Back Teens | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
SYLO

D. J. MacHale · Razorbill
Pages: 407
Format: Hardcover

The ultimate action-fueled end-of-the-world conspiracy trilogy from #1 New York Times bestselling author D.J. MacHaleTHEY CAME FROM THE SKYparachuting out of military helicopters to invade Tucker Pierce's idyllic hometown on Pemberwick Island, Maine. They call themselves SYLO and they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bitter Side of Sweet

Tara Sullivan · Tantor Audio
Format: Audio CD

Fifteen-year-old Amadou counts the things that matter. For two years what has mattered are the number of cacao pods he and his younger brother, Seydou, can chop down in a day. This number is very important. The higher the number the safer they are because the bosses won't beat them....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Shade of Vampire 18: A Trail of Echoes

Bella Forrest · Createspace
Pages: 302
Format: Print book

What is so different about Ben Novak?Secrets will be unravelled and shocking discoveries will be made in A Trail of Echoes.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Improbability Principle: Why Coincidences, Miracles, and Rare Events Happen Every Day

David J. Hand · Scientific American/Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 269
Format: Hardcover

In The Improbability Principle, the renowned statistician David J. Hand argues that extraordinarily rare events are anything but. In fact, they're commonplace. Not only that, we should all expect to experience a miracle roughly once every month. But Hand is no believer in superstitions,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Courage to Soar: A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance

Simone Biles · Zondervan
Pages: 250
Format: Print book

Simone Biles' entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a four-time winner of Olympic gold in Rio de Janeiro....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Draw 50 Beasties: The Step-by-Step Way to Draw 50 Beasties and Yugglies and Turnover Uglies and Things That Go Bump in the Night

Lee J. Ames · Watson-Guptill
Format: Book

"With its popular subject of imaginative  monsters and other nightmare inhabitants, [this]  will be a sure-fire circulator." --  Publisher's Weekly.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Steep and Thorny Way

Cat Winters · Amulet Books
Pages: 335
Format: Print book

A thrilling reimagining of Shakespeare s "Hamlet, " "The Steep and Thorny Way "tells the story of a murder most foul and the mighty power of love and acceptance in a state gone terribly rotten. 1920s Oregon is not a welcoming place for Hanalee Denney, the daughter of a white...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to lead a life of crime

Kirsten Miller · Penguin
Pages: 434
Format: eBook

A teenaged pickpocket, haunted by the ghost of his brother killed by his father, is recruited for Mandel Academy, a school for criminals where only one student survives each semester.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Orbiting Jupiter

Gary D Schmidt · Recorded Books, 2015.
Format: Audiobook on CD

Jack, 12, tells the gripping story of Joseph, 14, who joins his family as a foster child. Damaged in prison, Joseph wants nothing more than to find his baby daughter, Jupiter, whom he has never seen. When Joseph has begun to believe he'll have a future, he is confronted by demons from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Carl Bowen · Stone Arch Books, a Capstone imprint
Pages: 69
Format: Print book

Scientist Pierre Aronnax and his trusty servant set sail to hunt a sea monster. With help from the world's greatest harpooner, the men discover that the creature is really a high-tech submarine with a mysterious leader, Captain Nemo. These reader-favorite tiles are now updated for enhanced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Untamed: A House of Night Novel

P C Cast · St. Martin's Paperbacks
Pages: 338
Format: Paperback

Life sucks when your friends are pissed at you. Just ask Zoey Redbird - she's become an expert on suckiness. In one week she has gone from having three boyfriends to having none, and from having a close group of friends who trusted and supported her, to being an outcast. Speaking of friends,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wake of the Lorelei Lee: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, on Her Way to Botany Bay

Louis Meyer · HMH Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition
Format: Kindle Edition

Jacky Faber, rich from her exploits diving for Spanish gold, has purchased the Lorelei Lee to carry passengers across the Atlantic. Believing she has been absolved of past sins against the Crown, Jacky docks in London to take on her crew, but is instead arrested and sentenced to life in the newly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Heart and Other Black Holes

Jasmine Warga · Balzer Bray
Pages: 302
Format: Print book

"Alive with intensity, gut-wrenching honesty, moments of humor, and - of course - heart. Not to be missed." - Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and The Walls Around UsA stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill the Boy Band

Goldy Moldavsky · Findaway World
Format: Audiobook

Just know from the start that it wasn't supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near them. That's why we got a room in the hotel where they were staying. We were not planning to kidnap one of them. Especially not the most useless one. But we had him-his room key, his cell...
Read More check catalog