Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Biographies & Memoirs
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
18 Tiny Deaths: The Untold Story of Frances Glessner Lee and the Invention of Modern Forensics

Bruce Goldfarb · Sourcebooks
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Eye-opening biography of Frances Glessner Lee, who brought American medical forensics into the scientific age...genuinely compelling." -- Kirkus Reviews "A captivating portrait of a feminist hero and forensic pioneer." -- BOOKLIST The story of a woman whose ambition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI

Kate Winkler Dawson · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author of Death in the Air ("Not since Devil in the White City has a book told such a harrowing tale"--Douglas Preston) comes the riveting story of the birth of criminal investigation in the twentieth century.Berkeley, California, 1933. In a lab filled with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unknown Valor: A Story of Family, Courage, and Sacrifice from Pearl Harbor to Iwo Jima

Martha MacCallum · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In honor of the 75th Anniversary of one of the most critical battles of World War II, the popular primetime Fox News anchor of The Story with Martha MacCallum pays tribute to the heroic men who sacrificed everything at Iwo Jima to defeat the Armed Forces of Emperor Hirohito - among them,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir

Roman Dial · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out." - Jon KrakauerIn the predawn hours of July 10, 2014, the twenty-seven-year-old son of preeminent Alaskan scientist and National Geographic Explorer Roman Dial, walked alone into Corcovado National Park,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smacked: A Story of White-Collar Ambition, Addiction, and Tragedy

Eilene Zimmerman · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A journalist pieces together the mysteries surrounding her ex-husband's descent into drug addiction while trying to rebuild a life for her family, taking readers on an intimate journey into the world of white-collar drug abuse."A rare combination of journalistic rigor, personal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadow on the Mountain: A Yazidi Memoir of Terror, Resistance and Hope

Shaker Jeffrey · Da Capo Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A powerful and inspiring memoir of a young Yazidi who served as a U.S. combat interpreter but was later forced to flee into the mountains of Iraq to avoid the ISIS slaughter of his peopleShaker Jeffrey's life has been an odyssey of courage, cunning, and desperation. His journey began...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Phantom Lady: Hollywood Producer Joan Harrison, the Forgotten Woman Behind Hitchcock

Christina Lane · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

In 1933, Joan Harrison was a twenty-six-year-old former salesgirl with a dream of escaping both her stodgy London suburb and the dreadful prospect of settling down with one of the local boys. A few short years later, she was Alfred Hitchcock's confidante and one of the Oscar-nominated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Resistance: My Four Years in the French Underground: A Memoir

Justus Rosenberg · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable World War II memoir set in Nazi-occupied France and filled with romance and adventure: a former Eastern European Jew remembers his flight from the Holocaust and his extraordinary four years in the French underground. Justus Rosenberg, now 98, has taught literature at Bard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Self-Care Solution: A Year of Becoming Happier, Healthier, and Fitter--One Month at a Time

Jennifer Ashton M.D. · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

ABC's chief medical correspondent helps you ring in the New Year right with a resolution that's actually doable: a year-long plan to improve your emotional and physical health - from giving up alcohol to doing a digital detox, but each for only one month.Dr. Jennifer Ashton is at the top of her field...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Amy Shira Teitel · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club, Fighting...
Read More check catalog