Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Entertainment
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Ian McKellen: A Biography

Garry O'Connor · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The definitive biography of Sir Ian McKellen from an acclaimed biographer In 2001, Ian McKellen put on the robe and pointed hat of a wizard named Gandalf and won a place in the hearts of Tolkien fans worldwide. Though his role in the film adaptation of Lord of the Rings introduced him to a new audience,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Do You Mind If I Cancel?:

Gary Janetti · Flatiron Books
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

The Instant New York Times Bestseller"From "Family Guy" to his own Instagram account, Janetti has been behind some of his generation's greatest comedy. This book of essays is no exception." -- The New York TimesFans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey ... meet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Floating Feldmans

Elyssa Friedland
Format: Paperback

A family vacation dredges up a boatload of trouble in the next witty, insightful novel from the acclaimed author of The Intermission."An irresistible drama filled with humor and heart-tugging emotion about family and what it means to belong. I absolutely adore Friedland's warm,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's Garry Shandling's Book

Judd Apatow · Random House
Pages: 472
Format: Hardcover

From Judd Apatow comes an intimate portrait of his mentor, the legendary stand-up comic and star of The Larry Sanders Show, with never-before-seen journal entries and photos, as well as new contributions by fellow comedians and writers. Garry Shandling was a singular trailblazer in the comedy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man That Got Away: A Constable Twitten Mystery 2

Truss, Lynne · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A wryly entertaining new crime caper from Lynne Truss, author of "the funniest crime novel of 2018" (Wall Street Journal) and the New York Times bestseller Eats, Shoots & Leaves. 1957: In the beach town of Brighton, music is playing and guests are sunning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Horror Stories: A Memoir

Liz Phair · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the two-time Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter behind the groundbreaking album Exile in Guyville comes a haunting memoir in stories in the tradition of Patti Smith's M Train It's hard to tell the truth about ourselves. It opens us up to being judged and rejected. We spend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exactly as You Are: The Life and Faith of Mister Rogers

Shea Tuttle · Eerdmans
Pages: 184
Format: Hardcover

Welcome to the spiritual neighborhood of Fred Rogers"I like you as you are Exactly and precisely I think you turned out nicely And I like you as you are."Fred Rogers fiercely believed that all people deserve love. This conviction wasn't simply sentimental: it came directly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way I Heard It

Rowe, Mike · Gallery Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Emmy-award winning gadfly Mike Rowe presents a ridiculously entertaining, seriously fascinating collection of his favorite episodes from America's #1 short-form podcast, The Way I Heard It, along with a host of memories, ruminations, illustrations, and insights. It's a delightful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Life Gives You Pears: The Healing Power of Family, Faith, and Funny People

Jeannie Gaffigan · Blackstone Pub
Format: Audiobook

In a book that is The Big Sick meets Dad is Fat, Jeannie Gaffigan, writing partner and wife of bestselling author/comedian Jim Gaffigan, writes with humor and heart about the pear-sized brain tumor she had removed, the toll it took on her enormous family, and the priceless lessons she learned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mister Rogers' Neighborhood: A Visual History

Fred Rogers Productions · Clarkson Potter
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A visual celebration of Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, America's most beloved children's television show, including a foreword by Tom Hanks and a peek at the making of the feature film A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, in theaters Thanksgiving weekend. Go behind the scenes...
Read More check catalog