Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Biographies & Memoirs
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Shots Fired: The Misunderstandings, Misconceptions, and Myths about Police Shootings

Joseph Loughlin · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

Get a deeper understanding of police shootings through interviews with officers involved in real-life casesToday's media is filled with discussions about officer-involved shootings. Too often missing from that discussion are the police officers' voices and the reality of what happens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hit So Hard: A Memoir

Patty Schemel · Da Capo Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A stunningly candid and inspiring memoir of recovery from addiction and the '90s, by Hole drummer Patty SchemelPatty Schemel was a drummer at the epicenter of the Seattle grunge scene in the early '90s, best known for her work with the alternative rock band Hole.Hit So Hard begins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Same Kind of Different As Me Movie Edition: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Ron Hall · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture A dangerous, homeless drifter who grew up picking cotton in virtual slavery.An upscale art dealer accustomed to the world of Armani and Chanel.A gutsy woman with a stubborn dream.A story so incredible no novelist would dare dream it. It begins outside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Odyssey: A Father, a Son, and an Epic

Daniel Adam Mendelsohn · Knopf
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning memoirist and critic, and bestselling author of The Lost: a deeply moving tale of a father and son's transformative journey in reading--and reliving--Homer's epic masterpiece. When eighty-one-year-old Jay Mendelsohn decides to enroll in the undergraduate Odyssey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blessed Life: My Surprising Journey of Joy, Tears, and Tales from Harlem to Hollywood

KIM FIELDS · FaithWords
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From "Facts of Life" to "Living Single" to "Dancing with the Stars" to wife and mom, here's the BLESSED LIFE of Kim Fields, veteran actress, TV personality, and star. Kim Fields has lived most of her life with people thinking they know her, which is understandable....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Priestdaddy: A Memoir

Patricia Lockwood · Riverhead Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"Consistently alive with feeling. . . Lockwood's prose is cute and dirty and innocent and experienced, Betty Boop in a pas de deux with David Sedaris."--The New York Times"You'll be wowed by Patricia Lockwood's darkly profane and poetic memoir Priestdaddy."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Matisse in the Studio

Ellen McBreen · MFA Publications, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

The personal objects in Matisse's studio form a secret history in his artThis book is the first in English to explore the essential role that Henri Matisse's personal collection of objects played in his studio practice. The artist traveled with his collection even to temporary residences,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sharp

Michelle Dean · Grove Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Dorothy Parker, Rebecca West, Hannah Arendt, Mary McCarthy, Susan Sontag, Pauline Kael, Joan Didion, Nora Ephron, Renata Adler, and Janet Malcolm -- these brilliant women are the central figures of Sharp. Their lives intertwine as they cut through the cultural and intellectual history of America...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership

JAMES COMEY · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In his forthcoming book, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like, and how it drives sound decisions....
Read More check catalog