Back Ages 9-12 | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Who Was Frederick Douglass?

April Jones Prince · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Born into slavery in Maryland in 1818, Frederick Douglass was determined to gain freedom--and once he realized that knowledge was power, he secretly learned to read and write to give himself an advantage. After escaping to the North in 1838, as a free man he gave powerful speeches about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair

Amy Makechnie · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to a places and people she never expected - and maybe even one she's been running away from - in this gorgeous debut novel that's perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.Guinevere St. Clair is going...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fourteenth Goldfish

Jennifer L. Holm · Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" novel from New York Times bestseller, three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far? Eleven-year-old Ellie has never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zoo Workers

Richard Alexander · PowerKids Press
Pages: 24
Format: Print book

Working at a zoo is a great career path for someone who loves animals and isnt afraid of hands-on work. Through engaging text and fun fact boxes, readers discover what zoo workers do and how a person can prepare for a career in this field. Additional information is provided in a clear graphic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Pretend We Never Met

MELISSA WALKER · HarperCollins
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The Thing About Jellyfish meets The Kind of Friends We Used to Be in this sweet, honest middle grade debut.If it were up to Mattie Markham, there would be a law that said your family wasn't allowed to move in the middle of the school year. After all, sixth grade is hard enough without wondering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Princess Juniper of Torr

Ammi-Joan Paquette · Philomel Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Adventure abounds in this finale featuring Princess Juniper, who - with the help of friends, secret spy cats, and even a dragon - is the only one who just might be able to save her father, the palace, and their whole country!Princess Juniper might have conquered her challenges up in the Hourglass...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mississippi: The Magnolia State

Kerry Jones Waring · Cavendish Square Publishing
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

The third edition of this popular series is updated with a variety of features that will help students learn about the state of Mississippi. This comprehensive book outlines the geography, history, people, government, and economy of the state. Lists of key people, events, cities, plants...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Boy Called Christmas

Matt Haig · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Before there was Santa Claus, there was a young boy who believed in the impossible. . . . Lemony Snicket meets Elf in this warmhearted Christmas caper. Eleven-year-old Nikolas - nicknamed "Christmas" - has received only one toy in his life: a doll carved out of a turnip. But he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Zootopia Junior Novelization

RH Disney · Disney Books For Young Re
Format:  Print book : English

Zootopia: The Junior Novelization is a complete paperback retelling of the movie!The modern mammal metropolis of Zootopia is a city like no other. Comprised of habitat neighborhoods like ritzy Sahara Square and frigid Tundratown, it's a melting pot where no matter what you are, from the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dog Days of Charlotte Hayes

Marlane Kennedy · Greenwillow Books
Format: Book

It's not that Charlotte hates dogs. Or that she wants all of them to disappear off the face of the planet. It's just that she doesn't see why everyone loves them so much. So how did she get stuck taking care of a big, drooling Saint Bernard puppy? Rain or shine, hot or cold,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Is the Statue of Liberty?

Joan Holub · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

In 1876, France decided to give the United States a very big and very special present--the Statue of Liberty. The gift was to commemorate the 100th birthday of the United States, and just packing it was no small feat--350 pieces in 214 crates shipped across the ocean. The story of how the 111-foot-tall...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Turkey Hunting

Sara Green · Bellwether Media
Format:  Book : Primary school : EnglishView all editions and formats

"Engaging images accompany information about turkey hunting. The combination of high-interest subject matter and narrative text is intended for students in grades 3 through 7"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paul Gauguin

Mike Venezia · Children's Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Clever illustrations and story lines, together with full-color reproductions of Paul Gauguin's actual works, give children a light yet realistic overview of this artist's life and style.
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Youtuber

JANET TASHJIAN · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Book 7 of the much-loved My Life series that has the irrepressible Derek Fallon starting his own Youtube web series!Derek Fallon finally found something to get excited about at school -- an extracurricular class on making videos! Together with his friends Carly, Matt, and Umberto, Derek...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Survived the American Revolution, 1776

LAUREN TARSHIS · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

The battlefield was soaked in blood. Screams of injured soldiers rang through the air. Eleven-year-old Nathaniel Knox knelt behind a rock, his gun clutched in his shaking hands. Nate had been heading to New York City to find his father. But now he was trapped in a terrible gunfight between...
Read More check catalog