Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Grim Sleeper: The Lost Women of South Central

Christine Pelisek · Counterpoint LLC
Pages: 325
Format: Hardcover

"This upsetting account of a Los Angeles serial killer, written with passion by Christine Pelisek, an investigative crime reporter who spent 10 years working the case, blurts out a hard truth that no one wants to acknowledge . . . [She] tries to restore dignity to some of the victims...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Kate Winkler Dawson · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America

Frances FitzGerald · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 752
Format: Hardcover

"A page turner ... We have long needed a fair-minded overview of this vitally important religious sensibility, and FitzGerald has now provided it." - The New York Times Book Review "Massively learned and electrifying ... magisterial." - The Christian Science Monitor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hitler in Los Angeles: How Jews Foiled Nazi Plots Against Hollywood and America

Steven Joseph Ross · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The chilling, little-known story of the rise of Nazism in Los Angeles, and the Jewish leaders and spies they recruited who stopped it.No American city was more important to the Nazis than Los Angeles, home to Hollywood, the greatest propaganda machine in the world. The Nazis plotted to kill...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories

Laura Shapiro · Viking
Pages: 307
Format: Hardcover

"A collection of deft portraits in which food supplies an added facet to the whole." - Slate"Mouthwatering." - Eater.com A beloved culinary historian's short takes on six famous women through the lens of food and cooking - what they ate and how their attitudes toward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Dahlia, Red Rose: The Crime, Corruption, and Cover-Up of America's Greatest Unsolved Murder

Piu Marie Eatwell · Liveright
Pages: 350
Format: Hardcover

With startling new evidence, this gripping reexamination of the Black Dahlia murder offers a definitive theory of a quintessential American crime.Los Angeles, 1947. A housewife out for a walk with her baby notices a cloud of black flies buzzing ominously in Leimert Park. An "unsightly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Republic for Which It Stands: The United States during Reconstruction and the Gilded Age, 1865-1896

Richard White · Oxford University Press
Pages: 968
Format: Hardcover

The Oxford History of the United States is the most respected multivolume history of the American nation. In the newest volume in the series, The Republic for Which It Stands, acclaimed historian Richard White offers a fresh and integrated interpretation of Reconstruction and the Gilded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of the Jews Volume Two: Belonging: 1492-1900

Simon Schama · Ecco
Pages: 768
Format: Hardcover

In the second of three volumes of this magnificently illustrated cultural history, the tie-in to the PBS and BBC series The Story of the Jews, Simon Schama details the story of the Jewish people from 1492 through the end of nineteenth centurySimon Schama's great project continues and the Jewish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Amazing Facts About the Negro

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. · Pantheon
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The first edition of Joel Augustus Rogers's now legendary 100 Amazing Facts About the Negro with Complete Proof, published in 1957, was billed as "A Negro 'Believe It or Not.'" Rogers's little book was priceless because he was delivering enlightenment and pride,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Axeman of New Orleans: The True Story

Miriam C Davis · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

From 1910 to 1919, New Orleans suffered at the hands of its very own Jack the Ripper-style killer. The story has been the subject of websites, short stories, novels, a graphic novel, and most recently the FX television series American Horror Story. But the full story of gruesome murders,...
Read More check catalog