Back Ages 9-12 | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Captain Underpants and the Invasion of the Incredibly Naughty Cafeteria Ladies from Outer Space (and the Subsequent Assault of the Equally Evil Lunchroom Zombie Nerds)

Dav Pilkey
Format: Book

The third book in Dav Pilkey's mega-bestselling Captain Underpants series. Now with super-cool foil covers! Shiny! Fun!25 ½ CHAPTERS...100% More Wedgie Power! He defeated the diabolical Dr. Diaper....He terminated the terrible talking toilets....Now he's in for the fight of his life....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Circles

David A Adler · Holiday House
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Wheels, clocks and coins. Balls and buttons. Circles are everywhere, and one of the basic geometric shapes. In a book bursting with color and cheer, students can learn the fundamental properties of circles. Terms such as sector, chord and arc are clearly defined. Hands-on activities demonstrate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vast Wonder of the World: Biologist Ernest Everett Just

Me?lina Mangal · Millbrook Pr
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Ernest Everett Just was not like other scientists of his time. He saw the whole, where others saw only parts. He noticed details others failed to see. He persisted in his research despite the discrimination and limitations imposed on him as an African American. His keen observations of sea creatures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stanley Will Probably Be Fine

SALLY J PLA · HarperCollins
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This funny and moving second novel from the author of The Someday Birds features comic trivia, a safety superhero, and a super-cool scavenger hunt all over downtown San Diego, as our young hero Stanley Fortinbras grapples with his anxiety - and learns what, exactly, it means to be brave.Nobody...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Darkling Wood

Emma Carroll · Delacorte Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

For fans of The Secret Garden, The Indian in the Cupboard, Tuck Everlasting, and The Giving Tree. In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic. When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alistair Grim's Odditorium

Gregory Funaro · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 412
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Best Seller "Verne-ian fantasy and reversal of fortune la Dickens willlure readers into this good-vs.-evil series debut."-Kirkus Reviews "Ideal for kids who loved Percy Jackson and Harry Potter." -BOOKLIST "With a dash of Dickens and more than a bit of Rowling,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The White House Is Burning: August 24, 1814

Jane Sutcliffe · Charlesbridge
Format: Hardcover

Traces the story of the burning of the White House by the British during the War of 1812 from the perspectives of its witnesses, including First Lady Dolley Madison, a British officer and a 9-year-old slave.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Castle Behind Thorns

Merrie Haskell · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 327
Format: Hardcover

Amazon Editors recommend this book for readers who want books with more complexity and length (with content suitable for a pre-teen audience) .This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Many Guinea Pigs Can Fit on a Plane?: Answers to Your Most Clever Math Questions

Laura Overdeck · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

How many bees does it take to make one jar of honey? How many soccer balls would fit inside a hollow Earth? How many pieces of gum would it take to stick you to a wall -- and keep you there?Believe it or not, you can find out the answers to these questions yourself -- using math! Combining...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mystery of the Desert Giant

Franklin W Dixon · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 182
Format: Hardcover

In a search for the missing Willard Grafton, Frank Hardy and younger brother Joe, encounter a gang of criminals intent on defrauding the US government, and are lead across California and even into Mexico.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus

Tom Angleberger · Amulet Books
Pages: 205
Format: Print book

The final Origami Yoda case file from the kids at McQuarrie Middle School! After successfully fighting to save their field trip in Princess Labelmaker to the Rescue!, Tommy and the gang prepare for a well-earned day of fun and adventure in Washington, DC . . . but of course it won't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aphrodite the Fair

Joan Holub · Aladdin
Format: Hardcover

Aphrodite has her hands full with Eris, who loves to stir up mischief, in this Goddess Girls adventure.Eris is a goddess girl who has a penchant for causing trouble. So when her brother, Ares, is celebrating his thirteenth birthday, she can't let the occasion go by without a little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wings of Fire Book Four: The Dark Secret

Tui Sutherland · Scholastic, Incorporated
Pages: 295
Format: Print book

The WINGS OF FIRE saga continues with a visit to the mysterious land of the NightWings, where Starflight must face a terrible choice---his home, or his friends?Like all the dragonets of destiny, Starflight has always wanted to see his home -- but he's also been afraid of his fellow...
Read More check catalog