Back Audiobooks | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Audiobooks  
Wild, Beautiful, and Free: A Novel

Sophfronia Scott - Brilliance Audio
Format: Audiobook

From award-winning author Sophfronia Scott comes the story of one young woman's bold journey to reclaim her birthright and carve out her own place in a world that tells her she doesn't belong.Born the daughter of an enslaved woman and a Louisiana plantation owner, Jeannette Bébinn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goddess of Anarchy: The Life and Times of Lucy Parsons, American Radical

Jacqueline Jones - Basic Books
Format: Hardcover

From a prize-winning historian, a new portrait of an extraordinary activist and the turbulent age in which she lived. Goddess of Anarchy recounts the formidable life of the militant writer, orator, and agitator Lucy Parsons. Born to an enslaved woman in Virginia in 1851 and raised in Texas-where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Catch a Queen: Library Edition

Alyssa Cole - Blackstone Pub; Unabridged edition
Format: Audiobook

An arranged marriage leads to unexpected desire, in the first book of Alyssa ColesRunaway Royals seriesWhen Shanti Mohapi weds the king of Njaza, her dream of becoming a queen finally comes true. But its nothing like she imagined. Shanti and her husband may share an immediate and powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Button War: A Tale of the Great War

Avi - Candlewick on Brilliance Audio
Format: Audiobook

Renowned, award-winning author Avi pens a stark, unflinching tale of ordinary boys living in wartime as tensions - and desperations - mount among them.Twelve-year-old Patryk knows little of the world beyond his tiny Polish village; the Russians have occupied the land for as long as anyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Stories: My Life in Special Operations

William H. McRaven - Twelve
Format: Audiobook

In this instant New York Times bestseller, the celebrated author of Make Your Bed shares amazing adventure stories from his career as a Navy SEAL and commander of America's Special Operations Forces.Admiral William H. McRaven is a part of American military history, having...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reader, Come Home: The Reading Brain in a Digital World; Library Edition

Maryanne Wolf - Blackstone Pub
Format: Audiobook

From the author of Proust and the Squid, a lively, ambitious, and deeply informative epistolary book considers the future of the reading brain and our capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection as we become increasingly dependent on digital technologiesA decade ago, Maryanne...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Think and Grow Rich: For the Modern Reader: An Official Publication of the Napoleon Hill Foundation

Napoleon Hill - Sound Wisdom
Format: Audiobook

This audiobook provides a synopsis of the original 1937 text of Hill's masterpiece, Think and Grow Rich. It extracts the key principles, instructions, and examples so that the modern professional, regardless of how busy he or she is, can benefit from the timeless wisdom found in Hill's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Week at the Shore: A Novel

Barbara Delinsky - Macmillan Audio
Format: Audiobook

In A Week at the Shore, New York Times bestselling author Barbara Delinsky explores how lives and relationships are forever changed when three sisters reunite at their family Rhode Island beach house.One phone call is all it takes to lure real estate photographer Mallory Aldiss back to her family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roll with It

Jamie Sumner - Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback

"A big-hearted story that's as sweet as it is awesome." - R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder "An honest, emotionally rich take on disability, family, and growing up." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kremlin Strike CD: A Novel

Dale Brown - HarperAudio
Format: Audiobook

In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown's New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.The previous administration's...
Read More check catalog