Back Parenting & Families | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Parenting & Families  
How Not to Hate Your Husband After Kids

Jancee Dunn · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 269
Format: Hardcover

A hilariously candid account of one woman's quest to bring her post-baby marriage back from the brink, with life-changing, real-world advice. How Not To Hate Your Husband After Kids tackles the last taboo subject of parenthood: the startling, white-hot fury that new (and not-so-new) mothers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Sickness and in Health: Love, Disability, and a Quest to Understand the Perils and Pleasures of Inter-abled Romance

BEN MATTLIN · Beacon Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In this chronicle of will and hope, Ben Mattlin demystifies the inter-abled relationship, showing that it should be a matter neither of wonder nor of pity. This is an urgent, deeply felt, and sometimes hilarious account of marriages that feel as obvious to those within them as they do bewildering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ask: Building Consent Culture

KITTY STRYKER · Thorntree Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Have you ever heard the phrase "It's easier to ask forgiveness than permission?" Violating consent isn't limited to sexual relationships, and our discussions around consent shouldn't be, either. To resist rape culture, we need a consent culture - and one that is more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Newborn 101: Secrets from Expert Nurses on Preparing and Caring for Your Baby at Home

Carole Kramer Arsenault · The Experiment
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

National Parenting Publications Gold Award WinnerEver wish you could have a baby nurse at home to answer your most urgent questions around the clock? Now you can!Carole Kramer Arsenault has spent the last two decades helping parents through pregnancy, labor, and all of their new responsibilities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dad Jokes: The Punniest Joke Book Ever

Editors of Portable Press · Portable Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Put an end to courtesy laughs and awkward silences with the jokes in this book! From the people who brought you Uncle John's Bathroom Reader, this is an eclectic collection of the punniest, funniest, most outrageous knee-slappers that have ever been told! At work, at home, at the game...
Read More check catalog
 
 
toughLove: Eighteen Top Experts Share Proven Strategies for Raising Confident, Kind, Resilient Kids

Lisa Stiepock · Simon & Schuster
Format: Kindle Edition

From toughLOVE, a unique online community: balanced, practical advice for parents of school-age children from child psychology experts on how to handle everything from picky eating to media consumption to the homework wars.The challenges of parenting evolve as the world becomes more complex....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Wait Up: Confessions of a Stay-at-Work Mom

Liz Astrof · Gallery Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Let's Pretend This Never Happened and I Heart My Little A-Holes comes a candid and hilarious collection of essays on motherhood from the award-winning television comedy writer and producer of 2 Broke Girls and The King of Queens, who swears she loves her kids - when she's not hiding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Book of Dyslexia Activities for Kids and Teens: 100 Creative, Fun, Multi-sensory and Inclusive Ideas for Successful Learning

Gavin Reid · Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Packed with fun, creative and multi-sensory activities, this resource will help children and teenagers with dyslexia become successful learners across the curriculum.The authors provide over one hundred tried-and-tested fun and imaginative activities and ideas to unlock the learning of children...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Happiest Kids in the World: A Stress-Free Approach to Parenting-the Dutch Way

RINA MAE ACOSTA · EXPERIMENT LLC
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

The secret to raising the happiest kids in the world? Whatever it is, it's somewhere in the Netherlands . . . Would parents rather their children be successful or happy? Kids in the US face lots of pressure to excel - often at the expense of happiness. But does it have to be this way? Not in the Netherlands!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Believe I Dated Him: The Art of Knowing When to Break Up, When to Stay Single and When You've Met the One

Jackie Viramontez · Morgan James Publishing
Pages: 200
Format: Hardcover

I Can't Believe I Dated Him includes the practical insights of Brene Browne's The Gifts of Imperfection, the heart-centered tools of Melody Beattie's Codependent No More, and the scientifically backed modalities of Nick Ortner's Tapping Solution. No matter how much we learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enough As She Is: How to Help Girls Move Beyond Impossible Standards of Success to Live Healthy, Happy, and Fulfilling Lives

Rachel Simmons · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Is it wrong that I wanted to underline every single word in this book? Simmons brilliantly crystallizes contemporary girls' dilemma: the way old expectations and new imperatives collide; how a narrow, virtually unattainable vision of 'success' comes at the expense of self-worth and well-being....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Regretting Motherhood: A Study

Orna Donath · North Atlantic Books
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Women who opt not to be mothers are frequently warned that they will regret their decision later in life, yet we rarely talk about the possibility that the opposite might also be true - that women who have children might regret it. Drawing on years of research interviewing women from a variety...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Mom: A Celebration of Motherhood in Pop Culture

Meredith Hale · Sterling
Pages: 164
Format: Hardcover

A celebration of motherhood from the nineteenth century through the present day, as seen through American pop culture. There is nothing more American than Mom and apple pie. But how exactly have Americans viewed motherhood over the years? Take a stunning visual journey through American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Don't You Want My Stuff?

Josh Levine · BookBaby
Pages: 132
Format: Paperback

Why Don't You Want My Stuff?A Boomer's guide to downsizing, their Millennial kid's psyche and just things that are so ... An easy to understand (maybe even fun) guide through the secondary market of online retailing, auctions and estate sales. Gather consignment insight, trend forecasting...
Read More check catalog