Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Wrong Carlos: Anatomy of a Wrongful Execution

James S. Liebman · Columbia University Press
Format: Kindle Edition

In 1989, Texas executed Carlos DeLuna, a poor Hispanic man with childlike intelligence, for the murder of Wanda Lopez, a convenience store clerk. His execution passed unnoticed for years until a team of Columbia Law School faculty and students almost accidentally chose to investigate his case...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Landwhale: On Turning Insults Into Nicknames, Why Body Image Is Hard, and How Diets Can Kiss My Ass

Jes Baker · Seal Press
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

By the author of Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls and a heroine of the body image movement, an intimate, gutsy memoir about being a fat womanJes Baker burst onto the body positivity scene when she created her own ads mocking Abercrombie & Fitch for discriminating against all body types--a...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jew Who Defeated Hitler: Henry Morgenthau Jr., FDR, and How We Won the War

Peter Moreira · Prometheus Books
Format: Hardcover

President Franklin D. Roosevelt coined the slogan “The Arsenal of Democracy” to describe American might during the grim years of World War II.  The man who financed that arsenal was his Secretary of the Treasury, Henry Morgenthau Jr. This is the first book to focus on the wartime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hope: A Memoir of Survival in Cleveland

Amanda Berry · Viking
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

The #1 New York Times BestsellerA bestselling book that is inspiring the nation: "We have written here about terrible things that we never wanted to think about again . . . Now we want the world to know: we survived, we are free, we love life."Two women kidnapped by infamous Cleveland...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Map Thief: The Gripping Story of an Esteemed Rare-Map Dealer Who Made Millions Stealing Priceless Maps

Michael Blanding · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The story of an infamous crime, a revered map dealer with an unsavory secret, and the ruthless subculture that consumed him Maps have long exerted a special fascination on viewers - both as beautiful works of art and as practical tools to navigate the world. But to those who collect them,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
KooKooLand

Gloria Norris · Regan Arts, 2015.
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl's gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father's reign - an unforgettable story of violence, love, and, ultimately, triumph.It's the 1960s in Manchester,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wild Truth

Carine McCandless · HarperOne
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller"The Wild Truth is an important book on two fronts: It sets the record straight about a story that has touched thousands of readers, and it opens up a conversation about hideous domestic violence hidden behind a mask of prosperity and propriety."-NPR.orgThe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lovers: Afghanistan's Romeo and Juliet, the True Story of How They Defied Their Families and Escaped an Honor Killing

Rod Nordland · Ecco
Pages: 362
Format: Print book

A riveting, real-life equivalent of The Kite Runner - an astonishingly powerful and profoundly moving story of a young couple willing to risk everything for love that puts a human face on the ongoing debate about women's rights in the Muslim world.Zakia and Ali were from different tribes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is Not My Beautiful Life: A Memoir

Victoria Fedden · Picador
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

This Is Not My Beautiful Life is the story of how Victoria lost her parents to prison and nearly lost her mind. No one ever said motherhood would be easy, but as she struggles to change diapers, install car seats, and find the right drop-off line at pre-school--no easy task--when each one is named...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Very Expensive Poison: The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West

Luke Harding · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

A real-life political assassination story--complete with KGB, CIA, MI5, and Russian mobsters--that reverberates from the streets of London to the deadly halls of today's Kremlin. A Vintage Original. On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman

Lindy West · Hachette Books
Pages: 260
Format: Print book

Hailed by Lena Dunham as an "essential (and hilarious) voice for women," Lindy West is ferociously witty and outspoken, tackling topics as varied as pop culture, social justice and body image. Her empowering work has garnered a coast-to-coast audience that eagerly awaits SHRILL,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We're Going to Need More Wine: Stories That are Funny, Complicated, and True

GABRIELLE UNION · Dey Street Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever produced." - Lena Dunham, Lenny LetterIn the spirit of Amy Poehler's Yes Please, Lena Dunham's Not That Kind of Girl, and Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist, a powerful collection of essays about gender,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hitler's First Victims: The Quest for Justice

Timothy W. Ryback · Knopf; 1st Ed. edition
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable story of Josef Hartinger, the German prosecutor who risked everything to bring to justice the first killers of the Holocaust and whose efforts would play a key role in the Nuremberg tribunal. Before Germany was engulfed by Nazi dictatorship, it was a constitutional republic....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Is That All There Is?: The Strange Life of Peggy Lee

James Gavin · Atria Books
Pages: 601
Format: Book

From the author of the "definitive" (Vanity Fair) biography of Lena Horne, Stormy Weather, comes a brilliantly written portrait of recording artist and musical legend Peggy Lee."She made you think that she knew who you were, that she was singing only to you..." Miss...
Read More check catalog