Back Science | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Order of Time

Carlo Rovelli · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, a concise, elegant exploration of time.Why do we remember the past and not the future? What does it mean for time to "flow"? Do we exist in time or does time exist in us? In lyric, accessible prose, Carlo Rovelli invites...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wallace, Darwin, and the Origin of Species

John van Wyhe · Harvard University Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Charles Darwin is often credited with discovering evolution through natural selection, but the idea was not his alone. The naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace, working independently, saw the same process at work in the natural world and elaborated much the same theory. Their important scientific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Timekeepers: How the World Became Obsessed With Time

Simon Garfield · Canongate Books
Pages: 349
Format: Hardcover

SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE BOOK OF THE YEAR 2016OBSERVER SCIENCE BOOK OF THE YEAR 2016Not so long ago we timed our lives by the movement of the sun. These days our time arrives atomically and insistently, and our lives are propelled by the notion that we will never have enough of the one thing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brief Candle in the Dark: My Life in Science

Richard Dawkins · Ecco Press
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

In this hugely entertaining sequel to the New York Times bestselling memoir An Appetite for Wonder, Richard Dawkins delves deeply into his intellectual life spent kick-starting new conversations about science, culture, and religion and writing yet another of the most audacious and widely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking

Jordan Ellenberg · Penguin Group USA
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

The Freakonomics of math--a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our handsThe math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Testosterone Rex: Myths of Sex, Science, and Society

Cordelia Fine · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Goodbye, beliefs in sex differences disguised as evolutionary facts. Welcome the dragon slayer: Cordelia Fine wittily but meticulously lays bare the irrational arguments that we use to justify gender politics." -- Uta Frith, emeritus professor of cognitive development, University...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Falter: Has the Human Game Begun to Play Itself Out?

Bill McKibben · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Thirty years ago Bill McKibben offered one of the earliest warnings about climate change. Now he broadens the warning: the entire human game, he suggests, has begun to play itself out.Bill McKibben's groundbreaking book The End of Nature -- issued in dozens of languages and long regarded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Origins of Creativity

EDWARD O WILSON · Liveright
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Following the extraordinary success of The Meaning of Human Existence, Edward O. Wilson offers a philosophically probing work on the origins of human creativity. "Creativity is the unique and defining trait of our species; and its ultimate goal, self-understanding," begins Edward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Losing the Nobel Prize: A Story of Cosmology, Ambition, and the Perils of Science's Highest Honor

Brian Keating · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The inside story of a quest to unlock one of cosmology's biggest mysteries, derailed by the lure of the Nobel Prize.What would it have been like to be an eyewitness to the Big Bang? In 2014, astronomers wielding BICEP2, the most powerful cosmology telescope ever made, revealed that they'd...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dinosaur Artist: Obsession, Betrayal, and the Quest for Earth's Ultimate Trophy

Paige Williams · Hachette Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New Yorker magazine staff writer Paige Williams delves into the riveting and perilous world of fossil collectors in this "tremendous" (David Grann) true tale of one Florida man's attempt to sell a dinosaur skeleton from Mongolia--a "beautifully written story steeped in natural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times Bestseller#1 Wall Street Journal Business BestsellerInstant Washington Post Bestseller"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice." --The Wall Street JournalDaniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

Matt Lewis · Plume
Format: Print book

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm . . . Thrilling." - Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hacking of the American Mind: The Science Behind the Corporate Takeover of Our Bodies and Brains

ROBERT H LUSTIG · Avery
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

"Explores how industry has manipulated our most deep-seated survival instincts." - David Perlmutter, MD, Author, #1 New York Times bestseller, Grain Brain and Brain MakerThe New York Times-bestselling author of Fat Chance reveals the corporate scheme to sell pleasure, driving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity

Carl Zimmer · Dutton
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning, celebrated New York Times columnist and science writer Carl Zimmer presents a history of our understanding of heredity in this sweeping, resonating overview of a force that shaped human society--a force set to shape our future even more radically.She Has Her Mother's Laugh...
Read More check catalog