Back Ages 9-12 | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths

PETER LERANGIS - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

"A bold, big-hearted start to a groundbreaking new series." - Soman Chainani, author of The School for Good and EvilThe New York Times bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series and books in the 39 Clues series, Peter Lerangis, brings us the enthralling first installment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fact or Fiction Behind Human Bodies

Paul Mason - Gareth Stevens Pub
Format: Print book

The human body is full of amazingly complex systems. Science has helped explain so much about the way our bodies work, but there are still plenty of myths some consider as fact. Are human bones really four times as strong as concrete? How close can someone sit to a TV before damaging his or her eyes?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Threads

Ami Polonsky - Disney-Hyperion
Format: Print book

To Whom It May Concern: Please, we need help The day twelve-year-old Clara finds a desperate note in a purse in Bellman's department store, she is still reeling from the death of her adopted sister, Lola. By that day, thirteen-year-old Yuming has lost hope that the note she stashed in the purse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh, Rats!

Tor Seidler - Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Format: Hardcover

When a hawk snatches up an adventurous squirrel named Phoenix, he's ready to kiss his tail goodbye. But what should have been a death sentence becomes the beginning of a sweeping big-city adventure in this captivating novel by National Book Award-nominated author Tor Seidler.Phoenix is a pretty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pages & Co.: The Lost Fairy Tales

Anna James - Philomel Books
Format: Hardcover

The second magical bookwandering adventure in the nationally bestselling Pages & Co. series, featuring Tilly Pages as she journeys to France to wander inside a peculiar book of fairytales. Perfect for fans of Inkheart, The Land of Stories, and Story Thieves. Soon to be a major television...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can Fly: The Tuskegee Airmen

Carole Boston Weatherford - Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning author Carole Boston Weatherford's innovative history in verse celebrates the story of the Tuskegee Airmen: pioneering African-American pilots who triumphed in the skies and past the color barrier.I WANT YOU! says the poster of Uncle Sam. But if you're a young black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City

JODI KENDALL - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

This delightful middle grade novel is a modern-day homage to Charlotte's Web, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern."We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! No matter how big she gets, there's always room for Hamlet in our hearts." - Steve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Turtle Scientist

Stephen R. Swinburne - Harcourt Brace and Company
Format: Hardcover

Dr. Kimberly Stewart, also known as the Turtle Lady of St. Kitts, is already waiting at midnight when an 800-pound leatherback sea turtle crawls out of the Caribbean surf and onto the sandy beach. The mother turtle has a vital job to do: dig a nest in which she will lay eggs that will hatch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Diary

Veera Hiranandani - Kokila
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided countryIt's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maine Coons

Rebecca Felix - Bellwether Media
Format: Hardcover

"Relevant images match informative text in this introduction to maine coons. Intended for students in kindergarten through third grade"--
Read More check catalog