Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Literature & Fiction
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
A Kind of Freedom: A Novel

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton · Counterpoint
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"A brilliant mosaic of an African American family and a love song to New Orleans...written with deep insight and devastating honesty but also with grace and beauty." -- Dana Johnson, author of Elsewhere, California Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Jane Young: A Novel

Gabrielle Zevin · Algonquin Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of the beloved The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes another perfect fable for our times--a story about women, choices, and recovering from past mistakes.Young Jane Young's heroine is Aviva Grossman, an ambitious Congressional intern in Florida who makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Things That Happened Before the Earthquake: A Novel

Chiara Barzini · Doubleday
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

See all Editorial Reviews
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Behave in a Crowd: A Novel

Camille Bordas · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

An absorbing, darkly comedic novel that brilliantly evokes the confusions of adolescence and marks the arrival of an extraordinary young talent.Isidore Mazal is eleven years old, the youngest of six siblings living in a small French town. He doesn't quite fit in. Berenice, Aurore, and Leonard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebellion: A Novel

MOLLY PATTERSON · Harper
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

"Molly Patterson is a writer of the first order, and her debut novel is a revelatory, immersive miracle. Ambitious in scope and exacting in its language, Rebellion becomes a grand exploration of fate and circumstance." - Claire Vaye Watkins, author of Gold Fame CitrusIn 1890,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gravel Heart

Abdulrazak Gurnah · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A powerful story of exile, migration, and betrayal, from the Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Paradise.Salim has always known that his father does not want him. Living with his parents and his adored Uncle Amir in a house full of secrets, he is a bookish child, a dreamer haunted by night...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Locals: A Novel

Jonathan Dee · Random House
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times - fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan. Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lauras: A Novel

Sara Taylor · Hogarth
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From critically acclaimed and Baileys Prize-nominated author Sara Taylor comes a dazzling new novel about youth, identity, and family secrets I didn't realize my mother was a person until I was thirteen years old and she pulled me out of bed, put me in the back of her car, and we left...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Motherest: A Novel

KRISTEN ISKANDRIAN · Twelve
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Marrying the sharp insights of Jenny Offill with the dark humor of Maria Semple, MOTHEREST is an inventive and moving coming-of-age novel that captures the pain of fractured family life, the heat of new love, and the particular magic of the female friendship -- all through the lens of a fraying...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grip of It: A Novel

Jac Jemc · FSG Originals
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

One of Nylon's "50 Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017"One of Chicago Reader's "Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017"A chilling literary horror novel about a young couple haunted by their newly purchased homeJac Jemc's The Grip of It tells the eerie...
Read More check catalog