Back Entertainment | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Gamelife: A Memoir

Michael W. Clune · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

You have been awakened.Floppy disk inserted, computer turned on, a whirring, and then this sentence, followed by a blinking cursor. So begins Suspended, the first computer game to obsess seven-year-old Michael, to worm into his head and change his sense of reality. Thirty years later he will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Donald J. Trump Presidential Twitter Library

DAILY SHOW WITH TREVOR NOAH. · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

As seen on The Daily Show, an illustrated portrait of the Donald J. Trump Twitter account, with analysis and "scholarly" commentary from the writers of The Daily Show and an introduction by Trevor Noah In June 2017, just steps from Trump Tower in midtown Manhattan, The Daily Show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Candy at Last

Candy Spelling · Turner Pub Co; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The followup to the New York Times bestseller Stories from Candyland has even better stories to tell—about Candy Spelling’s notorious rift and reconciliation with her daughter, Tori, her misadventures in dating and sex, and her new life as a producer, writer, and businesswoman....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amanda Wakes Up

ALISYN CAMEROTA · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The Devil Wears Prada meets Primary Colors in this breezy summer read, as seen in The New York Times, People, and O MagazineWhen Amanda Gallo, fresh from the backwater of local TV, lands the job of her dreams at FAIR News - the coveted morning anchor slot - she's finally made it: a six-figure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Joan Rivers Confidential: The Unseen Scrapbooks, Joke Cards, Personal Files, and Photos of a Very Funny Woman Who Kept Everything

MELISSA RIVERS · Abrams
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Joan Rivers is an enduring icon of the 20th century, and her wildly popular humour has appealed to generations of fans. With a career that began in the late 1950s, Joan kept mementos over the course of her entire working life, and The Joan Rivers Scrapbook is a compilation of never-before-seen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beastie Boys Book

Adam Horovitz · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

A panoramic experience that tells the story of Beastie Boys, a book as unique as the band itself - by band members AD-ROCK and Mike D, with contributions from Amy Poehler, Colson Whitehead, Spike Jonze, Wes Anderson, Luc Sante, and more. Formed as a New York City hardcore band in 1981,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Taking the Lead: Lessons from a Life in Motion

Derek Hough · William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

Derek Hough, the dashing Emmy Award-winning fan favorite, and only five-time champion of the hit ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars, tells the inspiring story of his life and career, and shares insider tips of how he transforms his celebrity dance partners into confident, charismatic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Before You Judge Me: The Triumph and Tragedy of Michael Jackson's Last Days

Tavis Smiley · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 277
Format: Hardcover

A powerful chronicle of the sixteen weeks leading up to King of Pop Michael Jackson's deathMichael Jackson's final months were like the rest of his short and legendary life: filled with deep lows and soaring highs, a constant hunt for privacy, and the pressure and fame that made him socially...
Read More check catalog
 
 
She Made Me Laugh: My Friend Nora Ephron

Richard Cohen · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Nora Ephron, one of the most famous writers, film makers, and personalities of her time is captured by her long-time and dear friend in a hilarious, blunt, raucous, and poignant recollection of their decades-long friendship.Nora Ephron (1941-2012) was a phenomenal personality, journalist,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Joan: Tales of Mirth, Mischief, and Manipulation

Melissa Rivers · Crown Archetype
Pages: 284
Format: Print book

Joan Rivers was known all over the world - from the Palace Theater to Buckingham Palace, from the bright lights of Las Vegas to the footlights of Broadway, from the days of talkies to hosting talk shows. But there was only one person who knew Joan intimately, one person who the authorities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
West Winging It: An Un-presidential Memoir

PAT CUNNANE · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The West Wing meets The Office in this fresh and funny exclusive look into President Barack Obama's years in the White House, directly from his senior writer and former Deputy Director of Messaging.West Winging It: An Unpresidential Memoir is the personal story of Pat Cunnane and his journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dylan: The Biography

Dennis McDougal · Turner Pub Co
Pages: 555
Format: Print book

The ultimate biography of the musical icon.A groundbreaking and vibrant look at the music hero to generations, DYLAN: The Biography digs deep into Bob Dylan lore -- including subjects Dylan himself left out of Chronicles: Volume One.DYLAN: The Biography focuses on why this beloved artist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malagash

JOEY COMEAU · ECW Press
Pages: 182
Format: Paperback

A precisely crafted, darkly humorous portrait of a family in mourning Sunday's father is dying of cancer. They've come home to Malagash, on the north shore of Nova Scotia, so he can die where he grew up. Her mother and her brother are both devastated. But devastated isn't good enough. Devastated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My True Hidden Hollywood Story: My Memoir of Sexual Harassment, Blacklisting, and Love Affairs With the Most Powerful Men in Hollywood

Brenda Dickson · Blue Boulervard Publications; 1ST edition
Format: Book

This book is fine quality acid-free semi-gloss high quality paper. A graphic artist has put 70 pictures throughout the book, 50 that are in color. Photos taken by the top photographers in Hollywood. All of Miss Dickson's famous posters, head shots, gown shots are dispersed in this...
Read More check catalog