Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
American Heiress: The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes and Trial of Patty Hearst

Jeffrey Toobin · Doubleday
Pages: 371
Format: Print book

From New Yorker staff writer and bestselling author of The Nine and The Run of His Life: The People v. O. J. Simpson, the definitive account of the kidnapping and trial that defined an insane era in American history On February 4, 1974, Patty Hearst, a sophomore in college and heiress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Spider Network: The Wild Story of a Math Genius, a Gang of Backstabbing Bankers, and One of the Greatest Scams in Financial History

David Enrich · Custom House
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

The Wall Street Journal's award-winning business reporter unveils the bizarre and sinister story of how a math genius named Tom Hayes, a handful of outrageous confederates, and a deeply corrupt banking system ignited one of the greatest financial scandals in history.In 2006, an oddball...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love Is Not Enough: A Mother's Memoir of Autism, Madness, and Hope

Jenny Lexhed · Arcade Publishing; Tra edition
Format: Hardcover

When Jenny Lexhed and her husband have their first child, Lucas, they are living the dream. They're happily married, they've just bought a house, the company they built together from the ground up is starting to blossom. But with the arrival of their son, a feeling of anxiety slips...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Adnan's Story: Murder, Justice, and the Case that Captivated a Nation

Rabia Chaudry · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 410
Format: Print book

*Now a New York Times bestseller*Serial told Only Part of the Story ... In early 2000, Adnan Syed was convicted and sentenced to life plus thirty years for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Hae Min Lee, a high school senior in Baltimore, Maryland. Syed has maintained his innocence, and Rabia...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the Gray Zone: A Neuroscientist Explores the Border Between Life and Death

ADRIAN OWEN · Scribner
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In this startling and thought-provoking book, which will remind readers of works by Oliver Sacks and Atul Gawande, a world-renowned neuroscientist reveals his controversial, groundbreaking work with patients whose brains were previously thought vegetative or non-responsive but turn out - in up to 20 percent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not Forgotten: The True Story of My Imprisonment in North Korea

Kenneth Bae · Thomas Nelson
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

For the first time, Kenneth Bae tells the full story surrounding his arrest and imprisonment in North Korea. Not Forgotten is a modern story of intrigue, suspense, and heart. Driven by his passion to help the people of North Korea, Bae moves to neighboring China to lead guided tours into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beat of My Own Drum: A Memoir

Sheila E. · Pocket Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the Grammy-nominated singer, drummer, and percussionist who is world renowned for her contributions throughout the music industry, a moving memoir about the healing power of music and spiritual growth inspired by five decades of life and love on the stage.She was born Sheila Escovedo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Die Young with Me: A Memoir

Rob Rufus · Touchstone Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

In the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes the incredibly moving true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer and how music was the one thing that helped him get through his darkest days.Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the magic shop : a neurosurgeon's quest to discover the mysteries of the brain and the secrets of the heart

James R Doty · Avery
Pages: 276
Format: Print book

The author relates how a chance encounter in a magic shop with a woman who taught him exercises to ease his sufferings and manifest his greatest desires gave him a glimpse of the relationship between the brain and the heart, and drove him to explore the neuroscience of compassion and altruism.
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can Run, But You Can't Hide

Duane Dog Chapman · Hyperion; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

"Freeze!"Duane "Dog" Chapman entertains and inspires millions on Dog the Bounty Hunter, his #1-rated show on A&E -- but there is more to his story. From troubled beginnings and tragedy to triumph and transformation, he reveals all for the first time in this no-holds-barred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Long Haul: A Trucker's Tales of Life on the Road

Finn Murphy · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A long-haul mover's rollicking account of life out on the Big Slab.More than thirty years ago, Finn Murphy dropped out of college to become a long-haul trucker. Since then he's covered more than a million miles packing, loading, and hauling people's belongings all over America. Known by his trucker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir

Sherman Alexie · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--Entertainment Weekly and Bustle A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, and loss from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award winner.When his mother passed away at the age of 78, Sherman Alexie responded the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

Frances Stroh · Harpercollins
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great...
Read More check catalog