Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia

MASHA GESSEN · Riverhead Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Putin's bestselling biographer reveals how, in the space of a generation, Russia surrendered to a more virulent and invincible new strain of autocracy. Hailed for her "fearless indictment of the most powerful man in Russia" (The Wall Street Journal) , award-winning journalist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bunny Mellon: The Life of an American Style Legend

Meryl Gordon · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A new biography of Bunny Mellon, the style icon and American aristocrat who designed the White House Rose Garden for her friend JFK and served as a living witness to 20th Century American history, operating in the high-level arenas of politics, diplomacy, art and fashion.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dawn of Detroit: A Chronicle of Bondage and Freedom in the City of the Straits

Tiya Miles · The New Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Most Americans believe that slavery was a creature of the South, and that Northern states and territories provided stops on the Underground Railroad for fugitive slaves on their way to Canada. In this paradigm-shifting book, celebrated historian Tiya Miles reveals that slavery was at the heart...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America

EDWARD L AYERS · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

Amid the devastation of war rise the first stirrings of freedom in this absorbing, ground-level narrative by an acclaimed historian.Virginia's Great Valley, prosperous in peace with a rich soil and an enslaved workforce, invited destruction in war. Voracious Union and Confederate armies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Apparitionists: A Tale of Phantoms, Fraud, Photography, and the Man Who Captured Lincoln's Ghost

Peter Manseau · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A story of faith and fraud in post-Civil War America, told through the lens of a photographer who claimed he could capture images of the dead In the early days of photography, in the death-strewn wake of the Civil War, one man seized America's imagination. A "spirit photographer,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Secret Sisterhood: The Literary Friendships of Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, George Eliot, and Virginia Woolf

EMILY MIDORIKAWA · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Male literary friendships are the stuff of legend; think Byron and Shelley, Fitzgerald and Hemingway. But the world's best-loved female authors are usually mythologized as solitary eccentrics or isolated geniuses. Coauthors and real-life friends Emily Midorikawa and Emma Claire Sweeney...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Famine: Stalin's War on Ukraine

ANNE APPLEBAUM · Doubleday
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Gulag and the National Book Award finalist Iron Curtain, a revelatory history of one of Stalin's greatest crimes In 1929 Stalin launched his policy of agricultural collectivization - in effect a second Russian revolution - which forced millions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Allies Strike Back, 1941-1943: The War in the West, Volume Two

James Holland · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 720
Format: Hardcover

By June 1941, Germany's war machine looked to be unstoppable. The Nazi blitzkrieg had taken Poland, France, and Holland with shocking speed. The Luftwaffe had bombed London, while German U-boats wrought havoc on Allied shipping on the Atlantic. And yet, as James Holland shows at the start...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Choosing Donald Trump: God, Anger, Hope, and Why Christian Conservatives Supported Him

Stephen Mansfield · Baker Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The 2016 election of Donald J. Trump exposed a deep divide in American politics and culture, one that pollsters and pundits didn't seem to realize was there. But Trump did, and he used it to his advantage in ways that surprised nearly everyone, even those who voted for him. Perhaps...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Kate Winkler Dawson · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles...
Read More check catalog