Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Literature & Fiction
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Tragedy of Brady Sims

Ernest J Gaines · Vintage
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Ernest J. Gaines's new novella revolves around a courthouse shooting that leads a young reporter to uncover the long story of race and power in his small town and the relationship between the white sheriff and the black man who "whipped children" to keep order. After Brady...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thalia: A Texas Trilogy

LARRY MCMURTRY · Liveright
Pages: 784
Format: Hardcover

The renaissance of Larry McMurtry, "an alchemist who converts the basest materials to gold" (New York Times Book Review) , continues with the publication of Thalia.Larry McMurtry burst onto the American literary scene with a force that would forever redefine how we perceive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Coming Back

Alison McGhee · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

When Clara Winter left her rural Adirondack Mountain town for college, she never looked back. Her mother, Tamar, a fiercely independent but loving woman who raised Clara on her own, all but pushed her out the door, forcing Clara to build a new life for herself, far from her roots, far from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winter: A Novel

ALI SMITH · Pantheon
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the Man Booker-short-listed and Baileys Women's Prize-winning author of How to be both, the highly anticipated second novel in the acclaimed Seasonal series, which both continues the arc of the series and is also an extraordinary stand-alone read.In Winter, life force matches up to the toughest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Storm King: A Novel

BRENDAN DUFFY · Ballantine Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben. Burying the past only gives it strength - and fury. Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Robicheaux: A Novel

James Lee Burke · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

James Lee Burke's most beloved character, Dave Robicheaux, returns in this gritty, atmospheric mystery set in the towns and backwoods of Louisiana.Dave Robicheaux is a haunted man. From the acts he committed in Vietnam, to his battles with alcoholism, to the sudden loss of his beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To the Back of Beyond

Peter Stamm · Other Press
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Man Booker Prize nominee Peter Stamm explores in his sixth novel what it means to be in the middle of nowhere, in mind and in body.Happily married with two children and a comfortable home in a Swiss town, Thomas and Astrid enjoy a glass of wine in their garden on a night like any other....
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Fire

Henning Mankell · Vintage
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Henning Mankell's last novel about an aging man whose quiet, solitary life on an isolated island off the coast of Sweden is turned upside down when his house catches fire. Fredrik Welin is a former surgeon who retired in disgrace decades earlier to a tiny island on which he is the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tell Tale: Stories

JEFFREY ARCHER · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Nearly a decade after his last volume of short stories was published, Jeffrey Archer returns with his eagerly-awaited, brand-new collection TELL TALE, giving us a fascinating, exciting and sometimes poignant insight into the people he has met, the stories he has come across and the countries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kites

Romain Gary · New Directions
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Romain Gary's bittersweet final masterpiece, a novel of courage and resistance -- never before in EnglishOn a small farm in Normandy, as Hitler rises to power in Germany, young Ludo comes of age in the care of his Uncle Ambrose, an eccentric mailman, kite-maker, and pacifist. Ludo's...
Read More check catalog