Back Psychology & Philosophy | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
For Goodness Sex: Changing the Way We Talk to Teens About Sexuality, Values, and Health

Al Vernacchio · HarperWave
Format: Hardcover

A progressive, effective, and responsible approach to sex education for parents and teens that challenges traditional teaching models and instead embraces 21st century realities by promoting healthy sexuality, values, and body image in young people.Sex education today generally falls into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Yoga and the Pursuit of Happiness: A Guide to Finding Joy in Unexpected Places

Sam Chase · New Harbinger Pub, 2016.
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

True happiness isn't as unattainable as we often think it is. It's a fundamental human experience available to us all in different ways and in different moments. This profound and witty guide will show you how the philosophy of yoga can help you manage stress and achieve lasting joy and well-being.Everyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mindful Caregiver: Finding Ease in the Caregiving Journey

Nancy L. Kriseman · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Caregiving can be enormously challenging, terrifically rewarding, and potentially draining. Caregivers often wonder how they will navigate the tumultuous waters of caregiving and not lose themselves completely. The Mindful Caregiver highlights two major approaches to help transform the journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Miracle Mindset: Show Up. Step Up. You Are Stronger Than You Think.

J J Virgin · North Star Way
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Celebrity health expert and four-time New York Times bestselling author, JJ Virgin reveals how one life-altering event taught her to tap into an indomitable mindset, trust her instincts, and defy the odds, ultimately saving her son's life ... and her own. She'll share the lessons she learned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drawing Calm: Relax, refresh, refocus with 20 drawing, painting, and collage workshops inspired by Klimt, Klee, Monet, and more

Susan Evenson · Quarry Books
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Maybe it's the colors, or the eye-stretching vistas, or maybe it's just the idea that harmony can exist on a square of canvas, but there is something in art that lets it calm and inspire at the same time.In Drawing Calm, artist Susan Evenson, shows readers how to do the same. It's a book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

David J Morris · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 338
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women, Food, and Desire: Embrace Your Cravings, Make Peace with Food, Reclaim Your Body

Alexandra Jamieson · Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover

A holistic health counselor and co-star of award-winning documentary Super Size Me explores women's cravings - for food, sleep, sex, movement, companionship, inspiration - and teaches them to listen to their bodies for a healthier, fuller life.Transformational health expert Alexandra...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination

J. K. Rowling · Little Brown and Company
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

J.K. Rowling, one of the world's most inspiring writers, shares her wisdom and advice. In 2008, J.K. Rowling delivered a deeply affecting commencement speech at Harvard University. Now published for the first time in book form, VERY GOOD LIVES presents J.K. Rowling's words of wisdom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boys Should Be Boys: 7 Secrets to Raising Healthy Sons

Margaret J Meeker · Ballantine Books
Pages: 287
Format: Paperback

In Boys Should Be Boys, one of our most trusted authorities helps parents restore the delights of boyhood and enable today's boys to become the mature, confident, and thoughtful men of tomorrow. Boys will always be boys-rambunctious, adventurous, and curious, climbing trees, building...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Marshmallow Test: Mastering Self-Control

Walter Mischel · Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Pages: 328
Format: Print book

Renowned psychologist Walter Mischel, designer of the famous Marshmallow Test, explains what self-control is and how to master it. A child is presented with a marshmallow and given a choice: Eat this one now, or wait and enjoy two later. What will she do? And what are the implications for her behavior...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smart Money Smart Kids: Raising the Next Generation to Win with Money

Dave Ramsey · Lampo Press
Pages: 251
Format: Hardcover

Dave Ramsey and Rachel Cruze teach parents how to raise money-smart kids in a debt-filled world. In Smart Money Smart Kids, financial expert and best-selling author Dave Ramsey and his daughter Rachel Cruze equip parents to teach their children how to win with money. Starting with the basics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gift of Anger: And Other Lessons from My Grandfather Mahatma Gandhi

ARUN GANDHI · Gallery/Jeter Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Discover ten vital and extraordinary life lessons from one of the most important and influential philosophers and peace activists of the twentieth century - Mahatma Gandhi - in this poignant and timely exploration of the true path from anger to peace, as recounted by Gandhi's grandson,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freud: The Making of an Illusion

Frederick C Crews · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 784
Format: Hardcover

From the master of Freud debunkers, the book that definitively puts an end to the myth of psychoanalysis and its creatorSince the 1970s, Sigmund Freud's scientific reputation has been in an accelerating tailspin -- but nonetheless the idea persists that some of his contributions were visionary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The H-Spot: The Feminist Pursuit of Happiness

Jill Filipovic · Nation Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

What do women want? It's a time-old question, but if you head out into America and talk to women one-on-one, as Jill Filipovic has done, you discover that what they want is happiness. Despite what recent books, articles, or tv shows would have you believe, real women are less concerned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tribe On Homecoming and Belonging.

Junger Sebastian · Twelve
Pages: 168
Format: Print book

We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival. Decades before the American Revolution, Benjamin...
Read More check catalog