Back Science | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Endurance: My Year in Space and Our Journey to Mars

Scott Kelly · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A stunning memoir from the astronaut who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station--a candid account of his remarkable voyage, of the journeys off the planet that preceded it, and of his colorful formative years.The veteran of four space flights and the American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perfect Horse: The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis

Elizabeth Letts · Ballantine Books
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Totality: The Great American Eclipses of 2017 and 2024

MARK LITTMANN · OXFORD UNIV Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Totality: The Great American Eclipses is a complete guide to the most stunning of celestial sights, total eclipses of the Sun. It focuses on the eclipses of August 21, 2017 and April 8, 2024 that pass across the United States. The U.S. mainland has not experienced a total solar eclipse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Practical Guide to Exotic Pets

Chris Mattison · Courage Books
Pages: 124
Format: Hardcover

A guide to caring for exotic pets features practical information and step-by-step instructions for choosing the right species, setting up a suitable habitat, feeding the animal, and breeding it.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Follow Your Gut: The Enormous Impact of Tiny Microbes

Rob Knight · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Allergies, asthma, obesity, acne: these are just a few of the conditions that may be caused - and someday cured - by the microscopic life inside us. The key is to understand how this groundbreaking science influences your health, mood, and more.In just the last few years, scientists have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life in Code: A Personal History of Technology

ELLEN ULLMAN · MCD
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The never-more-necessary return of one of our most vital and eloquent voices on technology and culture, the author of the seminal Close to the MachineThe last twenty years have brought us the rise of the internet, the development of artificial intelligence, the ubiquity of once unimaginably...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

Matt Lewis · Plume
Format: Print book

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm . . . Thrilling." - Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caesar's Last Breath: Decoding the Secrets of the Air Around Us

SAM KEAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating science and history of the air we breatheIt's invisible. It's ever-present. Without it, you would die in minutes. And it has an epic story to tell.In Caesar's Last Breath, New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean takes us on a journey through the periodic table, around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Daniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks the scientific secrets to good timing to help you flourish at work, at school, and at home.Everyone knows that timing is everything. But we don't know much about timing itself. Our lives are a never-ending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Origins of Creativity

EDWARD O WILSON · Liveright
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Following the extraordinary success of The Meaning of Human Existence, Edward O. Wilson offers a philosophically probing work on the origins of human creativity. "Creativity is the unique and defining trait of our species; and its ultimate goal, self-understanding," begins Edward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wallace, Darwin, and the Origin of Species

John van Wyhe · Harvard University Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Charles Darwin is often credited with discovering evolution through natural selection, but the idea was not his alone. The naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace, working independently, saw the same process at work in the natural world and elaborated much the same theory. Their important scientific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Climate of Hope: How Cities, Businesses, and Citizens Can Save the Planet

MICHAEL R BLOOMBERG · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom Mayor Michael Bloomberg and former head of the Sierra Club Carl Pope comes a manifesto on how the benefits of taking action on climate change are concrete, immediate, and immense. They explore climate change solutions that will make the world healthier and more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
500 SAT Math Questions to Know by Test Day

Jerimi Ann Walker · McGraw-Hill Companies
Pages: 200
Format: Print book

500 Ways to Achieve Your Highest Score We want you to succeed on the Math section of the SAT. That's why we've selected these 500 questions to help you study more effectively, use your preparation time wisely, and get your best score. These questions are similar to the ones you'll find...
Read More check catalog