Back Biographies & Memoirs | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford
Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford

Clint Hill · Gallery Books
Pages: 451
Format: Print book

A rare and fascinating portrait of the American presidency from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November.Secret Service agent Clint Hill brings history intimately and vividly to life as he reflects on his seventeen years protecting the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
83 Minutes: The Doctor, the Damage, and the Shocking Death of Michael Jackson
83 Minutes: The Doctor, the Damage, and the Shocking Death of Michael Jackson

Matt Richards · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

A definitive look at Michael Jackson's final minutes, revealing for the first time the shocking details behind the tragic death of one of the world's biggest pop stars.On June 25th, 2009, the world was rocked by the tragic news that Michael Jackson -- the biggest and most influential music...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlotte Brontë: A Fiery Heart
Charlotte Brontë: A Fiery Heart

Claire Harman · Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. ©2015
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

On the two hundredth anniversary of her birth, a landmark biography transforms Charlotte Bronte from a tragic figure into a modern heroine. Charlotte Bronte famously lived her entire life in an isolated parsonage on a remote English moor with a demanding father and siblings whose astonishing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Head Case: My Brain and Other Wonders
Head Case: My Brain and Other Wonders

Cole Cohen · Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover

"A spirited, wry, and utterly original memoir about one woman's struggle to make her way and set up a life after doctors discover a hole the size of a plum in her brain. The summer before she was set to head out-of-state to pursue her MFA, twenty-seven-year-old Cole Cohen submitted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Face the Music: A Life Exposed
Face the Music: A Life Exposed

Paul Stanley · Harpercollins
Format: Paperback

In Face the Music, Paul Stanley—the co-founder and famous “Starchild” frontman of KISS—reveals for the first time the incredible highs and equally incredible lows in his life both inside and outside the band. Face the Music is the shocking, funny, smart, inspirational...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Picnic in Provence: A Memoir with Recipes
Picnic in Provence: A Memoir with Recipes

Elizabeth Bard · Little, Brown and Company; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Lunch in Paris takes us on another delicious journey, this time to the heart of Provence. Ten years ago, New Yorker Elizabeth Bard followed a handsome Frenchman up a spiral staircase to a love nest in the heart of Paris. Now, with a baby on the way and the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln's Gamble: The Tumultuous Six Months that Gave America the Emancipation Proclamation and Changed the Course of the Civil War
Lincoln's Gamble: The Tumultuous Six Months that Gave America the Emancipation Proclamation and Changed the Course of the Civil War

Todd Brewster · Scribner
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant, authoritative, and riveting account of the most critical six months in Abraham Lincolns presidency, when he penned the Emancipation Proclamation and changed the course of the Civil War. On July 12, 1862, Abraham Lincoln spoke for the first time of his intention to free the slaves....
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Suck at Relationships So You Don't Have To: 10 Rules for Not Screwing Up Your Happily Ever After
I Suck at Relationships So You Don't Have To: 10 Rules for Not Screwing Up Your Happily Ever After

Bethenny Frankel · Touchstone
Format: Hardcover

Bethenny Frankel, four-time New York Times bestselling author, self-made businesswoman, and media maven, offers her hard-won guidance on dating and relationships in the tradition of her breakout book, A Place of Yes.Bethenny is good at many things - being an entrepreneur, mom, and TV star...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Grief: Life in a Tiny Vermont Village
Good Grief: Life in a Tiny Vermont Village

Ellen Stimson · Countryman Press; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

An Endless Vacation Becomes a Way of Life! One vacation changed everything. Ellen Stimson and her husband had such a wonderful time in Vermont that they wondered what living there would really be like. “What if we stayed here . . . forever?” So began the series of adventures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On My Own
On My Own

Diane Rehm · Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio host speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson's) of her husband of fifty-four years, and of her struggle to reconstruct her life without him. With John gone, Diane was indeed "on her own," coping with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Neil Gaiman
The Art of Neil Gaiman

Hayley Campbell · Harper Design
Format: Hardcover

With unprecedented access to Neil Gaiman's personal archives, author Hayley Campbell gives an insider's glimpse into the artistic inspirations and musings of one of the world's most visionary writers.Over the last twenty-five years, Neil Gaiman has mapped out a territory in the popular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Year of yes
Year of yes

Shonda Rhimes · Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Pages: 311
Format: Print book

The instant New York Times bestseller from the creator of Grey's Anatomy and Scandal and executive producer of How to Get Away With Murder shares how saying YES changed her life. "As fun to read as Rhimes's TV series are to watch" (Los Angeles Times) .She's the creator and producer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Old Age: A Beginner's Guide
Old Age: A Beginner's Guide

Michael E Kinsley · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

Vanity Fair columnist Michael Kinsley escorts his fellow Boomers through the door marked "Exit."The notorious baby boomers - the largest age cohort in history - are approaching the end and starting to plan their final moves in the game of life. Now they are asking: What was that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Die Young with Me: A Memoir
Die Young with Me: A Memoir

Rob Rufus · Touchstone Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

In the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes the incredibly moving true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer and how music was the one thing that helped him get through his darkest days.Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact,...
Read More check catalog