Back Entertainment | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Twenty-Six Seconds: A Personal History of the Zapruder Film

Alexandra Zapruder · Twelve
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The moving, untold family story behind Abraham Zapruder's film footage of the Kennedy assassination and its lasting impact on our world. Abraham Zapruder didn't know when he began filming President Kennedy's motorcade on November 22, 1963 that his home movie would change not only his family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Normally, This Would be Cause for Concern: Tales of Calamity and Unrelenting Awkwardness

Danielle Fishel · Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover

A warm and witty memoir by Danielle Fishel, the beloved star of the 90s sitcom Boy Meets World and the eagerly anticipated spin-off, Girl Meets World. Best known for playing Topanga Lawrence on Boy Meets World, Danielle Fishel was many a tweens first crush and the quintessential girl-next-door...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Andy Cohen Diaries: A Deep Look at a Shallow Year

Andy Cohen · Henry Holt
Format: Hardcover

A year in the whirlwind life of the beloved pop icon Andy Cohen, in his own cheeky, candid, and irreverent wordsAs a TV Producer and host of the smash late night show Watch What Happens Live, Andy Cohen has a front row seat to an exciting world not many get to see. In this dishy, detailed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hiltons: The True Story of an American Dynasty

J Randy Taraborrelli · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

THE HILTONS is a sweeping saga of the success-and excess-of an iconic American family. Demanding and enigmatic, patriarch Conrad Hilton's visionary ideas and unyielding will established the model for the modern luxury hotel industry. But outside the boardroom, Conrad struggled with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bolshoi Confidential: Secrets of the Russian Ballet from the Rule of the Tsars to Today

Simon Morrison · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 507
Format: Print book

An enthralling, definitive new history of the Bolshoi Ballet, where visionary performances onstage compete with political machinations backstage.On a freezing night in January 2013, a hooded assailant hurled acid in the face of the artistic director of the Bolshoi Ballet. The crime, organized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
De Niro: A Life

Shawn Levy · Crown Archetype
Format: Kindle Edition

REMARKABLE BIOGRAPHY OF AN ICONThere's little debate that Robert De Niro is one of the greatest screen actors of his generation, perhaps of all time--if not, in fact, the greatest. His work, particularly in the first 20 years of his career, is unparalleled. Mean Streets, the Godfather...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magnolia Story

Chip Gaines · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

National Bestseller--New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Publisher's WeeklyAre you ready to see your fixer upper?These famous words are now synonymous with the dynamic husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines, stars of HGTV's Fixer Upper. As this question fills the airwaves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hark

SAM LIPSYTE · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant send-up of our contemporary culture from Sam Lipsyte, the critically acclaimed author of Home Land, centered around an unwitting mindfulness guru and the phenomenon he initiates.In an America convulsed by political upheaval, cultural discord, environmental collapse, and spiritual...
Read More check catalog
 
 
West Winging It: An Un-presidential Memoir

PAT CUNNANE · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The West Wing meets The Office in this fresh and funny exclusive look into President Barack Obama's years in the White House, directly from his senior writer and former Deputy Director of Messaging.West Winging It: An Unpresidential Memoir is the personal story of Pat Cunnane and his journey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We'll Always Have Casablanca: The Life, Legend, and Afterlife of Hollywoods Most Beloved Movie

Noah Isenberg · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For the 75th anniversary of its premiere -- the incredible story of how Casablanca was made and why it remains the most beloved of Hollywood films.Casablanca was first released in 1942, just two weeks after the city of Casablanca itself surrendered to American troops led by General Patton....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Based on a true story

Norm Macdonald · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Wild, dangerous, and flat-out unbelievable, here is the incredible memoir of the actor, gambler, raconteur, SNL veteran, and one of the best stand-up comedians of all time.   As this book's title suggests, Norm Macdonald tells the story of his life - more or less - from his origins on a farm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You're Not That Great:

Elan Gale · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

I am addicted to positivity. I am addicted to positivity. I am addicted to positivity.I care more about feeling great than being great.I am NOT THAT GREAT.The self-help industry tells you that if you're positive, if you put your best foot forward and if you just believe in yourself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roar

Cecelia Ahern · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism--perfect for fans of Roxane Gay.In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Make This Up: Life Lessons

KEVIN HART · Atria / 37 INK
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Superstar comedian and Hollywood box office star Kevin Hart turns his immense talent to the written word by writing some words. Some of those words include: the, a, for, above, and even even. Put them together and you have the funniest, most heartfelt,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Standing Strong

NOT AVAILABLE. · Gallery Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The Real Housewives of New Jersey star and New York Times bestselling author Teresa Giudice opens up about her tumultuous past year in her emotional new memoir Standing Strong.In her second memoir, Teresa chronicles her life since her release from prison and what it's been like to weather...
Read More check catalog