Back Science | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Wallace, Darwin, and the Origin of Species

John van Wyhe · Harvard University Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Charles Darwin is often credited with discovering evolution through natural selection, but the idea was not his alone. The naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace, working independently, saw the same process at work in the natural world and elaborated much the same theory. Their important scientific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10% Human: How Your Body's Microbes Hold the Key to Health and Happiness

Alanna Collen · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

You are just 10% human. For every one of the cells that make up the vessel that you call your body, there are nine impostor cells hitching a ride. You are not just flesh and blood, muscle and bone, brain and skin, but also bacteria and fungi. Over your lifetime, you will carry the equivalent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Easy Chemistry Step-by-Step

Marian DeWane · McGraw-Hill Education; 1 edition
Format: Book

Youve come to the right place for the solution to learning chemistry quickly and easily! Easy Chemistry Step-by-Step is based on the idea that the quickest route to learning this subject is building a solid foundation in the basics. You wont find a lot of pointless discussion instead,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Hole: How an Idea Abandoned by Newtonians, Hated by Einstein, and Gambled On by Hawking Became Loved

Marcia Bartusiak · Yale University Press
Pages: 237
Format: Print book

For more than half a century, physicists and astronomers engaged in heated dispute over the possibility of black holes in the universe. The weirdly alien notion of a space-time abyss from which nothing escapes - not even light - seemed to confound all logic. This engrossing book tells the story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hidden Half of Nature: The Microbial Roots of Life and Health

David R. Montgomery · WW Norton & Co
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Prepare to set aside what you think you know about yourself and microbes. Good health for people and for plants depends on Earth s smallest creatures. The Hidden Half of Nature tells the story of our tangled relationship with microbes and their potential to revolutionize agriculture and medicine,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Man Off: A True Story of Disaster and Survival on the Antarctic Seas

Matt Lewis · Plume
Format: Print book

"A sinister version of The Perfect Storm . . . Thrilling." - Sunday Times (UK) For readers of The Perfect Storm, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Into the Wild There's nothing that armchair adventure lovers relish more than a gripping true story of disaster and heroism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry

NEIL DEGRASSE TYSON · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 222
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times Bestseller: The essential universe, from our most celebrated and beloved astrophysicist.What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Survival: Protect Yourself from Tornadoes, Earthquakes, Flu Pandemics, and other Disasters

Mark Cohen · Hatherleigh Press
Pages: 160
Format: Spiral-bound

As Seen on FOX's Geraldo and CNN's Larry King Live.***Includes important information on FLU PANDEMICS and what you can do to protect yourself and your family from outbreaks such as SWINE FLU.***Dr. Bob Arnot, America’s most trusted medical correspondent, and Mark Cohen, present...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tide: The Science and Stories Behind the Greatest Force on Earth

Hugh Aldersey-Williams · W W Norton
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A rich and sweeping exploration into the science and history behind the most mysterious, primal, and powerful force on earth: the tide.Half of the world's population today lives in coastal regions lapped by tidal waters. But the tide rises and falls according to rules that are a mystery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking

Jordan Ellenberg · Penguin Group USA
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

The Freakonomics of math--a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our handsThe math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Year: A Tale of Man, Nature, and Fowl Obsession

Mark Obmascik · Free Press; First Printing edition
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Every year on January 1, a quirky crowd of adventurers storms out across North America for a spectacularly competitive event called a Big Year -- a grand, grueling, expensive, and occasionally vicious, "extreme" 365-day marathon of birdwatching. For three men in particular, 1998...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Immunity: How Elie Metchnikoff Changed the Course of Modern Medicine

Luba Vikhanski · Chicago Review Press Incorporated
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Around Christmas of 1882, while peering through a microscope at starfish larvae in which he had inserted tiny thorns, Russian zoologist Elie Metchnikoff had a brilliant insight: what if the mobile cells he saw gathering around the thorns were the same as white blood cells that traveled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Follow Your Gut: The Enormous Impact of Tiny Microbes

Rob Knight · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Allergies, asthma, obesity, acne: these are just a few of the conditions that may be caused - and someday cured - by the microscopic life inside us. The key is to understand how this groundbreaking science influences your health, mood, and more.In just the last few years, scientists have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War

MARY ROACH · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

A New York Times / National Bestseller "America's funniest science writer" (Washington Post) Mary Roach explores the science of keeping human beings intact, awake, sane, uninfected, and uninfested in the bizarre and extreme circumstances of war.Grunt tackles the science behind...
Read More check catalog