Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Biographies & Memoirs
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Manson Women and Me: Monsters, Morality, and Murder

NIKKI MEREDITH · Citadel
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In the summer of 1969, Leslie Van Houten and Patricia Krenwinkel carried out horrific acts of butchery on the orders of the charismatic cult leader Charles Manson. At their murder trial the following year, lead prosecutor Vincent Bugliosi described the two so-called Manson Women as "human...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moralist: Woodrow Wilson and the World He Made

Patricia O'Toole · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 768
Format: Hardcover

By the author of acclaimed biographies of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Adams, a penetrating biography of one of the most high-minded, consequential, and controversial US presidents, Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) . The Moralist is a cautionary tale about the perils of moral vanity and American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Movie Nights with the Reagans: A Memoir

Mark Weinberg · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Former special advisor and press secretary to President Ronald Reagan shares an intimate, behind-the-scenes look inside the Reagan presidency - told through the movies they watched together every week at Camp David.What did President Ronald Reagan think of Rocky IV? How did the Matthew...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

Amy Dresner · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side. Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Redemption: Martin Luther King Jr.'s Last 31 Hours

Joseph Rosenbloom · Beacon Press
Pages: 289
Format: Hardcover

An "immersive, humanizing, and demystifying" (Charles Blow, New York Times) look at the final hours of Dr. King's life as he seeks to revive the non-violent civil rights movement and push to end poverty in America.At 10:33 a.m. on April 3, 1968, Dr. Martin Luther King,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Richard III: England's Most Controversial King

CHRIS SKIDMORE · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed historian Chris Skidmore comes the authoritative biography of Richard III, England's most controversial king, a man alternately praised as a saint and cursed as a villain.Richard III is one of English history's best known and least understood monarchs. Immortalized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Caused a Riot: 100 Unknown Women Who Built Cities, Sparked Revolutions, and Massively Crushed It

HANNAH JEWELL · Sourcebooks
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Women's stories are often written as if they spent their entire time on Earth casting woeful but beautiful glances towards the horizon and sighing into the bitter wind at the thought of any conflict. Well, that's not how it f**king happened. When you hear about a woman who was 100%...
Read More check catalog
 
 
William Howard Taft: The American Presidents Series: The 27th President, 1909-1913

JeffreyRosen · Times Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The only man to serve as president and chief justice, who approached every decision in constitutional terms, defending the Founders' vision against new populist threats to American democracyWilliam Howard Taft never wanted to be president and yearned instead to serve as chief justice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unlikely General: "Mad" Anthony Wayne and the Battle for America

Mary Stockwell · Yale University Press
Pages: 376
Format: Hardcover

Why did the once‑ardent hero of the American Revolution become its most scandalous general?​ In the spring of 1792, President George Washington chose "Mad" Anthony Wayne to defend America from a potentially devastating threat. Native forces had decimated the standing army...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astral Weeks: A Secret History of 1968

Ryan H. Walsh · Penguin Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A mind-expanding dive into a lost chapter of 1968, featuring the famous and forgotten: Van Morrison, folkie-turned-cult-leader Mel Lyman, Timothy Leary, James Brown, and many more Van Morrison's Astral Weeks is an iconic rock album shrouded in legend, a masterpiece that has touched...
Read More check catalog