Back Biographies & Memoirs | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
A Fighting Chance

Elizabeth Warren · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 365
Format: Hardcover

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An unlikely political star tells the inspiring story of the two-decade journey that taught her how Washington really works -- and really doesn't -- in A Fighting ChanceAs a child in small-town Oklahoma, Elizabeth Warren yearned to go to college and then become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Steve Jobs

Brent Schlender · Crown Business
Format: Hardcover

Based on the popular cover story about Steve Jobs in Fast Company in May 2012, this is the behind the scenes account of how Steve Jobs arguably became the most famous and visionary CEO in history. Journalist Brent Schlender and editor Rick Tetzeli have interviewed friends, industry insiders,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Believing in Magic: My Story of Love, Overcoming Adversity, and Keeping the Faith

Cookie Johnson · Howard Books
Pages: 253
Format: Print book

In her new memoir, Cookie Johnson, wife of NBA legend Earvin "Magic" Johnson, shares details of her marriage, motherhood, faith, and how an HIV diagnosis twenty-five years ago changed the course of their lives forever.

On November 7, 1991, basketball icon Earvin "Magic"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Gospel: Decoding the Ancient Text that Reveals Jesus' Marriage to Mary the Magdalene

Simcha Jacobovici · Pegasus; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

In a startling follow-up to the New York Times bestseller The Jesus Family Tomb, a historical detective story that unravels a newly translated document filled with startling revelations and fascinating detail about the life and times of Jesus. The Dead Sea Scrolls, the Gnostic writings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Doctor Is In: Dr. Ruth on Love, Life, and Joie de Vivre

Dr. Ruth K. Westheimer · Amazon Publishing
Format: Hardcover

The Doctor Is In! America's best-loved therapist, Dr. Ruth, is known for her wise counsel on all matters of the heart. Here she shares private stories from her past and her present, and her insights into living life to the fullest, at any age.Everyone knows Dr. Ruth as the most famous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Hughes: A Life in Film: The Genius Behind Ferris Bueller, The Breakfast Club, Home Alone, and more

Kirk Honeycutt · Race Point Publishing
Format: Hardcover

"There's no way I'm going to end a movie on a negative note." - John HughesHe allegedly wrote Ferris Bueller's Day Off in four days, Planes, Trains and Automobiles in three days, The Breakfast Club in two days, and Vacation in a week. He never went to film school or studied...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War

Ben Macintyre · Crown
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

The incredible untold story of WWII's greatest secret fighting force, as told by our great modern master of wartime intrigue

Britain's Special Air Service - or SAS - was the brainchild of David Stirling, a young, gadabout aristocrat whose aimlessness in early life belied...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carsick: John Waters Hitchhikes Across America

John Waters · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 322
Format: Hardcover

A cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdoJohn Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies

Ross King · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Claude Monet is perhaps the world's most beloved artist, and among all his creations, the paintings of the water lilies in his garden at Giverny are most famous. Seeing them in museums around the world, viewers are transported by the power of Monet's brush into a peaceful world of harmonious...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley

Charlotte Gordon · Random House
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

This groundbreaking dual biography brings to life a pioneering English feminist and the daughter she never knew. Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley have each been the subject of numerous biographies, yet no one has ever examined their lives in one book - until now. In Romantic Outlaws,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

Frances Stroh · Harpercollins
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Making of the President 2016: How Donald Trump Orchestrated a Revolution

ROGER STONE · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Theodore White's landmark books, the definitive look at how Donald J. Trump shocked the world to become president

From Roger Stone, a New York Times bestselling author, longtime political adviser and friend to Donald Trump, and consummate Republican strategist,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Had I Known: A Memoir of Survival

Joan Lunden · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In this brave and deeply personal memoir, one of America's most beloved journalists, mother, and New York Times bestselling author speaks candidly about her battle against breast cancer, her quest to learn about it and teach others, and the transformative effect it's had on her life.When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Son: JFK Jr. and the Mother He Loved

Christopher Andersen · Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author delivers another dramatic installment in the lives of the Kennedys - including new details about JFK Jr., his relationship with his mother, his many girlfriends, and the night of his tragic death.Critically acclaimed author Christopher Andersen is a master...
Read More check catalog