Back Science | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
10% Human: How Your Body's Microbes Hold the Key to Health and Happiness

Alanna Collen · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

You are just 10% human. For every one of the cells that make up the vessel that you call your body, there are nine impostor cells hitching a ride. You are not just flesh and blood, muscle and bone, brain and skin, but also bacteria and fungi. Over your lifetime, you will carry the equivalent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Close Encounters with Humankind: A Paleoanthropologist Investigates Our Evolving Species

SANG-HEE LEE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this captivating bestseller, Korea's first paleoanthropologist offers fresh insights into humanity's dawn and evolution.What can fossilized teeth tell us about the life expectancy of our ancient ancestors? How did farming play a problematic role in the history of human evolution? How can simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Hole: How an Idea Abandoned by Newtonians, Hated by Einstein, and Gambled On by Hawking Became Loved

Marcia Bartusiak · Yale University Press
Pages: 237
Format: Print book

For more than half a century, physicists and astronomers engaged in heated dispute over the possibility of black holes in the universe. The weirdly alien notion of a space-time abyss from which nothing escapes - not even light - seemed to confound all logic. This engrossing book tells the story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pleasure Shock: The Rise of Deep Brain Stimulation and Its Forgotten Inventor

Lone Frank · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The electrifying, forgotten history of Robert Heath's brain pacemaker, investigating the origins and ethics of one of today's most promising medical breakthroughs: deep brain stimulationThe technology invented by psychiatrist Robert G. Heath at Tulane University in the 1950s and '60s has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

Matt Lewis · Plume
Format: Print book

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm . . . Thrilling." - Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Strange Library

Haruki Murakami · Knopf
Format: Print book

From internationally acclaimed author Haruki Murakami - a fantastical illustrated short novel about a boy imprisoned in a nightmarish library. Opening the flaps on this unique little book, readers will find themselves immersed in the strange world of best-selling Haruki Murakami's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Body Knows Its Mind: The Surprising Power of the Physical Environment to Influence How You Think and Feel

Sian Beilock · Atria Books; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning scientist offers a groundbreaking new understanding of the mind-body connection and its profound impact on everything from advertising to romance.The human body is not just a passive device carrying out messages sent by the brain, but rather an integral part of how we think...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perfect Horse: The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis

Elizabeth Letts · Ballantine Books
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
500 SAT Math Questions to Know by Test Day

Jerimi Ann Walker · McGraw-Hill Companies
Pages: 200
Format: Print book

500 Ways to Achieve Your Highest Score We want you to succeed on the Math section of the SAT. That's why we've selected these 500 questions to help you study more effectively, use your preparation time wisely, and get your best score. These questions are similar to the ones you'll find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Herding Hemingway's Cats: Understanding How Our Genes Work

Kat Arney · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The language of genes has become common parlance. We know they make our eyes blue, our hair curly, and they control our risks of cancer, heart disease, alcoholism, and Alzheimer's. One thousand dollars will buy you your own genome readout, neatly stored on a USB stick. And advances...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strange Glow: The Story of Radiation

Timothy J Jorgensen · Princeton University Pres, 2016.
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

More than ever before, radiation is a part of our modern daily lives. We own radiation-emitting phones, regularly get diagnostic x-rays, such as mammograms, and submit to full-body security scans at airports. We worry and debate about the proliferation of nuclear weapons and the safety...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times Bestseller#1 Wall Street Journal Business BestsellerInstant Washington Post Bestseller"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice." --The Wall Street JournalDaniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks...
Read More check catalog