Back History | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Iron Dawn: The Monitor, the Merrimack, and the Civil War Sea Battle that Changed History

Richard Snow · Scribner
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From acclaimed popular historian Richard Snow, who "writes with verve and a keen eye" (The New York Times Book Review) , the thrilling story of the naval battle that not only changed the Civil War but the future of all sea power.No single sea battle has had more far-reaching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Ghost: A Family's Haunted Past in the Desert Southwest

Hannah Nordhaus · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The award-winning journalist and author of The Beekeeper's Lament attempts to uncover the truth about her great-great-grandmother, Julia--whose ghost is said to haunt an elegant hotel in Santa Fe - in this spellbinding exploration of myth, family history, and the American West.The dark-eyed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Double Agent: The First Hero of World War II and How the FBI Outwitted and Destroyed a Nazi Spy Ring

Peter Duffy · Scribner
Format: Paperback

The never-before-told tale of the German-American who spearheaded a covert mission to infiltrate New York’s Nazi underground in the days leading up to World War II—the most successful counterespionage operation in US history.From the time Adolf Hitler came into power in 1933,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man from the Train: The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery

Bill James · Scribner
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Using unprecedented, dramatically compelling sleuthing techniques, legendary statistician and baseball writer Bill James applies his analytical acumen to crack an unsolved century-old mystery surrounding one of the deadliest serial killers in American history.Between 1898 and 1912, families...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Arsenal of Democracy: FDR, Detroit, and an Epic Quest to Arm an America at War

A. J. Baime · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 364
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times BestsellerA dramatic, intimate narrative of how Ford Motor Company went from making automobiles to producing the airplanes that would mean the difference between winning and losing World War II.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vietnam War: An Intimate History

Geoffrey C Ward · Knopf
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning historian and filmmakers of The Civil War, Baseball, The War, The Roosevelts, and others: a vivid, uniquely powerful history of the conflict that tore America apart--the companion volume to the major, multipart PBS film to be aired in September 2017.More than forty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation

Rebecca Traister
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling investigation into the sexual, economic, and emotional lives of women is "an informative and thought-provoking book for anyone - not just the single ladies - who want to gain a greater understanding of this pivotal moment in the history o
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nine Lives of a Black Panther: A Story of Survival

Wayne Pharr · Chicago Review Press
Format: Hardcover

In the early morning hours of December 8, 1969, three hundred officers of the newly created elite paramilitary tactical unit known as SWAT initiated a violent battle with a handful of Los Angeles–based members of the Black Panther Party for Self-Defense (BPP). Five hours and five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Father and Atticus Finch

Joseph Madison Beck · Center Point Pub
Pages: 500
Format: Large Print Library Binding

"A memoir about the author's father, whose courageous defense in a 1938 Alabama trial of a black man accused of raping a white woman calls to mind To Kill a Mockingbird"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hidden Figures: The Story of the African-American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race

Margot Lee Shetterly · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestsellerThe phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA at the leading edge of the feminist and civil rights movement, whose calculations helped fuel some of America's greatest achievements in space - a powerful, revelatory contribution that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look...
Read More check catalog