Back Entertainment | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Nevertheless: A Memoir

Alec Baldwin · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

See all Editorial Reviews
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between Heaven and the Real World: My Story

Steven Curtis Chapman · Flemming H Revell
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

For decades, Steven Curtis Chapman's music and message have brought hope and inspiration to millions around the world. Now, for the first time, Steven openly shares the experiences that have shaped him, his faith, and his music in a life that has included incredible highs and faith-shaking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frank & Ava: In Love and War

John Brady · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"If I had to go back in Hollywood history and name two people who were most desperately and passionately in love with each other, I would say Frank Sinatra and Ava Gardner were It." -- Liz Smith.It began in Hollywood's golden age when Ava was emerging as a movie star. But she fell...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Little Thing Called Life : From Elvis's Graceland to Bruce Jenner's Caitlyn and Songs in Between.

Linda Thompson · Dey Street Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Award-winning songwriter Linda Thompson breaks her silence, sharing the extraordinary story of her life, career, and epic romances with two of the most celebrated, yet enigmatic, modern American superstars - Elvis Presley and Bruce Jenner.For the last forty years, award-winning songwriter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Joan: Tales of Mirth, Mischief, and Manipulation

Melissa Rivers · Crown Archetype
Pages: 284
Format: Print book

Joan Rivers was known all over the world - from the Palace Theater to Buckingham Palace, from the bright lights of Las Vegas to the footlights of Broadway, from the days of talkies to hosting talk shows. But there was only one person who knew Joan intimately, one person who the authorities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Being a Dad Is Weird: Lessons in Fatherhood from My Family to Yours

BEN FALCONE · Dey Street Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A funny and intimate look at fatherhood from the actor and writer/director of The Boss and Tammy that combines stories about his own larger-than-life dad and how his experiences raising two daughters with his wife, Melissa McCarthy, who also penned the Foreword, are shaped by his own childhood.Though...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revenge of the Nerd: Or . . . The Singular Adventures of the Man Who Would Be Booger

CURTIS JOHNATHAN ARMSTRONG · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Risky Business. Revenge of the Nerds. Better Off Dead. Moonlighting. Supernatural. American Dad. New Girl. What do all of these movies and television shows have in common?Curtis Armstrong.A legendary comedic second banana to a litany of major stars, Curtis is forever cemented in the public...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Notes: My Recollections

Katey Sagal · Gallery Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Gripping, singular, and gorgeously reflective, Grace Notes is a memoir told in essays by beloved actress, Hollywood veteran, and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal - perfect for fans of Mary Louise Parker's Dear Mr. You and Patti Smith's M Train.Popular and award-winning star Katey Sagal chronicles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Taking the Lead: Lessons from a Life in Motion

Derek Hough · William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

Derek Hough, the dashing Emmy Award-winning fan favorite, and only five-time champion of the hit ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars, tells the inspiring story of his life and career, and shares insider tips of how he transforms his celebrity dance partners into confident, charismatic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not My Father's Son: A Memoir

Alan Cumming · Dey Street Books
Format: Hardcover

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated relationship with his father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career.A beloved star of stage, television, and film - "one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How the Hell Did This Happen?: The Election of 2016

P. J. O'Rourke · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

This election cycle was so absurd that celebrated political satirist, journalist, and die-hard Republican P. J. O'Rourke endorsed Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. As P.J. put it, "America is experiencing the most severe outbreak of mass psychosis since the Salem witch trials of 1692....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dietrich & Riefenstahl: Hollywood, Berlin, and a Century in Two Lives

Karin Wieland · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover

2015 Washington Post Notable Book Magisterial in scope, this dual biography examines two complex lives that began alike but ended on opposite sides of the century's greatest conflict.Born at the dawn of the twentieth century, Leni Riefenstahl and Marlene Dietrich both came of age in Weimar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Twenty-Six Seconds: A Personal History of the Zapruder Film

Alexandra Zapruder · Twelve
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

The moving, untold family story behind Abraham Zapruder's film footage of the Kennedy assassination and its lasting impact on our world. Abraham Zapruder didn't know when he began filming President Kennedy's motorcade on November 22, 1963 that his home movie would change not only his family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rainbow in the Cloud: The Wisdom and Spirit of Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou · Random House
Format: Hardcover

“Words mean more than what is set down on paper,” Maya Angelou wrote in her groundbreaking memoir I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Indeed, Angelou’s words have traveled the world and transformed lives—inspiring, strengthening, healing. Through a long and prolific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hiltons: The True Story of an American Dynasty

J Randy Taraborrelli · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

THE HILTONS is a sweeping saga of the success-and excess-of an iconic American family. Demanding and enigmatic, patriarch Conrad Hilton's visionary ideas and unyielding will established the model for the modern luxury hotel industry. But outside the boardroom, Conrad struggled with...
Read More check catalog