Back Science | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.Sleep is one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Totality: The Great American Eclipses of 2017 and 2024

MARK LITTMANN · OXFORD UNIV Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Totality: The Great American Eclipses is a complete guide to the most stunning of celestial sights, total eclipses of the Sun. It focuses on the eclipses of August 21, 2017 and April 8, 2024 that pass across the United States. The U.S. mainland has not experienced a total solar eclipse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Read the Solar System: A Guide to the Stars and Planets

Paul Abel · Pegasus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A fresh and essential guide to understanding and interpreting the wonders of our solar system, from two intrepid young astronomers who are the hosts of the popular BBC television series, "The Sky at Night."What exactly is the solar system? We've all learned the basics at school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man Who Stalked Einstein: How Nazi Scientist Philipp Lenard Changed the Course of History

Bruce J. Hillman · Lyons Press
Format: Hardcover

By the end of World War I, Albert Einstein had become the face of the new science of theoretical physics and had made some powerful enemies. One of those enemies, Nobel Prize winner Philipp Lenard, spent a career trying to discredit him. Their story of conflict, pitting Germany's most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Easy Chemistry Step-by-Step

Marian DeWane · McGraw-Hill Education; 1 edition
Format: Book

Youve come to the right place for the solution to learning chemistry quickly and easily! Easy Chemistry Step-by-Step is based on the idea that the quickest route to learning this subject is building a solid foundation in the basics. You wont find a lot of pointless discussion instead,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hacking of the American Mind: The Science Behind the Corporate Takeover of Our Bodies and Brains

ROBERT H LUSTIG · Avery
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times-bestselling author of Fat Chance reveals the corporate scheme to sell pleasure, driving the international epidemic of addiction, depression, and chronic disease. While researching the toxic and addictive properties of sugar for his New York Times bestseller Fat Chance,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Follow Your Gut: The Enormous Impact of Tiny Microbes

Rob Knight · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Allergies, asthma, obesity, acne: these are just a few of the conditions that may be caused - and someday cured - by the microscopic life inside us. The key is to understand how this groundbreaking science influences your health, mood, and more.In just the last few years, scientists have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

Matt Lewis · Plume
Format: Print book

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm . . . Thrilling." - Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Year: A Tale of Man, Nature, and Fowl Obsession

Mark Obmascik · Free Press; First Printing edition
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Every year on January 1, a quirky crowd of adventurers storms out across North America for a spectacularly competitive event called a Big Year -- a grand, grueling, expensive, and occasionally vicious, "extreme" 365-day marathon of birdwatching. For three men in particular, 1998...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10% Human: How Your Body's Microbes Hold the Key to Health and Happiness

Alanna Collen · Harper
Format: Hardcover

You are just 10% human. For every one of the cells that make up the vessel that you call your body, there are nine impostor cells hitching a ride. You are not just flesh and blood, muscle and bone, brain and skin, but also bacteria and fungi. Over your lifetime, you will carry the equivalent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies

JARED DIAMOND · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 528
Format: Paperback

"Fascinating.... Lays a foundation for understanding human history." -- Bill Gates In this "artful, informative, and delightful" (William H. McNeill, New York Review of Books) book, Jared Diamond convincingly argues that geographical and environmental factors shaped...
Read More check catalog