Back New Titles

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Titles - History
New title highlights is brought to you by New Book Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
The Last Republicans: Inside the Extraordinary Relationship Between George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush

Mark K Updegrove · Harper
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

An historian's revealing and intimate portrait of George H. W. Bush and George W. Bush that explores their relationship as presidents and as father and son - the first major biographical treatment of these two consequential presidents and figures in American history.In 2016 the Republican...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Halifax Explosion

JOHN U BACON · William Morrow
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author John U. Bacon, a gripping narrative history of the largest manmade detonation prior to Hiroshima: in 1917 a ship laden with the most explosives ever packed on a vessel sailed out of Brooklyn's harbor for the battlegrounds of World War I; when it stopped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Year of War: Two Brothers, Vietnam, and a Nation Divided

DANIEL BOLGER · Da Capo Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The gritty and engaging story of two brothers--Chuck and Tom Hagel--who went to war in Vietnam, fought in the same unit, and saved each other's life. One supported the war, the other detested it, but they fought it together.1968. America was divided. Flag-draped caskets came home by the thousands....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Darkest Hour: How Churchill Brought England Back from the Brink

Anthony McCarten · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed novelist and screenwriter of The Theory of Everything comes a revisionist look at the period immediately following Winston Churchill's ascendancy to Prime Minister - soon to be a major motion picture starring Gary Oldman. May 1940. Britain is at war, Winston Churchill...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lenin: The Man, the Dictator, and the Master of Terror

Victor Sebestyen · Pantheon
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

A fascinating biography of the man who helped launch the Russian Revolution, which uses the personal - including Lenin's key relationships with the women in his life - to shed light on the political.Since the birth of Soviet Russia, Vladimir Lenin has been viewed as a controversial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Apparitionists: A Tale of Phantoms, Fraud, Photography, and the Man Who Captured Lincoln's Ghost

Peter Manseau · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A story of faith and fraud in post-Civil War America, told through the lens of a photographer who claimed he could capture images of the dead In the early days of photography, in the death-strewn wake of the Civil War, one man seized America's imagination. A "spirit photographer,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revolution Song: A Story of American Freedom

RUSSELL SHORTO · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the acclaimed history The Island at the Center of the World, an intimate new epic of the American Revolution that reinforces its meaning for today.With America's founding principles being debated today as never before, Russell Shorto looks back to the era in which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Kate Winkler Dawson · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friends Divided: John Adams and Thomas Jefferson

Gordon S Wood · Penguin Press
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the great historian of the American Revolution, New York Times-bestselling and Pulitzer-winning Gordon Wood, comes a majestic dual biography of two of America's most enduringly fascinating figures, whose partnership helped birth a nation, and whose subsequent falling out did much...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America

EDWARD L AYERS · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

Amid the devastation of war rise the first stirrings of freedom in this absorbing, ground-level narrative by an acclaimed historian.Virginia's Great Valley, prosperous in peace with a rich soil and an enslaved workforce, invited destruction in war. Voracious Union and Confederate armies...
Read More check catalog