Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - Sports
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
K: A History of Baseball in Ten Pitches

Tyler Kepner · Doubleday
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times baseball columnist, an enchanting, enthralling history of the national pastime as told through the craft of pitching, based on years of archival research and interviews with more than three hundred people from Hall of Famers to the stars of todayThe baseball is an amazing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
26 Marathons: What I've Learned About Faith, Identity, Running, and Life From Each Marathon I've Run

Meb Keflezighi · Rodale Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Four-time Olympic marathoner Meb Keflezighi shares his lessons on life, family, faith, and running through a reflection on each of the 26 marathons he's run in his storied career.When four-time Olympian Meb Keflezighi ran his final marathon in New York City on November 5, 2017, it marked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pursuit of Endurance: Harnessing the Record-Breaking Power of Strength and Resilience

Jennifer Pharr Davis · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

National Geographic Adventurer of the Year Jennifer Pharr Davis unlocks the secret to maximizing perseverance--on and off the trailJennifer Pharr Davis, a record holder of the FKT (fastest known time) on the Appalachian Trail, reveals the secrets and habits behind endurance as she chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Runner: Four Years Living and Running in the Wilderness

Markus Torgeby · Bloomsbury Sport
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

As a teenager, Markus Torgeby turned out to be a very talented long-distance runner. It didn't take long before he was discovered by an enthusiastic coach who set very high goals. However, while Markus performed brilliantly in training, during competitions he often failed inexplicably....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nature Instinct: Relearning Our Sixth Sense for the Inner Workings of the Natural World

TRISTAN GOOLEY · The Experiment
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times-bestselling author of How to Read Water - an exploration of our subconscious ability to "know" our surroundings even when we can't explain how Master outdoorsman Tristan Gooley has long encouraged his readers to look closely at the world to discover...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Home: A Memoir

Katie Arnold · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, a former Outside magazine writer tells her story - of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.I'm running to forget, and to remember. Katie Arnold learned early how her legs...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Much Country

Kristin Knight Pace · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A memoir of heartbreak, thousand-mile races, the endless Alaskan wilderness and many, many dogs from one of only a handful of women to have completed both the Yukon Quest and the Iditarod.In 2009, after a crippling divorce that left her heartbroken and directionless, Kristin decided to accept...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sheep No More: The Art of Awareness and Attack Survival

Jonathan T. Gilliam · Post Hill Press
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

As heard on The Sean Hannity Radio Show! Former US Navy SEAL and FBI Special Agent Jonathan T. Gilliam brings his unique professional perspective to teach you the art of awareness and attack avoidance by sharing unconventional warfare techniques and how to think like an attacker.Fight back,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sisterhood of the Squared Circle: The History and Rise of Women's Wrestling

Pat Laprade · ECW Press
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Documenting the rise of women's wrestling from sideshow to WWE main eventSisterhood of the Squared Circle presents the fascinating history of women's wrestling, from the carnival circuit of the late 1800s to today's hugely popular matches. With more than 100 wrestler profiles,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Fight: One Man's Search for Meaning Inside the Ring

Josh Rosenblatt · Ecco
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Finally, we can talk about Fight Club!or,A physical and philosophical mediation on why we are drawn to fight each other for sport, what happens to our bodies and brains when we do, and what it all meansAnyone with guts or madness in him can get hit by someone who knows how; it takes a different...
Read More check catalog