Back Graphic Novels | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Graphic Novels  
The dreadful fate of Jonathan York : a yarn for the strange at heart

Kory Merritt · Andrews McMeel Publishing
Pages: 124
Format: Print book

Discover the horrible fate of Jonathan York as he sets out on his journey through a spooky forest with an alarming party of travelmates! " ... [a] hair-raising tribute to the life-changing power of stories . . . Merritt shows both a knack for evocative phrasing ... and a deft hand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Naruto, Vol. 53: The Birth of Naruto

Kishimoto Masashi · VIZ Media LLC
Format: Paperback

A hilarious, touching, action-packed tale of a ninja in training! Reads R to L Japanese Style for audiences T.  Naruto is a young shinobi with an incorrigible knack for mischief. Hes got a wild sense of humor, but Naruto is completely serious about his mission to be the worlds greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Intelligent Sentient?

Luke Ramsey · Drawn and Quarterly
Format: Hardcover

Delicate, complex drawings tell of a science-fiction world Intelligent Sentient? feels like an artifact from another time--a lost feature in OMNI magazine or the album booklet for a late-1970s Hawkwind record or perhaps a print version of Koyaanisqatsi. Beautiful, detailed filigreed drawings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodnight Darth Vader

Jeffrey Brown · Chronicle Books
Format: Hardcover

It's bedtime in the Star Wars galaxy, and Darth Vader's parenting skills are tested anew in this delightful follow-up to the breakout New York Times bestsellers Darth Vaderâ„¢ and Son and Vader'sâ„¢ Little Princess. In this Episode, the Sith Lord must soothe his rambunctious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin

Geoff Johns · DC Comics
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAs a part of the monumental DC Comics - The New 52 event, comics superstars Geoff Johns and Jim Lee bring you an all-new origin story for the Justice League!In a world where inexperienced superheroes operate under a cloud of suspicion from the public, loner vigilante...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Attack of the 50 Foot Girl!

Jeff Parker · Marvel Age Graphic Novels
Pages: 24
Format: Book

Giant-Girl seems to switch sides when the Avengers battle a subterranean race called the Insectoid people.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection

Kate Beaton · Drawn & Quarterly, 2015. ©2015
Pages: 166
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestseller, featured on the Washington Post best of 2015 list!"Somewhere in my heart is a folder titled Things I Did Not Know I Wanted and it is full of Kate Beaton comics ... Sharp, charming, and weird, Step Aside, Pops is a fine sampling of Beaton's work,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Got a Rock, Charlie Brown!

Maggie Testa · Simon Spotlight, 2015. ©2015
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Join Charlie Brown, Snoopy, Lucy, and the rest of the Peanuts gang as they go trick-or-treating in this Level 2 Ready-to-Read!It's Halloween and that means one thing ... it's time for Charlie Brown and his friends to go trick-or-treating! Pigpen gets a chocolate bar. Schroeder gets a quarter....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Squish #2: Brave New Pond

Jennifer L. Holm · Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Introducing Squish—a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Psychology: The Comic Book Introduction

DANNY OPPENHEIMER · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

An award-winning cartoonist teams up with an award-winning psychologist to introduce readers to the complex -- and often comedic -- world of psychology. Psychology is the study of human behavior. It is a serious and worthy endeavor that has given us scientific knowledge of the ways our minds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Nate: What Could Possibly Go Wrong?

Lincoln Peirce · Harper
Pages: 214
Format: Paperback

Did you know that Big Nate, the star of the New York Times bestselling book series, is also the star of his own comic strip? This comic collection includes over 300 black-and-white Big Nate comic strips, and bonus Big Nate activities in the back!Will Nate get away with his master plan?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Manga Now!: How to Draw Action Figures

Keith Sparrow · Search Press
Format: Book

Written and illustrated by manga artist Keith Sparrow, this comprehensive and inspiring guide starts with an introduction to manga basics, showing you how to create the ideal workspace, how to overcome fear of a blank page, and how to draw all the elements you'll need, from hands and eyes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Walking Dead Book 5

Robert Kirkman · Image Comics
Format: Comics

- This hardcover features another 12 issues of the hit series along with the covers for the issues all in one oversized hardcover volume. Perfect for long time fans, new readers, and anyone interested in reading a zombie movie on paper that never ends. - Collects The Walking Dead 49-60.,
Read More check catalog
 
 
Big Nate Makes the Grade

Lincoln Peirce · Andrews McMeel Publishing; Pap/Pstr edition
Format: Paperback

Self-described comic genius Big Nate keeps parents and teaching on their toes in this hilarious, New York Times best-selling series that has sold more than 4.5 million copies.Nate Wright is known to his pals and teachers for many things, his penchant for mischief and his school record for detentions...
Read More check catalog