorious of all Crusaders, Scourge of Saladin

Jeffrey Lee · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"[Jeffrey Lee] brings a blockbuster sensibility to this slice of the 12th century Levant." -- Dan Jones, Sunday Times (UK) In a 2010 terrorist plot, Al-Qaeda hid a bomb in a FedEx shipment addressed to Reynald de Chatillon, a knight who had died centuries ago in the crusades....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Curiosities of Paris: An idiosyncratic guide to overlooked delights... hidden in plain sight

Dominique Lesbros · Little Bookroom
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Francophiles and Paris buffs will find something new and fascinating in this timeless guidebook, filed with sites, passageways, hotels, shops, and moreWhat if - walking around Paris - instead of seeing only the Paris of 2017, you glimpsed Paris in Revolutionary times? Or Paris when it was home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street

Sheelah Kolhatkar · Random House
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The story of the billionaire trader Steven A. Cohen, the rise and fall of his hedge fund, SAC Capital, and the largest insider trading investigation in history - for readers of The Big Short, Den of Thieves, and Dark Money. The rise over the last two decades...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek

Howard Markel · Pantheon
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

From the much admired medical historian, author of An Anatomy of Addiction, the story of the two Kellogg brothers: one who became America's most beloved physician between the mid-nineteenth century and World War II, a best-selling author, lecturer and health magazine publisher who was read...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stanton: Lincoln's War Secretary

WALTER STAHR · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 720
Format: Hardcover

Walter Stahr, award-winning author of the New York Times bestseller Seward, tells the story of Abraham Lincoln's indispensable Secretary of War, Edwin Stanton, the man the president entrusted with raising the army that preserved the Union.Of the crucial men close to President Lincoln,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories

Laura Shapiro · Viking
Pages: 307
Format: Hardcover

"A collection of deft portraits in which food supplies an added facet to the whole." - Slate"Mouthwatering." - Eater.com A beloved culinary historian's short takes on six famous women through the lens of food and cooking - what they ate and how their attitudes toward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Age of Caesar: Five Roman Lives

Plutarch · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 393
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant new translation of five of history's greatest lives from Plutarch, the inventor of biography.Pompey, Caesar, Cicero, Brutus, Antony: the names resonate across thousands of years. Major figures in the civil wars that brutally ended the Roman republic, their lives still haunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Notes on a Foreign Country: An American Abroad in a Post-American World

Suzy Hansen · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Suzy Hansen left her country and moved to Istanbul and discovered AmericaIn the wake of the September 11 attacks and the U.S.-led invasion of Iraq, Suzy Hansen, who grew up in an insular conservative town in New Jersey, was enjoying early success as a journalist for a high-profile New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln's Lieutenants: The High Command of the Army of the Potomac

Stephen W Sears · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 884
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of Gettysburg, a multilayered group biography of the commanders who led the Army of the Potomac The high command of the Army of the Potomac was a changeable, often dysfunctional band of brothers, going through the fires of war under seven commanding generals...
Read More check catalog