Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Biographies & Memoirs
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Crooked: Outwitting the Back Pain Industry and Getting on the Road to Recovery

CATHRYN JAKOBSON RAMIN · HARPERCOLLINS
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

The acclaimed author of Carved in Sand - a veteran investigative journalist who endured persistent back pain for decades - delivers the definitive book on the subject: an essential examination of all facets of the back pain industry, exploring what works, what doesn't, what may cause...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Apparent Distress: A Doctor's Coming-of-Age on the Front Lines of American Medicine

Rachel Pearson · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A brutally frank memoir about doctors and patients in a health care system that puts the poor at risk.In medical charts, the term "N.A.D." (No Apparent Distress) is used for patients who appear stable. The phrase also aptly describes America's medical system when it comes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies: The Civil War

DAVID FISHER · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The newest installment in the New York Times #1 bestselling companion series to the Fox historical docudrama, Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies; The Civil War is a pulse-quickening account of the deadliest war in American historyFrom the birth of the Republican Party to the Confederacy's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Healing Children: A Surgeon's Stories from the Frontiers of Pediatric Medicine

KURTM D NEWMAN · Viking
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande."If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gosnell: The Untold Story of America's Most Prolific Serial Killer

Ann McElhinney · Regnery Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

He is America's most prolific serial killer. And yet Kermit Gosnell was no obvious criminal. The abortion doctor was a pillar of his community, an advocate for women's "reproductive health," and a respected member of Philadelphia's professional elite. His Women's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Kingpin: The Epic Hunt for the Criminal Mastermind Behind the Silk Road

NICK BILTON · PORTFOLIO PENGUIN
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From New York Times-bestselling author Nick Bilton comes a true-life thriller about the rise and fall of Ross Ulbricht, aka the Dread Pirate Roberts, the founder of the online black market Silk Road. In Hatching Twitter, Nick Bilton gave readers an astonishingly reported, riveting,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir

ALEXANDRIA MARZANO-LESNEVICH · FLATIRON Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

"This book is a marvel. The Fact of a Body is equal parts gripping and haunting and will leave you questioning whether any one story can hold the full truth." -- Celeste Ng, author of the New York Times bestselling Everything I Never Told YouBefore Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreaming the Beatles: The Love Story of One Band and the Whole World

Robert J Sheffield · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Rob Sheffield, the Rolling Stone columnist and bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape offers an entertaining, unconventional look at the most popular band in history, the Beatles, exploring what they mean today and why they still matter so intensely to a generation that has never known...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Was Told to Come Alone: My Journey Behind the Lines of Jihad

Souad Mekhennet · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

The journalist who broke the "Jihadi John" story draws on her personal experience to bridge the gap between the Muslim world and the West and explain the rise of Islamic radicalismSouad Mekhennet has lived her entire life between worlds. The daughter of a Turkish mother and a Moroccan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Priestdaddy: A Memoir

Patricia Lockwood · Riverhead Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From Patricia Lockwood - a writer acclaimed for her wildly original voice - a vivid, heartbreakingly funny memoir about having a married Catholic priest for a father."Destined to be a classic. . .this year's must-read memoir." - Mary Karr, author of The Liars' Club Father...
Read More check catalog