Back Science | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe

Mike Massimino · Crown Archetype
Pages: 313
Format: Print book

Click Here For the Autographed Copy Have you ever wondered what it would be like to find yourself strapped to a giant rocket that s about to go from zero to 17, 500 miles per hour? Or to look back on the earth from outer space and see the surprisingly precise line between day and night?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brief Answers to the Big Questions

STEPHEN HAWKING · Bantam
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

The world-famous cosmologist and #1 bestselling author of A Brief History of Time leaves us with his final thoughts on the universe's biggest questions in this brilliant and page-turning posthumous work.Why are we here? Will we survive? Will technology save us? How can we thrive?Stephen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Order of Time

Carlo Rovelli · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, a concise, elegant exploration of time.Why do we remember the past and not the future? What does it mean for time to "flow"? Do we exist in time or does time exist in us? In lyric, accessible prose, Carlo Rovelli invites...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Improbable Destinies: Fate, Chance, and the Future of Evolution

Jonathan B Losos · Riverhead Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A major new work overturning our assumptions about how evolution works Earth's natural history is full of fascinating instances of convergence: phenomena like eyes and wings and tree-climbing lizards that have evolved independently, multiple times. But evolutionary biologists also point...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Telomere Effect: The New Science of Living Younger

Elizabeth H Blackburn · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 398
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling book coauthored by the Nobel Prize winner who discovered telomerase and telomeres' role in the aging process and the health psychologist who has done original research into how specific lifestyle and psychological habits can protect telomeres, slowing disease...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pleasure Shock: The Rise of Deep Brain Stimulation and Its Forgotten Inventor

Lone Frank · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The electrifying, forgotten history of Robert Heath's brain pacemaker, investigating the origins and ethics of one of today's most promising medical breakthroughs: deep brain stimulationThe technology invented by psychiatrist Robert G. Heath at Tulane University in the 1950s and '60s has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life

Ed Yong · Ecco
Pages: 357
Format: Print book

New York Times BestsellerNew York Times Notable Book of 2016NPR Great Read of 2016Economist Best Books of 2016Brain Pickings Best Science Books of 2016Smithsonian Best Books about Science of 2016Science Friday Best Science Book of 2016A Mother Jones Notable Read of 2016MPR Best Books of 2016Chicago...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Errors: A Panorama of Our Glitches, from Pointless Bones to Broken Genes

Nathan H. Lents · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

An illuminating, entertaining tour of the physical imperfections that make us human We humans like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution's greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch head colds so often - two hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Einstein's Shadow: A Black Hole, a Band of Astronomers, and the Quest to See the Unseeable

Seth Fletcher · Ecco
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Einstein's Shadow follows a team of elite scientists on their historic mission to take the first picture of a black hole, putting Einstein's theory of relativity to its ultimate test and helping to answer our deepest questions about space, time, the origins of the universe, and the nature...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hacking of the American Mind: The Science Behind the Corporate Takeover of Our Bodies and Brains

ROBERT H LUSTIG · Avery
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

"Explores how industry has manipulated our most deep-seated survival instincts." - David Perlmutter, MD, Author, #1 New York Times bestseller, Grain Brain and Brain MakerThe New York Times-bestselling author of Fat Chance reveals the corporate scheme to sell pleasure, driving...
Read More check catalog