Back Psychology & Philosophy | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
The Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

David J. Morris · Eamon Dolan/Mariner Books
Format: Print book

“Unflinching and compassionate . . . This is far more than a biography of a psychological condition or a memoir of one individual; it is also a cogent analysis of an ever-increasing phenomenon that has changed the landscape of our culture . . . The Evil Hours is a must-read.”...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Men: Notes from an Ongoing Investigation

Laura Kipnis · Metropolitan Books
Format: Hardcover

From the notoriously contrarian author of Against Love, a witty and probing examination of why badly behaved men have been her lifelong fascination, on and off the pageIts no secret that men often behave in intemperate ways, but in recent years weve witnessed so many spectacular public...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Conscience of a Conservative

ANONYMOUS. · Random House
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Republican Senator Jeff Flake takes his party to task for embracing nationalism, populism, xenophobia, and the anomalous Trump presidency. The book is an urgent call for a return to bedrock conservative principle and a cry to once again put country before party. "I am a conservative....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Half of Asperger Syndrome

Maxine Aston · Jessica Kingsley Pub; 1 edition
Format: Paperback

Does your other half have Asperger Syndrome (AS) or do you suspect that he or she is on the autism spectrum? This quick and helpful relationships guide provides all the information you need for relationship success with your AS partner. The Other Half of Asperger Syndrome was the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guilt, Shame, and Anxiety: Understanding and Overcoming Negative Emotions

Peter R. Breggin M.D. · Prometheus Books
Format: Book

With the first unified theory of guilt, shame, and anxiety, this pioneering psychiatrist and critic of psychiatric diagnoses and drugs examines the causes and effects of psychological and emotional suffering from the perspective of biological evolution, child development, and mature adult...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Upside: The New Science of Post-Traumatic Growth

Jim Rendon · Touchstone Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Po Bronson and Paul Tough, journalist Jim Rendon delivers a deeply reported look at the life-changing implications of post-traumatic growth - an emerging field of psychological research that shows how the suffering caused by traumatic events can be harnessed as a force...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Force for Good: The Dalai Lama's Vision for Our World

Daniel Goleman · Bantam
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For more than half a century, in such books as The Art of Happiness and The Dalai Lama's Little Book of Inner Peace, the Dalai Lama has guided us along the path to compassion and taught us how to improve our inner lives. In A Force for Good, with the help of his longtime friend Daniel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Yes Brain: How to Cultivate Courage, Curiosity, and Resilience in Your Child

DANIEL J SIEGEL · Bantam
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the authors of The Whole-Brain Child and No-Drama Discipline, an indispensable guide to unlocking your child's innate capacity for positive thinking.When facing challenges, unpleasant tasks, and contentious issues such as homework, screen time, food choices, and bedtime, children often...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Violet Hour: Great Writers at the End

Katie Roiphe · The Dial Press, 2016.
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From one of our most perceptive and provocative voices comes a deeply researched account of the last days of Susan Sontag, Sigmund Freud, John Updike, Dylan Thomas, and Maurice Sendak - an arresting and wholly original meditation on mortality. In The Violet Hour, Katie Roiphe takes an unexpected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Understanding Violent Criminals: Insights from the Front Lines of Law Enforcement

David J. Thomas Ph.D. · Praeger
Format: Hardcover

Violent crime remains a major problem in America: in 2011, there were more than 1.2 million violent crimes committed in the United States. To better grasp the complex reasons behind this disturbing statistic, author David J. Thomas—a police officer and forensic psychologist—conducted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Spark - 30 Ways to Ignite Your Creativity

Carrie Bloomston · C&T Publishing / Stash Books
Format: Paperback

You were born with a creative spark inside. Do you look at yourself now and wonder if the spark has gone out? Ignite that inner fire with the 30 engaging exercises, fun activities, inspirational images, and motivating ideas in this book. Learn what your Little Spark of creative passion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Off the Charts: The Hidden Lives and Lessons of American Child Prodigies

Ann Hulbert · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the widely praised Raising America--a compelling exploration of child genius told through the gripping stories of fifteen exceptionally gifted boys and girls, from a math wonder a century ago to young jazz and classical piano virtuosos today. A thought-provoking book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Altruistic Brain: How We Are Naturally Good

Donald W Pfaff · Oxford University Press, USA
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Since the beginning of recorded history, law and religion have provided "rules" that define good behavior. When we obey such rules, we assign to some external authority the capacity to determine how we should act. Even anarchists recognize the existence of a choice as to whether...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Man's Land: Preparing for War and Peace in Post-9/11 America

Elizabeth D. Samet · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

As the post-9/11 wars wind down, a literature professor at West Point explores what it means for soldiers, and our country, to be caught between war and peaceElizabeth D. Samet, a professor of English at West Point and the author of the critically acclaimed Soldier's Heart, came to question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
River of Time: My Descent into Depression and How I Emerged with Hope

Naomi Judd · Center St
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Bestselling author and Grammy-winning musical superstar Naomi Judd shares her devastating personal story with depression to spread awareness and encourage others with the disease. The world knows Naomi Judd as one of the most successful and best-loved country music stars ever. What the world...
Read More check catalog