Back Psychology & Philosophy | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi · Random House
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tribe On Homecoming and Belonging.

Junger Sebastian · Twelve
Pages: 168
Format: Print book

We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival. Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vanishing American Adult: Our Coming-of-Age Crisis--and How to Rebuild a Culture of Self-Reliance

Ben Sasse · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn an era of safe spaces, trigger warnings, and an unprecedented election, the country's youth are in crisis. Senator Ben Sasse warns the nation about the existential threat to America's future.Raised by well-meaning but overprotective parents and coddled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evil of Banality: On The Life and Death Importance of Thinking

Elizabeth Kamarck Minnich · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 243
Format: Hardcover

How is it possible to murder a million people one by one? Hatred, fear, madness of one or many people cannot explain it. No one can be so possessed for the months, even years, required for genocides, slavery, deadly economic exploitation, sexual trafficking of children. In The Evil of Banality,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Complete Guide to Asperger's Syndrome

Tony Attwood · Jessica Kingsley Pub
Pages: 397
Format: Hardcover

"I usually say to the child, "Congratulations, you have Asperger's syndrome", and explain that this means he or she is not mad, bad or defective, but has a different way of thinking." - from "The Complete Guide to Asperger's Syndrome". "The Complete...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dangerous Case of Donald Trump: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess a President

Bandy X Lee · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The consensus view of two dozen psychiatrists and psychologists that Trump is dangerously mentally ill and that he presents a clear and present danger to the nation and our own mental health.This is not normal.Since the start of Donald Trump's presidential run, one question has quietly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined

Steven Pinker · Penguin Books
Pages: 832
Format: Paperback

"If I could give each of you a graduation present, it would be this - the most inspiring book I've ever read." - Bill Gates (May, 2017) A provocative history of violence - from the New York Times bestselling author of The Stuff of Thought and The Blank SlateBelieve it or not,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spiritual Envy: An Agnostic's Quest

Michael Krasny · New World Library
Pages: 264
Format: Paperback

As the host of one of National Public Radio's most popular interview programs, Michael Krasny has spent decades leading conversations on every imaginable topic and discussing life's most important questions with the foremost thinkers of our time. Now he brings his wide-ranging knowledge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shallows: What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains

Nicholas Carr · W. W. Norton & Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Finalist for the 2011 Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction: "Nicholas Carr has written a Silent Spring for the literary mind." -- Michael Agger, Slate Finalist for the 2011 PEN Center USA Literary Award "Is Google making us stupid?" When Nicholas Carr posed that question,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 168 Hour Week: Living Life Your Way 24-7

Kevin Hogan · Network 3000
Pages: 304
Format: Book

A simple and tested system to reduce or eliminate procrastination, meet your goals and live the life and lifestyle you choose. A radical departure from self help books, this book is grounded in research about individual productivity, time management and goal achievement. The author explains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Voyeur's Motel

Gay Talese · Grove Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of his landmark bestseller Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. "Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America," the letter began, "I feel I have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Common Sense and Rights of Man: Bold-faced thoughts on revolution, reason, and personal freedom

Thomas Paine · Sterling
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

The newest entry in our popular "Bold-faced" series offers an innovative reading of Thomas Paine's two most influential essays. Readers will find inspiration in this unique edition, which features the authoritative text of Paine's works, highlighted important passages,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry David Thoreau: A Life

Laura Dassow Walls · University Of Chicago Press
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

"Walden. Yesterday I came here to live." That entry from the journal of Henry David Thoreau, and the intellectual journey it began, would by themselves be enough to place Thoreau in the American pantheon. His attempt to "live deliberately" in a small woods at the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds

Charles Mackay · Wordsworth Reference
Pages: 724
Format: Paperback

Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds is a landmark study of crowd psychology and mass mania and a singular casebook of human folly throughout the ages. Chronicled here are accounts of swindles, schemes, and scams on a grand scale. Other chapters deal with fads and delusions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wired to Create: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Creative Mind

Scott Barry Kaufman · Perigee, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2015.
Pages: 252
Format: Print book

Is it possible to make sense of something as elusive as creativity? Based on psychologist Scott Barry Kaufman's groundbreaking research and Carolyn Gregoire's popular article in the Huffington Post, Wired to Create offers a glimpse inside the "messy minds" of highly creative...
Read More check catalog