Back Biographies & Memoirs | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War

Ben Macintyre · Crown
Pages: 380
Format: Print book

The incredible untold story of WWII's greatest secret fighting force, as told by our great modern master of wartime intrigue Britain's Special Air Service - or SAS - was the brainchild of David Stirling, a young, gadabout aristocrat whose aimlessness in early life belied a remarkable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Country We Love: My Family Divided

Diane Guerrero · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The star of Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin presents her personal story of the real plight of undocumented immigrants in this country Diane Guerrero, the television actress from the megahit Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, was just fourteen years old on the day her parents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kardashians: An American Drama

JERRY OPPENHEIMER · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Rich comes a blockbuster unauthorized biography of one of the most famous and ubiquitous family dynasties in contemporary culture: The Kardashians. Secrets and scandals of the Kardashians, so closely held that not even hard core fans have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreamland: The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic

Sam Quinones · Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Winner of the NBCC Award for General NonfictionNamed on Amazon's Best Books of the Year 2015--Michael Botticelli, U. S. Drug Czar (Politico) Favorite Book of the Year--Angus Deaton, Nobel Prize Economics (Bloomberg/WSJ) Best Books of 2015--Matt Bevin, Governor of Kentucky (WSJ)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

Frances Stroh · Harpercollins
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings

Michelle Knight · Perseus Books Group
Pages: 252
Format: Print book

The #1 New York Times BestsellerMichelle was a young single mother when she was kidnapped by a local school bus driver named Ariel Castro. For more than a decade afterward, she endured unimaginable torture at the hand of her abductor. In 2003 Amanda Berry joined her in captivity, followed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Glass Castle: A Memoir

Jeannette Walls · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
From Here to Eternity: Traveling the World to Find the Good Death

Caitlin Doughty · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

The best-selling author of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with "dignity."Fascinated by our pervasive fear of dead bodies, mortician Caitlin Doughty set out to discover how other cultures care for the dead. From Here to Eternity is an immersive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Make Your Mind Up: My Guide to Finding Your Own Style, Life, and Motavation!

Bethany Mota · Gallery Books
Pages: 210
Format: Hardcover

From tips on life, love, and everything in between; to original DIYs, recipes, and style hacks; to the incredible story of a girl next door turned Internet sensation, Make Your Mind Up is the ultimate guide to rocking your look and ruling your world - from inspirational YouTuber, designer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life, My Love, My Legacy

Coretta Scott King · Holt, Henry & Company, Inc.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

The Washington Post's Books to Read in 2017The New York Times Book Review Editors' ChoiceUSA Today, "New and Noteworthy""This book is distinctly Coretta's story . . . particularly absorbing. . . generous, in a manner that is unfashionable in our culture." -- New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
83 Minutes: The Doctor, the Damage, and the Shocking Death of Michael Jackson

Matt Richards · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

A definitive look at Michael Jackson's final minutes, revealing for the first time the shocking details behind the tragic death of one of the world's biggest pop stars.On June 25th, 2009, the world was rocked by the tragic news that Michael Jackson -- the biggest and most influential music...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Girls: The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina DeJesus

John Glatt · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling crime writer John Glatt tells the true story behind the kidnappings and long-overdue rescue of three women found in a Cleveland basement.The Lost Girls tells the truly amazing story of Amanda Berry, Gina DeJesus and Michelle Knight, who were kidnapped, imprisoned,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rock, the Road, and the Rabbi: My Journey into the Heart of Scriptural Faith and the Land Where It All Began

KATHIE LEE GIFFORD · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

As a lifelong student of Scripture, Kathie Lee Gifford has always desired a deeper understanding of God's Word and a deeper knowledge of God Himself. But it wasn't until she began studying the biblical texts in their original Hebrew and Greek - along with actually hiking the ancient paths...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born Trump: Inside America's First Family

EMILY JANE FOX · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

As a writer at Vanity Fair covering the Trump family, Emily Jane Fox has spent the last year doing a deep dive into the lives of the President's children. She's developed a personal relationship with Ivanka and has cultivated sources close to Eric, Donald Jr., and Tiffany. She has scoured...
Read More check catalog