Back Biographies & Memoirs | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Jane Austen at Home: A Biography

LUCY WORSLEY · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"Jane Austen at Home offers a fascinating look at Jane Austen's world through the lens of the homes in which she lived and worked throughout her life. The result is a refreshingly unique perspective on Austen and her work and a beautifully nuanced exploration of gender, creativity,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Special Heart: A Journey of Faith, Hope, Courage and Love

Bret Baier · Center Street
Format: Hardcover

Special Heart is a deeply touching personal story told through the eyes of a journalist as he faces the most daunting challenge in life -- far more frightening than reporting from battlefields, infinitely more momentous than interviewing newsmakers of the day: caring for his critically...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Catch a Russian Spy: The True Story of an American Civilian Turned Double Agent

Naveed Jamali · Scribner
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating story of a young American amateur who helped the FBI bust a Russian spy in New York - sold in ten countries and in a major deal to 20th Century Fox.For three nerve-wracking years, Naveed Jamali spied on America for the Russians, trading thumb drives of sensitive technical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alligator Candy: A Memoir

David Kushner · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 242
Format: Print book

From award-winning journalist David Kushner, a regular contributor to Rolling Stone, The New Yorker, and Vanity Fair, Alligator Candy is "a raw story about courage, survival, and most certainly about love" (Tampa Bay Times) .David Kushner grew up in the suburbs of Florida in the early...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Days in January: Dwight Eisenhower's Final Mission

Bret Baier · William Morrow
Pages: 346
Format: Print book

"THE BEST BOOK ON EISENHOWER TO APPEAR IN A VERY LONG TIME"*: BRET BAIER'S "RIVETING ACCOUNT"† OF IKE'S FINAL MISSION IS "A LANDMARK ACHIEVEMENT"‡ THAT IS "DESTINED TO TAKE ITS PLACE AS ONE OF THE CLASSICS OF PRESIDENTIAL HISTORY"§January...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Punisher: A SEAL Team THREE Sniper's True Account of the Battle of Ramadi

Kevin Lacz · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A gripping and intimate on-the-ground memoir from a Navy SEAL who was part of SEAL Team THREE with American Sniper Chris Kyle. Experience his deployment, from his first mission to his first kill to his eventual successful return to the United States to play himself in the Oscar-nominated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Andrew Jackson and the Miracle of New Orleans: The Battle That Shaped America's Destiny

Brian Kilmeade · Sentinel
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Another pop history pageturner from the New York Times bestselling authors of George Washington's Secret Six and Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates. When the British fought the young United States during the War of 1812, they knew that taking the mouth of the Mississippi River was the key to crippling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Girls: The True Story of the Cleveland Abductions and the Incredible Rescue of Michelle Knight, Amanda Berry, and Gina DeJesus

John Glatt · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling crime writer John Glatt tells the true story behind the kidnappings and long-overdue rescue of three women found in a Cleveland basement.The Lost Girls tells the truly amazing story of Amanda Berry, Gina DeJesus and Michelle Knight, who were kidnapped, imprisoned,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
MacArthur at War: World War II in the Pacific

Walter R Borneman · Little
Pages: 594
Format: Print book

The definitive account of General Douglas MacArthur's rise during World War II, from the author of the bestseller The Admirals.World War II changed the course of history. Douglas MacArthur changed the course of World War II. MACARTHUR AT WAR will go deeper into this transformative period...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven:

Corey Taylor · Da Capo Press; First Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Corey Taylor has seen a lot of unbelievable things.However, many of his most incredible experiences might just shock you. For much of his life, the Grammy Award-winning singer of Slipknot and Stone Sour and New York Times bestselling author of Seven Deadly Sins has brushed up against the supernatural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Better: How I Let Go of Control, Held On to Hope, and Found Joy in My Darkest Hour

Amy Robach · Ballantine, 2015.
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BESTSELLER"I have breast cancer." When Good Morning America anchor Amy Robach revealed her shocking diagnosis on live television in November 2013, the seasoned news reporter embarked on the most difficult and illuminating journey of her life. In this intimate memoir she retraces...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Good Son: JFK Jr. and the Mother He Loved

Christopher Andersen · Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author delivers another dramatic installment in the lives of the Kennedys - including new details about JFK Jr., his relationship with his mother, his many girlfriends, and the night of his tragic death.Critically acclaimed author Christopher Andersen is a master...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cyberspies: The Secret History of Surveillance, Hacking, and Digital Espionage

Gordon Corera · Pegasus Books
Pages: 431
Format: Print book

The previously untold -- and previously highly classified -- story of the conflux of espionage and technology, with a compelling narrative rich with astonishing revelations taking readers from World War II to the internet age. As the digital era become increasingly pervasive, the intertwining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Die Young with Me: A Memoir

Rob Rufus · Touchstone Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

In the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes the incredibly moving true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer and how music was the one thing that helped him get through his darkest days.Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Roosevelts: An Intimate History

Ken Burns · Knopf; MTI edition
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller A vivid and personal portrait of Americas greatest political family and its enormous impact on our nation, which expands on the hugely acclaimed seven-part PBS documentary series, bringing readers even deeper into these extraordinary leaders lives   With 796 photographs,...
Read More check catalog