Back Teens | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Smell of Other People's Houses

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock - Listening Library (Audio)
Format: Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blood Heir

Amélie Wen Zhao - Delacorte Press
Format: Hardcover

This hot debut, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and An Ember in the Ashes, is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father's murder. In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gettysburg: The True Account of Two Young Heroes in the Greatest Battle of the Civil War

Iain C. Martin - Sky Pony Press; 1 edition
Format: eBook

In the summer of 1863, General Robert E. Lee and the Army of Northern Virginia advanced into Pennsylvania in a daring offensive to win the Civil War in a single campaign. They met the Union Army at a quiet crossroads town called Gettysburg, and engaged in the greatest battle ever fought...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Game On!: Video Game History from Pong and Pac-Man to Mario, Minecraft, and More

Dustin Hansen - Feiwel & Friends
Format: Hardcover

Find out about the fast and furious growth and evolution of video games (including how they are quickly taking over the world!) by looking at some of the most popular, innovative, and influential games ever, from Pong, the very first arcade game ever, to modern hits like Uncharted.Learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prepped

Bethany Mangle - Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: Hardcover

Always be ready for the worst day of your life. This is the mantra that Becca Aldaine has grown up with. Her family is part of a community of doomsday preppers, a neighborhood that prioritizes survivalist training over class trips or senior prom. They're even arranging Becca's marriage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President

DAN EMMETT - St. Martin's Griffin
Format: Hardcover

Dan Emmett was just eight years old when President John F. Kennedy was assassinated. From that moment forward, he knew he wanted to become a Secret Service agent, one of an elite group of highly trained men and women dedicated to preserving the life of the President of the United States...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Far from the Tree: Young Adult Edition--How Children and Their Parents Learn to Accept One Another . . . Our Differences Unite Us

Andrew Solomon - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Solomon comes a stunning, poignant, and affecting young adult edition of his award-winning masterpiece, Far From the Tree, which explores the impact of extreme differences between parents and children.The old adage says that the apple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cursed

MARISSA MEYER - Feiwel & Friends
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer concludes her young adult retelling of Rumpelstiltskin in Cursed, the sequel to Gilded.Serilda and Gild attempt to break the curses that tether their spirits to Adalheid's haunted castle before the Endless Moon, when the Erlking means...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CRISPR: A Powerful Way to Change DNA

Yolanda Ridge - Annick Press
Format: Hardcover

We can change the world with genetic modification - but should we? CRISPR stands for clustered regularly interspaced short palindromic repeats. If it sounds complicated, it is - but it's also one of the most powerful ways we can shape the future. And it's poised to completely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Revolutionary War Timeline

Elizabeth Raum - Capstone Press, a Capstone imprint, $c
Format: Print book

Who are the American colonists? Are they British subjects or independent citizens? A war will decide. Explore the events of the Revolutionary War and experience the fight for freedom.
Read More check catalog