Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Science
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
At the Edge of Time: Exploring the Mysteries of Our Universe's First Seconds

Dan Hooper · Princeton University Press
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

A new look at the first few seconds after the Big Bang -- and how research into these moments continues to revolutionize our understanding of our universeScientists in the past few decades have made crucial discoveries about how our cosmos evolved over the past 13.8 billion years. But there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Superheavy: Making and Breaking the Periodic Table

Chapman, Kit · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An in-depth look at how elements are discovered, why they matter and where they will take us. The science of element discovery is a truly fascinating field, and is constantly rewriting the laws of chemistry and physics as we know them. Superheavy is the first book to take an in-depth look...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friendship: The Evolution, Biology, and Extraordinary Power of Life's Fundamental Bond

Lydia Denworth · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

A revelatory investigation of friendship, with profound implications for our understanding of what humans and animals alike need to thrive across a lifetime.The phenomenon of friendship is universal and elemental. Friends, after all, are the family we choose. But what makes these bonds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Busted in New York and Other Essays

Darryl Pinckney · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A collection of essays that blend the personal and the social, from the celebrated literary critic and novelist In these twenty-five essays, Darryl Pinckney has given us a view of our recent racial history that blends the social and the personal and wonders how we arrived at our current...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No-Till Intensive Vegetable Culture: Pesticide-Free Methods for Restoring Soil and Growing Nutrient-Rich, High-Yielding Crops

Bryan O'Hara · Chelsea Green Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

From a veteran organic grower: a unique agricultural methodology that delivers higher yields, higher quality, and higher profitability -- absolutely free of herbicides or pesticides No-till farming has rapidly grown in popularity among vegetable growers due to its high-quality, high-yield,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Amy Shira Teitel · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club, Fighting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Great Storms of the Jersey Shore

Larry Savadove · Down The Shore Publishing
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

This new and greatly expanded 2nd edition of a ''history of wild weather on the Jersey Shore...with harrowing eyewitness accounts'' (BOOKLIST review of the first edition) now includes Superstorm Sandy and even more weather. Illustrated with nearly 300 photographs, engravings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Animalkind: Remarkable Discoveries about Animals and the Remarkable Ways We Can Be Kind to Them

Ingrid Newkirk · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The founder and president of PETA, Ingrid Newkirk, and bestselling author Gene Stone explore the wonders of animal life and offer tools for living more kindly toward them.In the last few decades, a wealth of new information has emerged about who animals are - intelligent, aware, and empathetic....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Way to Age: The Most Cutting-Edge Advances in Antiaging

Suzanne Somers · Gallery Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

At seventy-three years young, #1 New York Times bestselling author and health guru Suzanne Somers has established herself as a leading voice on antiaging. With A New Way to Age, she takes things a step further to present a revolutionary philosophy for a longer and better-quality life - in the form...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Compatible: Artificial Intelligence and the Problem of Control

Stuart Russell · Viking
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"The most important book I have read in quite some time" (Daniel Kahneman) ; "A must-read" (Max Tegmark) ; "The book we've all been waiting for" (Sam Harris) A leading artificial intelligence researcher...
Read More check catalog